Steem Basic Income Giveaway (Annoying quotes or cliches)

in #steembasicincome6 years ago (edited)

Wow, after all the response, I feel much better! Everyone has a backlog of shame! Now nine doesn't seem quite so bad....

The Background

animal-animal-portrait-animal-world-289381.jpg

Pexels

My brother has a habit of using cliches all the time, and there was a time that he was really into inspirational quotes (actually he might still do both). I find it hilarious at times, because they don't always fit the situation... So this is the theme of this week's giveaway. Except with a twist:

What is the most annoying quote or cliche that you know or hear often, and why is it annoying?

My Quote

The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.

Attributed to Einstein

This quote is spuriously attributed to Einstein, but there is no evidence that he ever said it. It has also been attributed to Mark Twain and Ben Franklin. So, that is the first annoying thing about it.

However, if it was attributed to Einstein, I suspect that it was said in relation to the field of Quantum Mechanics, which he laid the foundations of in his Nobel Prize winning research into the photoelectric effect. In his older age, he couldn't come to terms with the field and predictions that spawned from his original research. So, if he had said this particular quote in terms of describing Quantum Mechanics as madness, then it is also wrong!

Rules

  1. Upvote if you want, it increases the payout and then I can hopefully sponsor more people.
  2. Resteem is NOT neccessary, but the more people see this, the more the people will be likely to be sponsored.
  3. In the comments, describe the most annoying cliche/quote and why you find it annoying.
  4. I will be sponsoring as many people as this post pays out in SBD. Also I will kick in at least the required amount to round up to the full number. Winner is by random generator after a shortlisting of quality comments!

Steem Basic Income

One of the first communities that I came in contact with at the beginning of my time at Steemit was @steembasicincome. As a beginning author, Steemit can be a daunting place. It feels like you are posting into an abyss with no ability to grow. Steem Basic Income gives you a guaranteed vote on one post a day, thus giving you a small but cumulative over time support to your account.

With this post, I want to help sponsor people who might not even have the spare 1 STEEM that is required for registration. So, when this post pays out, I will sponsor people depending on the payout of this post. Basically, I will round up the SBD payout from this post and then that will be the number of people I will sponsor. (So, if the payout is 2.3 SBD, I will sponsor 3 people).

Last week's winners

Last week's post paid out 1.041 SBD and 0.062 STEEM, so I'll be sponsoring 2 shares.

I've stuck all the valid entries in a random list picker (afraid you'll have to trust me on that) and the winners are:

@lifeobserver

@lynxki

Congratulations, I have set up the sponsorships (check my wallet, but give me a few minutes after this post posts!).

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Horizontal Rulers by cryptosharon
Team Australia footer by bearone
Account banner by jimramones

Sort:  

That's so funny that you picked that quote. That's my most despised quote too, and absolutely what I would have said. Like I think I twitch a little every time I hear it. It's a thing that a lot of AA people say, only second to "it works if you work it!" Like, not only is it literally not the definition of insanity, but it's also not helpful. Sometimes you do the same thing twice and you do get different results because there are totally different variables and circumstances surrounding you. You know, if at first you don't succeed, try, try, again.

Here's my second least favorite:

Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me.

No, that's stupid. Words can totally hurt you. This is just shitty advice to give to kids. Words can be abusive and powerful. You can defame people, and ruin their lives and careers. You can hurt your partners with words. Sometimes kids get called bad names and then they cry because it hurt and that's totally legitimate. Stop telling your kids that they're not hurt when they are, and telling them that their bad behavior isn't hurting other people when it is. Ya know?

That is idiotic. Word start wars, end marriages. Tell your kids how to handle the hurt, but don't tell them it doesn't hurt. That will just undermine your credibility.

Seeeriously. My parents used to say it to me all the time when I was bullied in elementary school. I'm pretty sure that the things that my classmates said to me back then still have an effect on me. How about saying something more accurate like, "I'm sorry that you're feeling hurt because someone hurt you; you totally have the right to feel that way. I know it's hard to believe right now, but if it's any consolation, that kid is an insecure asshole who thinks s/he can feel better about her/himself if they pick on someone else and let's just hope for their sake that they work out their emotional issues before they have a miserable life. Now let's go get some ice cream."

I especially like the part about ice cream :)

Definitely better, but a bit too long to be catchy! Except maybe the ice cream part, that is catchy!

Ha, funny that we were irritated by the same quote!

The second one, I guess, really depends on who is saying it. If it is the 'victim' then it can be more of an act of defiance (and hopefully, strength instead of bravado?), however if it is told to someone else, it might be at best helpful advice, but possibly an empty rejection of harm.

Words can and do hurt, I also remember things said that have stuck and hurt me. But luckily, don't define me!

I am so with you on that! Actually, I believe that wounds made by sticks and stones are more easily healed than those made by words!

On the other hand, I do think that there is some truth in the doing the same thing over again and expecting different results.Like believing an abusive husband that he has changed now, putting trust into the wrong kind of people - stuff like that...

Oh, I agree with the general intent of the quote, but it drives me nuts the possible original context was wrong!

