What do you want in an SBI comment-voter?

in #steembasicincome5 years ago (edited)

So in a conversation with @improv earlier in the week I suggested that I might be able to build a service that would take a posting authorization and use it to automatically vote comments made by @steembasicincome. Which I absolutely can do; I already have a bot doing that for one of my own accounts, and the authorization part is easy enough to add.

What I don't know is what people think are appropriate settings, and how they would prefer commands. Lately SBI has been commenting a lot, with people playing with the new bot and @josephsavage being in a particularly verbose mood with his manual comments, but I expect that will tail off shortly; @rishi556 is close to ready to deploy the Discord version of the status bot, and Joseph will undoubtedly slow down again someday.

Even so, voting all of the comments has eaten a ton of voting power from that account, and I don't want to stick people with that. So I need some sort of limits for it. Questions:

  1. Do you want to be able to define a voting power percentage to vote comments?
  2. Do you want to be able to set a minimum VP for your account to make a vote?
  3. Do you want to be able to set a maximum number of votes per day?
  4. Do you want to be able to set a specific dollar value to be voted per day? week?
  5. Do you want commands in Steem comments via a ! command?
  6. Do you want commands in memo transfers?

Ideally all of these could happen easily, and I could add web and Discord interfaces too, but practically each of these things takes time and I'd like to know which ones are most important to people who might use it. Also, if you have any other ideas.

Steem.png

Sort:  

I would be interested in setting min VP and always voting at 0.01 when my account VP got above that (effectively trickling VP overflow into SBi votes instead of into vote markets.

Posted using Partiko Android

So if I read correctly, this will auto vote comments made by the sbi bots from my account? If yes, here's the answers to your questions:

  1. Yes definitely. Don't wanna drain my VP down too much so setting a custom % to vote at is good.
  2. Yes, similar answer to number 1. Don't wanna lose all my VP.
  3. Yup, I would like to use my VP myself too.
  4. Personally no, but I see how someone might find this useful, though I might try and target dollar value as rshares is something most people are NOT familiar with.
  5. No, this is too complicated and comments take up more RC than transfers.
  6. Yes, see number 5.

A web interface would be nice, though I don't see a reason for a discord one for this particular use case.

Dollar value (well, STU) is easier to do than rshares anyway, I should change that one.

Yea, I've dealt with targeting dollar value(in steemjs) and didn't have too hard of a time.

It's not too hard to do it manually, but Beem makes it easy to be lazy by including a vote_sbd_amount() function.

I can't figure out how to do python packages. I was shown pipenv but still failed. Maybe sometime this year. Last year(2018) was JS and its turned out very well.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I would like to use !steem commands or a portal like steemauto.
I would like to upvote all comments at 15 minutes from all SBI accounts.
I would pause voting if I felt like I wanted more vp.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @tcpolymath!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.728 which ranks you at #1484 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1481).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 190 contributions, your post is ranked at #91.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post has been included in today's SOS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



Exciting things still coming to the project is great to see! Thanks for your efforts and being a part of it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

  1. Do you want to be able to define a voting power percentage to vote comments?

Yes, this would be ideal, as the number of comments will be plentiful. The bot responses to "SBI status" could be upvoted too.

  1. Do you want to be able to set a minimum VP for your account to make a vote?

I think the percentage is enough, so no.

  1. Do you want to be able to set a maximum number of votes per day?
    This would be nice, but secondary to the percentage.

  2. Do you want to be able to set a specific dollar value to be voted per day? week?
    No.

  3. Do you want commands in Steem comments via a ! command?
    Not needed, but would be nice.

  4. Do you want commands in memo transfers?
    Again, not needed but would be helpful.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks. For the last two, there has to be some method of giving commands, so it's mostly a question of which one you prefer.

You got a 43.89% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tcpolymath!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 12 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71