A servant is not greater than his master | John 15

in #steemchurch5 years ago

One of my favorite Youtubers, Amazing Lucas, shared a dissapointing tale of intolerance and bigotry.

A pastor by the name of David Lynn was persecuted and arrested for preaching John 3:16: forgiveness, hope and new life.

Pastor David Lynn arrested for preaching the Gospel

The video linked reminds of scripture, they hate you because they hated Christ, a student is not greater than his teacher, John 15.

John 15:18-25 English Standard Version (ESV)

The Hatred of the World

18 “If the world hates you, know that it has hated me before it hated you. 19 If you were of the world, the world would love you as its own; but because you are not of the world, but I chose you out of the world, therefore the world hates you. 20 Remember the word that I said to you: ‘A servant is not greater than his master.’ If they persecuted me, they will also persecute you. If they kept my word, they will also keep yours. 21 But all these things they will do to you on account of my name, because they do not know him who sent me. 22 If I had not come and spoken to them, they would not have been guilty of sin,[a] but now they have no excuse for their sin. 23 Whoever hates me hates my Father also. 24 If I had not done among them the works that no one else did, they would not be guilty of sin, but now they have seen and hated both me and my Father. 25 But the word that is written in their Law must be fulfilled: ‘They hated me without a cause.’

Footnotes:

John 15:22 Greek they would not have sin; also verse 24

Let's Pray

Lord praise your name that you love and that you made a way to salvation for all who believe in you and repent of sin.

Jesus, forgive these enemies of your name and truth. Show them your ways, give them eyes to see and ears to hear, so that by you they might be saved.

In Jesus mighty name we pray. Amen.

21PRtjKRXPQybj4WUXScWv5QPLninWRxfbcWNsx7SenD7FohQGHjXQwArXXTzVFUWevt59mPzYmbmkKpGYch6Jv6bJrbMyhXGyFeg2BxKEw4g2Jz3eNTn4wzqFGXAwiobzGfo2seZRzzPDzGYHz7pPG.png

Sort:  

Happy day @itisfineshed, it is a pleasure to have you here in steemchurch we are in a process of transition of the church to amazing improvements, now we will work as a consolidated International Ministry, with opportunities for all, we hope you can be part of this life project.

Are you referring to the Steemchurch on Tlos? I signed up for that process as well, however I dont do anything with it. I am so busy with Steem that I barely have time to learn about other blockchains. Is that what you were referring to?

As far as Jesus was persecuted, who are we his student not to he persecuted but we have hope that we have eternal glory up there

Congratulations @itisfinished! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 70 posts. Your next target is to reach 80 posts.
You received more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14