SWEET FOR THE SOUL

in #steemchurch5 years ago


Source



Last week I took my nephew to eat at a restaurant. My 5-year-old nephew asked me if I could bless the table before eating what they had brought us. As we bow our heads, and fold our hands, my child said:

God is good, God is great. I thank you for the food we are going to eat and I would appreciate it even more if Jenny gives us ice cream for dessert. And may there be freedom and justice for all. Amen.

Along with some laughs that came from the side tables, I heard a woman say:

That is the bad thing about this country. Today's children do not even know how to pray. Ask God for ice cream? What nonsense!

Hearing such a hard comment, the boy burst into tears and asked me if I had done something wrong and if God would be upset with him. I hugged him and dried his tears telling him that he had done a magnificent job and that God would by no means be upset with him.

As soon as I finished saying these words when an old man approached our table. He winked at my son, crouched at his side and said:

I'm sure God thought your prayer was very good.

He really answered.

Totally safe. Then in whispers he said: "It is unfortunate that she - Pointing at the woman with her finger - never asks God for ice cream. Sometimes, some ice cream is good for souls."

Naturally I bought ice cream for the child for dessert. After finishing his ice cream he was a little thoughtful and did something I will never forget for the rest of my life.

He served some ice cream on one of the plates on the table and without uttering a single word on his way to the restaurant and stood in front of the lady.

With a big smile he said:

This is for you. Sometimes, ice cream is good for souls and mine already had enough.

Matthew 19:14
And Jesus said: Leave the children, and do not prevent them from coming to me; because of such is the kingdom of heaven.



Sort:  

Children have that innocence and sweetness to reach hearts, and the sweet will always rejoice the soul.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00