Winners and the next round of the SBI giveaway (First Impressions) is here:

https://steemit.com/steembasicincome/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-first-impressions

"What is the most annoying quote or cliche that you know or hear often, and why is it annoying?"

Probably... "Don't judge".. Because, I think we all judge all the time, the word is essentially a synonym of opinion or to distinguish.. It simply means you're trying to make sense of something by attributing certain qualities to it.

A lot of people especially New Agers tend to use this, and the people I've seen use it often use it in a way to sort of absolve themselves of responsibility or guilt. I've seen some say stuff like.. "Don't judge me and I won't judge you".. So.. I think people often use it in a way to sort of do immoral things, without trying to address the ethical implications.

People sure do love it when you judge them positively though.. If you say they look beautiful or they're smart or kind, they'll almost always thank you, but if you judge them in a way that isn't complimentary.. They will often say "don't judge" and just sort of try to handwave what you say away.

That's probably the one that annoys me most. Heh.

I hear you there, and often those that don't want to be judged are the most judgemental of all

Yes, we all judge unconsciously. It is a normal first instinct, and it really takes effort to take a step back and try (try, being the word...) to be objective.

In my day job as a musician, I always have the background fear of being judged by others (audience, colleagues...), however it is really something that needs to be harnessed. In the other hand, judgement is normal and useful, to assess the abilities of others...

Winners and the next round of the SBI giveaway (First Impressions) is here:

https://steemit.com/steembasicincome/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-first-impressions

Most Annoying Quote "Think positive, all will be OK" People who say these stupid things eventually could be educated by amputating them by the neck and then ask them how they will worm ther way out of that situation with their 'positive thinking illusion'.

Thanks for that! It is particularly annoying to hear, especially at the worst of times!

I'm afraid this contest ended a month ago though!

I noticed....

Thats what we call 'kut met peren' LOL

For me it has to be "Calm Down!"

Not once, in the history of the universe has that phrase been helpful in actually getting someone to calm down....

Ha ha! Especially when it is yelled at you...

Winners and the next round of the SBI giveaway (First Impressions) is here:

https://steemit.com/steembasicincome/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-first-impressions

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Bengy (also musicapoetica) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This one's easy. "Everything will be alright"--when thrown out as a general reassurance, with no supporting information. There are situations when the speaker actually does know everything will be fine (a surgeon after an operation? an accountant studying your balance sheet?), but as a general statement, it's idiotic. Well, you can see this one really does annoy me.
Provocative contest, for me, anyway :)

You mean we hope the surgeon and accountant say it with knowledge!

Yes, it is a bit of a meaningless reassurance. I don't say it myself, but I can see that people grab it when at a loss for words. Me, I tend to say nothing when lost for words...

On the other hand, some people prefer to hear this, others prefer to hear about possibilities of good and bad. I'm starting to get the picture that various quotes or clichés have an original good purpose, but when said in an empty way or just to fill space they take a meaningless character.

Winners and the next round of the SBI giveaway (First Impressions) is here:

https://steemit.com/steembasicincome/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-first-impressions

you know what i hate the most!?

"Told you so"

this is the worst thing anyone can say to me ! it makes me so angry!

Ya you told me so? so FUCK YOU!

if i did something bad i know i did it you dont have to stick this to my face..

This is super annoying, and it is often said at the time that you least need to hear it!

Winners and the next round of the SBI giveaway (First Impressions) is here:

https://steemit.com/steembasicincome/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-first-impressions

When to going gets tough and the tough gets going. I believe most of us have heard this to challenge people to push on during tough situation. The fact is that it is not just about working hard and doing more, sometimes it is just a little bit of common sense or work smart to accomplish the result in the most efficient way. People who do not think may just repeat the same old ways repeatedly receiving discouraging results.

This is important, sometimes it is more about finding a better or more efficient way. If you bashing into a wall, then perhaps it is time to find the door!

Winners and the next round of the SBI giveaway (First Impressions) is here:

https://steemit.com/steembasicincome/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-first-impressions

“Stop being such a Millennial...”

First of all, don’t call me a millennial as a way to demean me. I’m definitely a millennial by age, but as an older meillennial I feel that I’m not the stereotypical technology addicted narcissist that we are made out to be.

I think it is a catch all marketing term? But it is a bit like horoscopes, obviously not everyone in a group represents the trend, but if your objective is to target the greatest number of people with a simple catch all stereotype...

On the other hand, when it becomes an individual observation rather than a group observation, it is really problematic!

Winners and the next round of the SBI giveaway (First Impressions) is here:

https://steemit.com/steembasicincome/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-first-impressions

Mine is "how are you?". It is great if the speaker really means it, but most of the time it is interchangeable with "Hi". The worst is when people saying when walking by without stopping. If you mean it, stop and listen. Otherwise just say Hi.

This I find annoying in general, when people ask a question, but don't listen to the answer.

Winners and the next round of the SBI giveaway (First Impressions) is here:

https://steemit.com/steembasicincome/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-first-impressions

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23