Next book to movie question, last week's winners, and more SBI shares!

in #steembasicincome6 years ago (edited)

bad moives bad books.png

I'm a bit late but I've finally chosen the winner of the best book to the worst movie contest. Once again I enjoyed all the discussion and learning things I never knew before (I will read the Never Ending Story sometime).

But I also couldn't decide who should win. Also, for full disclosure one of the entrants is my daughter who finally made it to Steemit! Welcome @zeldacroft!

The winner is...

So I let the wheel decide again and here's what happened:

best book worst movie.gif

Congrats @improv!

Here is the confirmation of the 2 shares sent.

transfer complete improv.png

The next contest for 2 SBI shares

By now you've probably figured out what I'm doing, but if not I'll tell you there's two more combinations we have to consider. For this week the question is:

What is the worst book made into the worst movie?

The idea is the book never should have been written and the movie certainly should never have been made. There are so many candidates!

I've refrained from giving my own answers before because I didn't want to prejudice the answers but for this one I have to share: Twilight. Any of them. All of them. Well, that isn't fair. I've only read the last two books I think and that's because a Mom friend told me how explicit they were. So I needed to check before my daughter read them. I never read the other two books.

I didn't find them explicit by my standards but I found them boring. Oh, so boring. The movies at least had special effects to keep them going but that couldn't make up for the terrible acting or boring, nonsensical story lines.

I'm sure both teach Jacob and Edward will gang up on me now but it's my opinion.

Now I want to hear yours!

Here are the rules:

  • Comment your answer in the post

  • I'll choose the winner by random draw (I know I'll never be able to pick!)

That's it! Of course upvotes and resteems appreciated but not part of the contest.

enter image description here

Need help editing and formatting your blogs? Check out my editing services.

enter image description here

enter image description here


enter image description here

Join the Freewrite fun today! Visit @Freewritehouse


Pay it forward contest

Support the Steem community by participating in the Pay it Forward Contest!


Proud to be part of the


enter image description here

Please the Bananafish god by entering the Finish the Story Contest

All images are mine or licensed from Adobe except where noted. Freewritehouse, Pay it Forward and the Bananafish Tribe used with permission from their owners

Sort:  

That's me! I wonnnnnn!

And you'll read Die Unendliche Geschichte (The Neverending Story), so you win, because getting to enjoy that book is truly winning.

Now onto this week.

Twilight, eh? Gotta admit, while I've read a few pages here and there only, I HATED what that book taught about relationships. But... BUT BUTBUT, the first movie was so b-movie, that I couldn't help adoring parts of it... When she steps into the classroom and the rotating fan blows her hair! AH brilliant.

This one is extra hard, because the bad books aren't memorable...

Oh, can I choose one that I haven't read or seen, but know about? Atlas Shrugged...

Wait no, I can choose a controversial one!

Well, more controversial... no, I should say, controversial within my sphere. I think Ayn Rand opinions are inherently the most controversial, but they are predictable.

Anyways, the answer is The Great Gatsby. I really don't want to hear about the super rich people being super rich and awful, but admired, even if that's the point and the author/filmmakers know what they're doing. The fact that people would throw Gatsby parties after that film came out tells you all you need to know about how meaningless "intention" is when it comes to making art. What the audience takes away and what you intend for them to take away ... That's not a sentence, but it's a thought!
So... this goes back to my distaste for unlikable protagonists. I don't mind flaws, but they have to be, deep down, likable. In fact, I'd rather their flaw be something that, while it makes their life more difficult, makes them likable, like Harry's excessive efforts to be cool and Sally's "I'm alright" striding-forward-ness.

That's one of the best movies ever. Too bad it was never a book, or I'd have my answer for next week already.

Gatsby was required reading in high school. We watched the old version of the movie too (well it was the only version when I went to school). I never got it. I just felt bad that whole time and didn't understand why characters were putting up with all the BS.

And yes, Gatsby parties kind of miss the point! Thanks for coming up with a great example for the contest!

I’m gonna jump in here real quick and steal 50 Shades of Grey before someone else beats me to it. It started as Twilight fan fiction which should tell you all you need to know, but it’s a terrible book with terrible writing and a terrible plot. And the movie has a 4.1 score on IMDB. Fail.

Another good one! From what I heard anyway as I've not read or watched the movies.

Thanks for sharing!

Thats the first thought that came into my head when i started going through the options.

That’s why I jumped on it before someone else could beat me to it 😆

Well played sir. Well played.

Lol! It's not hard to believe that started out as a Twilight fanfiction. What's difficult to believe is that someone thought would make a good book? It's like a gremlin.

I am going to say Inferno by Dan Brown. The book is not very good compared to his others or to other good books. The only good part at all is the ending and then the movie messes that part up by making it a lovey dovey happy ending. Pure waste of time.

I saw a couple of Dan Brown's movies but never read them. I've yet to see Inferno. I have to admit to being fascinated by conspiracy theories and seeing things differently than what "they" say you should see. But the movies felt a bit convoluted at times.

thanks for the entry!

Ya see if you watched that move it would miss the whole point of the book haha I don't want to give stuff away cause I hate spoilers.

Congrats to @improv.

