FU*K YOU Newbies, Your VOTE is Now Worth SH*T

in #steembasicincome6 years ago (edited)

 My Current...Voting Values  

1% $0.00  5 % $0.00  25 % $0.00  50 % $0.00  75 % $0.00  

Voting Value at 100 % = $0.00 

                                

WOW, Thanks guys for making our Red Fish votes worth NOTHING!!! This certainly is great encouragement for us to curate. 

I guess the message here now is:

F*CK THE NEWBIES?

External STEEM Price 3.01050 USD   |2.53719EUR|- 6.96%

External SBD Price 2.56087 USD   |2.15825EUR|- 5.41%

When I first became a member of Steemit, back in Dec. 2017, the price of steem was about 'half' of what it is today, and my VOTING POWER at 100% was worth $0.001, with less SP than what I've accumulated to this date.

I'm aware from various posts, that this has happened across the board to 'ALL' of us here, and most new people have become discouraged from participating as a result (can't say that I blame them) It is such a shame; especially with steemit now ROUNDING 'DOWN' the 'DUST' vote as well.

Here are two links to help help you a little fellow newbies @steembasicincome and @dustsweeper

Follow the links provided in order to research how these two projects are helping new people get better rewards for their participation, and...KEEP PARTICIPATING.

Is there ANYONE out there with decision making power on steemit who 'CARES' anymore about the 'small' guys?

I WILL DONATE 'ALL' THE PROFIT FROM THIS POST TO 'NEWBIE' VICTIMS commenting, by way of @steembasicincome shares to you...and/or AN 'ANIMAL' RESCUE GROUP and/or COMPASSIONATE (NO KILL) SHELTER.

Thanks for reading. I wish all of you well.

Regards @averageoutsider


 

Sort:  

Yes, it is discouraging. Sometimes I feel embarrassed to vote, because my vote is worthless. Your post is a first action to try to change what does not seem fair. Sure there are more options that help, the job will be to investigate what options will be useful to help change the current situation.

Thank you for your response @thaishps don't feel embarrassed to cast a vote for a post you feel deserves it. If they are like me, they will know you would have cast a vote for them even if your VP was higher...but, I 'do' understand the embarrassment side of it.

The current situation can change in a 'HEARTbeat' with the stroke of a few keys either by, or directed by the 'Top Brass' at steemit. I emphasized...'HEART'...Get it?

@thaishps It is those who make such shocking decisions that take away our empowerment to reward each-other whilst we are new whom should feel embarrassed not you.
You are merely following the correct protocol of voting on things that you believe to be worthy, you are what we need more of they and their crass decisions/updates are what we need less of.

Awesome to hear your input I wish more were here to share their thoughts on such an important high profile problem. Maybe they have gone offline to watch the Royal wedding everybody loves the elites right?

Take great care my friend :D

@thaishps Between the 2 of us we managed to create a one cent vote on your comment, I am sure there is a metaphor here about working together somewhere, but like our overlords I am damned sure I can't see it ;)

I am guessing no-one explained the difference between encouragement and discouragement before this strange decision came to pass.

For a platform that desperately needs to promote engagement, curation and find initiatives to incentivise the plankton to stick around long enough to make this community really work this aspect of the reward distribution beggars belief.

Many other platforms will soon be hot on the heels of Steemit there will never be a better time to resolve all of the micro-issues of the platform. Lets see @Ned and co get on this now and take it incredibly seriously, resolve the problems, get out of beta and rocket upwards in the way we all know we have the potential to.

I for one do not wanna just jump ship to another platform, I feel invested, no not financially, It's far more important than that I have made some good friends here, some sub-communities that I love and am a member of some Steemit Discord channels that are enhancing my learning no end.

I may join another platform alongside this one, most likely Whaleshares but I do not want to replace Steemit, I want it to evolve and improve. Most importantly, I wanna feel that we are involved in that growth not excluded from it because we are perceived as the poor cousins. The world is elitist enough already without the decentralised platforms jumpin' in on the act! We came here because we were promised that it was to be a better way, not Utopian by any means, but at the very least a level playing field. As the quote from the Kevin Costner film Field of dreams goes...

"Build it and they will come"

So they did, so we did. What now, do we have to start using the tradesmens entrance when we login so our appearance does not distress the monied?

Thankyou for giving some time to raising this issue, it is a genuinely important one that impacts everyone who comes through the Steemit front door hoping for something better.

I wanted to stopby and register my opinion on the matter. It would be nice if there were some official or even semi-official insight or response into this, sadly I do not hold my breath on this front.

Resteemed and promoted in some of my groups to encourage some further engagement on the matter.

Thanks for responding @stevenwood . Our sentiments are echoed throughout the platform, so it can be assumed those in control, having made these terrible decisions, are fully aware of the sadness they have created though their crass actions, and don't care.

To round-down 0.01 and/or 0.02 like they were discussing on github was such a sad thing for me to see. It's like slapping a 'baby' in the face and laughing about it...

As long as they can find joy somewhere in life, huh?

Maybe people will start voting with their feet although many of those who are OK and have already done their growing may not bother to speak out. In which case only the already disregarded will air their views. I can guess just how much impact that will have in light of recent decisions.

This said, I choose to choose optimism as always ;)

Muy interesante. Gracias por compartirlo.

Da Nada...Grazias

You got a 100.00% upvote from @lrd courtesy of @averageoutsider!
We are offering 100% earnings for our delegators + 15% curation rewards for the largest delegator and 5% of curation rewards are burnt.

Delegate Now

Great!!! I'll rush right on over there!!!!! :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88