How can I control my temper?

in #steemchurch6 years ago (edited)


How often do you lose your temper?

□ Never

□ Every month

□ Every week

□ Every day

Who is most likely to make you lose your temper?

□ No one

□ Schoolmates

□ Parents

□ Siblings

□ Other

IF you choose "Never" and "Nobody" and dont have a situation to describe, congratulations - you have control over your temperament!

However, everyone reacts differently to difficult situations and has deficits in one way or another. Bible author James said, "We all stumble often." (James 3: 2) In fact, when it comes to your mood, you may feel exactly like 17-year-old Serena. "I have this pent-up energy," she says, "and often I pick up who's annoying me next, it could be my parents, my sister or even my dog!"

Separate myths from facts

Do you find it difficult to keep your mood? If so, help is available. First let's dispel a few myths.

▪ Myth: "I can not control my mood - I come from a long line of hotheads!"

Tame your temper

If you tend to be spirited, you may have blamed others for your outbursts so far. For example, have you ever said, "She provoked me" or "He made me lose my temper"? If this is the case, your own words suggest that others think the remote control is your emotion. How can you regain the command? Try the following.

To take responsibility. It all starts with the realization that you - and only you - can "annoy" yourself. So take blaming from your vocabulary. Instead of saying, "She provoked me," confess, "I let myself be provoked." Instead of saying, "He has lost my temper," acknowledge to yourself, "I've decided to overreact." Once you accept responsibility for your actions, you will be better able to change them (Galatians 6: 5).

Anticipate the problem. The Bible says, "Reasonable people will see difficulties and avoid them, but an unthinkable person will go in directly and later regret it." (Proverbs 22: 3, today's English version) So the key is to foresee the problem. Ask yourself, "When will my temperament flare up the most?" For example, a girl named Megan says, "I work at night, and when I finish my shift, I'm extremely tired, so almost anything can get me over the edge."

Fact: You may be "ready to get angry" - perhaps because of the impact of family, environment or other factors. But what you do with this anger is under your control. (Proverbs 29:22) The question is: Where do you want to be when it comes to your feelings - in the driver's seat or in the passenger seat? Others have learned to control their anger, and so have you! (Colossians 3: 8-10).

Keyword:

"Let all evil bitterness and rage and rage and crying and insulting speech go away from you" (Ep 4:31).

▪ Myth: "When I'm angry, it's better to let everything out than to shed it inside."

Fact: Both approaches can be harmful. True, there is a time to vent your concern. (Job 10: 1) But that does not mean you should run around like a warhead looking for a fuse. You can learn to express strong emotions without exploding.

Key Script:
?"A slave of the Lord does not have to fight, but must be gentle to all ... restrain himself" (2 Timothy 2:24).

▪ Myth: "If I am gentle to everyone, everyone will go over me."

Fact: People can feel that it really needs strength to show self-control, and they will respect you more if you do that.

Key Scripture:

"If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, be at peace with all men" (Romans 12:18).

Question: Under what circumstances is your temper likely to flare up?

.....

Plan a better answer. If provoked, take a deep breath, lower your voice and speak slowly. Instead of making a charge ("thief, you took my sweater without asking!") Trying to express how it affects you. ("I get really frustrated with wanting to wear my sweater and find out you borrowed it without asking me.")

Exercise: Think of a current situation in which you have lost your temper.

  1. What provoked you?

.....

  1. How did you react? (What did you say and / or did?)

.....

  1. What could have been a better answer?

.....

Consider the consequences. Several biblical principles can help you with this. For example:

Proverbs 12:18, "There is one who speaks with the sting of a sword without thinking." Words can hurt, and if you lose your temper, you will almost certainly say something that you will regret later.

▪ Proverbs 29:11, "His whole mind is what a fool exudes, but the one who is wise keeps it quiet until the end." In the end, a tirade just makes you look stupid.

Proverbs 14:30: "A calm heart is the life of the carnal organism." A bad mood is bad for your health! Says a girl named Anita: "High blood pressure is in my family, and the fact that I'm prone to stress makes me think twice about losing my temper."

The lesson? Think of the consequences of your words and actions. 18-year-old Heather says, "I wonder, 'What if I lose patience with this person? What will he or she think of me? How will it affect our relationship? How would I feel if someone was up like that? Me? "" You can ask the same kind of questions before you speak or before you send a message - whether by mail, over the phone or via instant messages, SMS or e-mail.

Question: What could happen if someone upset you and sent you an angry message?

.....

Get help. "People learn from each other as iron sharpens iron," says Proverbs 27:17. (TEV) Why do not you ask a parent or mature friend how he or she stays calm?

Monitor your progress. Keep a journal and monitor your progress. Each time you lose control, note (1) what happened, (2) how you responded, and (3) a better response. Over time, you will find that the better answer will be your first!
TO THINK ABOUT SOMETHING

Sometimes even people we would not think losing their temper have done so instantly. What lessons can be learned from these examples?

▪ Moses (Numbers 20: 1-12); Psalm 106: 32, 33.

▪ Paul and Barnabas (Acts 15: 36-40).

DID YOU KNOW ?
Sometimes God himself is angry. His feelings, however, are always justified, and he retains complete control. He never exaggerates! - See Exodus 34: 6; Deuteronomy 32: 4; and Isaiah 48: 9.

thanks for reading
all image credit http://pixabay.com

Sort:  

People can feel that it really needs strength to show self-control, and they will respect you more if you do that

Nice share

OS

Hi there

We found your post valuable to the steemchurch community

Thanks for sharing

Resteemed

OS

Anger is one of the vices we need to put under control by God's grace. If you are angry count 7 before speaking...
Thanks @ferdinice for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86