That They May Be One

in #steemchurch5 years ago

After Jesus had said this, he looked up to heaven and said, “Father, the hour has come. Glorify your Son, so that the Son may glorify you. For you have given him authority over all humanity so that he might give eternal life to all those you gave him. And this is eternal life: to know you, the only true God, and the one whom you sent—Jesus the Messiah. I glorified you on earth by completing the task you gave me to do. “So now, Father, glorify me in your presence with the glory I had with you before the world existed. I have made your name known to these men whom you gave me from the world. They were yours, and you gave them to me, and they have kept your word. Now they realize that everything you gave me comes from you, because the words that you gave me I passed on to them. They have received them and know for sure that I came from you. They have believed that you sent me “I am asking on their behalf. I am not asking on behalf of the world, but on behalf of those you gave me, because they are yours. All that is mine is yours, and what is yours is mine, and I have been glorified through them. I am no longer in the world, but they are in the world, and I am coming to you. Holy Father, protect them by your Name, the Name that you gave me, so that they may be one, as we are one. John 17:1-11
Source
I love the above scripture so much looking at how Jesus prayed for himself and for his disciples. Jesus was a great leader who understood that unity was a powerful tool to accomplish any mission.

People who are united can easily accomplish anything they set their minds on and there is nothing that will seem insurmountable.

Untity is what we all need to get things done in the church of God today. We ain't going anywhere when there are a lot of backbittings, jealousy, quarreling in the midst of believers.

There is no way the devil can penitrate our defence and cause any havoc if we are so united. This is why the devil will first seek to cause division among belivers before he will fire his destructive missiles.

Jesus never prayed for the church for money or any other thing but for unity, that they may be one. we all need to understand that we need each other and we depend on one another.

One person cannot accomplish anything unless he or she work with others. Jesus was a man of authority and had all powers that was capable of anything yet he still worked with other people whom he called disciples.

The bond of affection, love, understanding and togetherness which was among the early disciples is what has made Christianity what it is today and it is something we all need to learn and embrace if we can succeed as church.

The believers continued to devote themselves to what the apostles were teaching, to fellowship, to the breaking of bread, and to times of prayer. A sense of fear came over everyone, and many wonders and signs were being done by the apostles. All the believers were united and shared everything with one another. They made it their practice to sell their possessions and goods and to distribute the proceeds to anyone who was in need. United in purpose, they went to the Temple every day, ate at each other’s homes, and shared their food with glad and humble hearts. They were praising God and enjoying the good will of all the people. Every day the Lord was adding to their number those who were being saved. Acts 2:42-47

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20