Now for my entry... I'm not surprised, but you and I have the same answer for this. Twilight. What can I say? The writing was bad. The story was bad. The characters were bad (or pathetic). The message it sends is bad, unless you think being stalked is romantic, or giving up your life for a crush is true love. It's just bad all over. Then, someone had to make five movies to multiply the bad in the books. The only good thing to come from the movies was Anna Kendrick. And she wasn't even in them, much.

Why did I read the books (3 out of 4) and watch the movies (first and last) if I thought they were that bad? I read the books for curiosity's sake. After all, I read a lot of books and I don't mind reading even the badly written ones. It's just an entirely different experience from reading a good book. But, it's an experience nonetheless. As for the movie, at least I didn't have to pay for them because I watched them on cable.

So, yeah. I could probably go on a longer rant about this, because I really have strong feelings against the Twilight books and movies. As a fan of Gothic fiction, I just can't stand how it took all these elements and made it a laughing stock. It's not even a satire. But, I won't. I just think its the worst book turned into the worst movie of all time.

All I can say is I absolutely agree!

Thanks for the entry.

Twilight (2008)

ok, but why? That's one many people have chosen but I need to know why YOU think so in order for it to count as an entry @joanm897.

The Killer Inside Me 2010

Why did you choose that one?

Kind of an odd choice - the novel by Jim Thompson is really good. I'd guess some people might be put off by the violence in the film, but compared to the source material I'd say it is actually less psychologically disturbing. Anyway, I'll nominate Atlas Shrugged (1 and 2!) - for being even more tedious than Rand's book.

Congratulations @ntowl! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Great contest!

Will give this a try. This might not be a popular opinion and to be fair it mainly resulted out of the massive hype before the book got released but in my opinion the worst book made into the worst movie is "Look Who's Back". The idea and story behind the book are great and could have been made into something really special but for me it was just plane boring both reading the book and then watching the movie. Despite one or two minor laughs there was nothing.

Good luck all and thanks for hosting this raffle.

PS: feel free to check out my regular raffles!

I've never seen or read that one. and since you mentioned it as being on the bad list I probably never will. But it counts as an entry anyway.

I see your contests often (haven't entered though). DM me on discord so I can get some info from you to put them into the recurring section of the SBI contest updates. Ntowl#9845

Hello @ntowl, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

I always appreciate it! Thank you.

[Sorry in advance for the long post 😅]
As someone who's seen and read ALL four books and five movies of Twilight, I honestly can't think of any worse movie or book.
And why I read/saw all of them? The only answer I have is my stubbornness to try and finish the series. I think my dumb inner 11-year-old self (who initially thought Twilight was excitingly dramatic and romantic) was hoping to find validation that at some point there would be something redeemable in them, once I realized that the writing was never good to begin with.

Since you and others (rightfully) chose Twilight, too, I'll just share a few thoughts:
-Stephanie Meyer's inability to write (seemingly anything) well. When I went back years later to try and reread Twilight (book 1, as I wanted to know why preteen me liked it so much), I thought 'how bad could it really be?' But it's BAD. I think I read the word 'velvety' maybe five times on one page when describing Edward's voice. Add to the lack of a vocabulary the completely one-note characters, the books just don't seem to go anywhere. I mean things happen, sure, but it's always bland characters saving an even blander 'protagonist'. Speaking of...

-Bella is just a reader/viewer vehicle. The character herself could have a lot of personality and trauma to go on: her parents' divorce, the threat of vampires, having to move across the country to her estranged father so her mom could go touring with her step-dad breath and more. But no, instead she has no original thoughts, is immediately welcomed and adored by all the kids at her new school, and then ditches them to be indecisive about two guys. And when those guys tried to leave? She does everything she can (including trying to kill herself) to get them back.
The movies could have taken the basic idea and made an epic heroine, but instead they just put her on screen as yet another terrible 'role model'. 😩

-Lastly, (and here's what genuinely made me mad while watching), the ONE TIME the movies made a change from the books it was glorious, but then they didn't commit. The last book revolved around the preparation for an epic battle. We're talking all the vampire and werewolf clans of the world coming together to defeat the evil vampire leaders. And it never happens. They all face off on a field, and right when something is set to actually happen, a psychic runs out and says there's no real reason to fight, and the evil guys go home. End of story.

In the movie, I'm expecting the same thing to happen. But all of a sudden one of the good guys gets ripped apart. The only epic scene in the series ensues, where you genuinely don't know what will happen. It was actually pretty cool and for the first time I was excited while watching. But then an awkward cut happens that reveals, 'Nope, this was all the psychic's vision of what a fight would look like.' It ends just as anticlimactically as the book, and I somehow hate it more for showing that they COULD have done something cool, but no, that would mean actually doing something interesting. 😤

...Anyways, apparently I have a lot of pent-up emotions about this series. Point is it's all bad. Sometimes hilariously bad, but still bad. I heard that Stephanie Meyer spent 10 years trying to find a publisher for Twilight. While I admire her perseverance, I wish she had used that time to do some rewrites and make it better. The screenwriters could have reinvented it into a cool series, but instead stuck like glue to something only a naive 11-year-old could love.

I think you're right on every point! And proves 11 year olds should never be allowed to vote - or date. 😜

I especially agree she should have done some re-writes during those 10 years. Someone said books aren't written they're re-written. What that King or Bradbury? someone incredibly successful I think.

Thanks for taking the time to make such a detailed entry!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31