STEEMCHURCH - Be Thankful For Your SALVATION

in #steemchurch6 years ago

Greetings to all Steemchurch Parishioners,

Today, I want to talk about the blessings of the Lord that we often take for granted and act as if it's normal. There's one thing we should all learn to do, which is praising God continually for His goodness. Often times, most people attribute science to virtually everything that has happened or is happening in their lives hence denies the fact that God does exist, and He is the one that has gifted us with those things we tend to tag normal. Ingratitude is not a trait any believer should have because it goes against the teachings of our Lord Jesus Christ although it's sad that some of the followers of Christ are not even aware that those things they feel or have are been sent by God. The most painful one is when we take the gift of Salvation for granted. Some believers have argued that once we've accepted Christ as our Lord then our Salvation is guaranteed no matter what we do afterward while others think differently. Well, I am not here to judge over anyone's life or what they do behind doors, but I am more concerned when believers take that gift of Salvation for granted and see it as an opportunity to do whatever they like all in the name that God will forgive whenever we ask for it.

1539259076474.jpg
Pixabay.com

The Psalmist was someone who appreciated the fact that God is ready to forgive him of his sins but never took it for granted. David was honest to the core and never did anything consciously to sin against God, but today, the story is different. Most times, we sin against God knowing fully well what we are doing. Today, we don't appreciate the blessings of forgiveness that David had. Yes, I know the spirit is willing but the body is weak, but there is one important fact here when we appreciate the fact that Jesus came into this world to die for the sins he knew nothing about. He suffered for the sake of mankind for all of us to be saved, it's truly enough reason not to willingly sin against God. I mean, this sacrifice should not be taken for granted.

The Bible says Salvation is of the Lord. He gave us the greatest gift anyone could ever ask of and I think such be appreciated. For starters, I love gifts especially if it's coming from that are very dare to my heart. I remember when I was gifted with a Swatch wrist watch from my younger brother. I don't joke with that wrist watch till date because it was the first time someone ever got me a wristwatch, and the most amazing part of the gift was the fact that he got with from his first ever salary. It became the most valuable thing I had then how much more the gift of the Almighty God offering His only begotten son, Jesus Christ for our redemption. This simply means that anyone who appreciates this Sacrifice wouldn't want to indulge in sin willingly. I am not perfect, I am also speaking to myself. I know that sometimes I do things just because my flesh wants me to do it, and not because I am ignorant of the fact that it's a sin.

The question is, how do we get past this level? How do we get to that point where our hearts are filled with gratitude that it overshadows the flesh? Having it at the back of our hearts that the gift of Salvation cost Him a lot, and should not be taken for granted. We need to ask ourselves this question and answer it from the depth of our hearts. Shall we continue in sin? I don't know about you, but as for me, I want to be a better Christian through Christ that strengthens me. I want to be able to say thank you Lord for the gift of Salvation and mean every word of it. I want to cherish this gift like my whole life depends on it. I want to get to the stage where I will no longer commit any sin with my eyes wide open knowing full well what I am doing and the implications. All these I pray to achieve with the help of the Holy Spirit from a heart of gratitude. We were given not because we deserved it, but God in His infinite mercy offered this gift to all of us because He loves us. I pray God will give us the grace to be more appreciative of our redemption in Christ Jesus.

Thank you for reading!!!

And, God bless Y'all!

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06