My Experience Attending the First Steem Business Alliance Meeting!

in #steemba5 years ago

Steem Business Alliance
Logo is property of Steem Business Alliance


I recently joined the Steem Business Alliance as an individual contributor, mainly because I want to offer my support to the organization behind it. In the future I'm likely going to apply for membership status, after I've received the go-ahead from the company I'm working for.

So, when @starkerz announced the first Discord meeting of the Steem Business Alliance, I immediately locked the date/time in my schedule. This first Asian Time Zone meeting took place today at 8:30 AM UTC and quite a lot of subjects were covered. It really gave me an excellent overview of what the Steem Business Alliance is all about and what steps have already been taken to ensure proper government of the SBA project.


What We Talked About

This meeting was hosted by both @starkerz (Oracle-D co-founder) & @frederikaa (Steempress Founder), they've been working hard behind the scenes to set up a detailed framework for the Steem Business Alliance. The majority of talking points were dedicated to explaining what the goals of the SBA are and under what sort of governance structure it operates.

It immediately struck me that there was already a clear and concise roadmap in place, with several milestones having been reached already. The amount of work that had been done up until now is pretty staggering, which was made clear when we went over the internal documents together. Honestly, without going into much detail, it looked like weeks of work went into fine-tuning the organizational structure & allocating different tasks to different members.

Mind you, everything was written in such a way that it was incredibly detailed, while still remaining relatively easy to understand. During the meeting, everyone seemed to be on the same page, which allowed @Starkerz & @frekerikaa to stay on point. They also took any remarks from other SBA members and contributors into account as well.

My View on the SBA Before and After the Meeting

Before attending this meeting, I had read the introduction post published by the @steemba account. In my opinion, that introduction post did a great job explaining what sort of benefits the Steem Business Alliance could offer to businesses that were looking to operate on the Steem blockchain (also existing Steem-businesses). Though we've seen many other initiatives promise the world, only to not deliver in the end. Would this also be the case for SBA, I wondered?

Well, I can say I'm glad that I took some time out of my busy schedule to attend this first meeting. Once I had seen how structured their organization is and how they're consistently meeting their proposed (internal) targets, I was getting more and more convinced that the SBA is taking matters very seriously. A quick glance at their internal contribution spreadsheet revealed that multiple prominent members of the Steem community were already hard at work, reaching multiple hard-to-overcome milestones.

It seems like the SBA could become the driving force behind many future successful businesses on the Steem blockchain, which will in turn benefit all Steem users. While SBA is still in an early phase of being developed, they do already have some prominent projects as members. More about that in a future post though...

Join the SBA & Attend the Next Meetings!

If you are looking to start your own business on the Steem blockchain or are already running you business on Steem, do consider applying for SBA membership through the SBA website. Likewise, if you are looking to become a contributor for the Steem Business Alliance, like myself.

Asian Time Zone meetings are held on even numbered weeks at 8:30 AM UTC

US Time Zone meetings are held on odd numbered weeks at 7:30 PM UTC


steembameeting.png

Image courtesy of @Steemba


Meetings are currently only accessible to SBA members and individual contributors on the SBA Discord.


Visit The Steem Business Alliance Website

Read The Steem Business Alliance Introduction Post

Sort:  

What does it mean to be a contributor? I think I remember seeing the introduction post, but I am not sure if I read it. Too much stuff going on I guess. This was a great overview and I am happy to hear you are potentially getting involved with this project.

A great write up of the meeting and the initiative thanks for sharing with us

Looks like a decent initiative! Just having a site to help Steemians find businesses supporting Steem could go a ways towards helping onboard businesses.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @daan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.386 which ranks you at #2242 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 26 places in the last three days (old rank 2268).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 279 contributions, your post is ranked at #28.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Looks great. The meeting must have been worth attending

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 21 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 180 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I was also present at the meeting and applied as an individual contributor, only that I stayed in the Text Chat room since I do not understand English very well yet, but through this update I can keep myself informed. Thank you

@daan Seems like they have a good eye on the future my friend. Good to know that you are also in there!
My apologies for the late reply as have been a bit unwell!

I heard about this a couple of months ago, but I got super-busy. I'm going to have to check it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86