Giveaway: Get a free @steembasicincome share: What would you send into space?

in #steembasicincome6 years ago (edited)

Space, the final frontier. And a message to boldly go where no message has gone before.

It is always an awe inspiring, slightly creepy feeling that one day this Golden Record from the Voyager probes may be everything that is left from humanity.

Chairman for the committee responsible for the record was Carl Sagan, who also wrote this humbling speech (video made with pictures from one of the Voyagers):

My question to you is:

If you would have been a member of this committee and responsible for selecting three things to send out into space, which three things would you have chosen? (You can ignore space and weight problems, in other words: What are the three things most important for aliens to know about humanity?)

EDIT: CLOSED, Steem for sponsored shares send out!

If you do that in a comment here, I will give each one who answers a share of @steembasicincome

Get a share and be paid a Basic Income for your posts!

steemitfooteren.jpg

Sort:  

CLOSED

Steem for shares send.

As suggested, I will ignore the technicalities. I would have sent into deep space a mechanical clock, Bach's Toccata and Fugue, and Donald Trump. The aliens will understand a lot about humanity and also, we get rid of the guy.

Don't you think they could interpret it as a declaration of war, sending a Weapon of Mass Ignorance?

I would send a phone, a computer and a dollar bill.

To tell them: "Come, you can get all this for a dollar"? :D

I suppose I'm a bit literal minded so the first thing I would send are mummified corpses of a woman and man. (so they could study the physical aspects of humans)

The second thing would be audio and video recordings of humans speaking as much of and as many human languages as could be included onto some kind of video/audio player and storage medium. (which would also serve as way to show our technology creation abilities)

The third thing I would send would be frozen or preserved examples of the kinds of foods that humans eat.

My opinion is that language/technology, how our bodies have evolved, and the kind/styles of food that we eat are the most unique aspects of being humans.

Thanks for this interesting question. :)

A banana + led lamp + my mother in law 😋

I am not sure if I should try to interpret that...

I would send a
Antminer s9
solar panels
and wires/cables
free BTC mining using the suns energy

I guess they would have troubles connecting to the network, with lightyears of ping.

I will choose a dog, chimpanzee and a penguin to send

My first choice would be some Lego, un-assembled in a bag.
I would then choose to send a star map if where Earth is.
Finally a diagram showing how to make a human figure from the Lego.
It would tell us a lot if the aliens either sent back the human Lego figure, or a model representing themselves.

And what would it tell us?

It would tell us they didnt accidentally stand on a Lego brick barefoot, and interpret it as a primative act of war ;)

Seriously though, if they build the human figure it would show if they understood our basic concepts/instructions, but not necessarily that is how we look. If they built a figure in their own image it would show they understood the instructions was how to build our form, and that they wanted to communicate with us by sending back a model of their own form.

Ugh this is actually tougher then I thought it would be, how to represent all humankind without putting your likes first.

I'd send up a copy of Mona Lisa so they can appreciate the art we made.
The world as I see it by -Albert Einstine so they could see the intelligence we had
And the last thing would be a cd of songs from around the world so they could hear us

All questions I have used for the share giveaway hard as easy and hard as you "want" to make it. I really hope more people thought a bit deeper! That was the main goal after all.

The question wasn't hard, at least from my prospective it was looking at how to explain all of humanity with three simple items. And I'll admit it did make me think long and hard how to answer the question

This is a really difficult decision. I would use a small microcontroller. No, even better an MP3 player with lots of music. Also a plane and some seeds for the third object. But I'm not quite sure what they should do with it.

Third object?

Sorry I mean as the 🙈

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87