STEEMCHURCH FARMS(@farms): How to obtain our own seeds of "Carica-Papaya L."

in #steemchurch6 years ago

With this new publication I want to reiterate my support for the project STEEMCHURCH FARMS (@Farms) of @abiye and, of course, the Lord of Steem @ Sirknight, for making this important humanitarian project a reality. With my publications, I want to contribute with this important cause. I hope that my agriculture issues can help many parishioners of the steemchurch, who today plan to develop their agricultural projects.

Today I want to share with you my experience of how to obtain your own seeds, in this case I am going to refer to the "Papaya", scientific name: Carica papaya L. The cultivation of papayas is increasingly important all over the world, and now it has It has been the third most important tropical fruit in the world, after mangoes and pineapples, now it has reached a world production of almost 12.5 million tons.


Source

It is important to have seeds that guarantee a good yield in a crop, if we grab a handful of papaya seeds and put them to germinate, hopefully they will germinate in an acceptable percentage, but in the course of growth we will observe Seedlings less developed than others, many with thin stems, what we call rickets and that is not the idea, we need at least 85% of them to be vigorous, and to avoid this I will explain the process of: How to select our seeds?


Source

Step 1:

First, we must have a good fruit, you can go to the supermarket and buy a papaya or milky that is fully mature, with a healthy skin, we must discard those fruits in which you see some necrosis in the form of circles or rot in different parts, I recommend that you choose a fruit that is completely yellow, without spots to rule out any disease.


Source

Step 2:

It is important to know that all fruits have a placenta where the seeds are joined, when you open a fruit you will see seeds that start large and in the end they are reduced in size, this is due to the maturity between one side and the other. the other, in this case you should discard the small seeds.


Source

Many farmers make two lateral cuts to the fruits to use the seeds of the center, this form can work, but normally I open the papaya in two parts making a longitudinal cut, to observe the size of the seeds, and start from the center towards the chooses. larger and dark-colored seeds.

Step 3:

The extracted seeds are placed in a glass container and the juice of the same papaya is added, this juice can be prepared in a blender without adding water, they are left there for one or two days without covering them, they can observe a fermentation process that It will help disinfect the seeds and eliminate the crystalline film that covers them, called mucilage and other impurities.

Drying the seeds

We perform the following procedure:

  • The seeds are poured into a container with water and washed, discarding those that float.
  • We put the seeds in a sieve, to drain
  • Then we aerate them with the use of a fan so that they lose moisture until they dry well; You can also place them in a place outdoors with a little sun, in this case, that the sun does not go directly on them.
  • Once these steps are completed, and we are sure that they have lost 100% of the moisture, we will powder them with fungicide Ridomil or Mancozobet, and store them.

Germination process:

For germination, I recommend placing the seeds in disposable plastic cups # 4 with earth mixed with sawdust, manure or compost, at a depth of 1.5 centimeters, these germinate between 10 and 12 days, then wait until they have a height of 5 to 6 centimeters and then pass them to the polyethylene bags, where they will receive our care, they will be applied a fertilization with phosphate until they reach a height of 25 centimeters, which will be the ideal time to be transplanted.

There are also on the market trays to germinate, with alveoli of 2 "that can be used to replace the cups, and then pass the seedlings to plastic bags, where we will wait for the height indicated for the transplant.

Perhaps many of you wonder why they are not placed directly in poly bags. This is because many times when we put the seeds directly, it can happen that, for some reason, the seed does not germinate, the work is lost and the wait, however, if we put them already germinated, we know that it is a plant that we can count as a fact.


Source

In a future publication I will talk to you about papaya transplant, fertilization, irrigation system, pest and disease control and harvesting. regards

Sort:  

The steemchurch @farms is indeed happy with this publication and have found this very informative and educative and indeed useful to all parishioners who wish to venture into the cultivation of papaya seeds.... thanks for your contribution.

Resteem

(to be a part of this community; ensure to always use #farms and #steemchurch for agricultural related post)

SteemChurch Farm ( @FARMS)

Thank you @farms , I have wanted through my agricultural subjects, to give my contribution to this beautiful project STEEMCHURCH FARMS, my dear brothers.

Thanks for this well detailed and explanatory post. will all the nutritional values, growing a pawpaw tree shouldn't be a bad idea.

Thank you @tikhub, I have wanted through my agricultural subjects, to give my contribution to this beautiful project STEEMCHURCH FARMS.

Wow what a wonderful write up. I love your post, you really took your time in listed out step in planting paw paw. That is what we call it in nigeria. Farms need people like you. You have been able to teach us the steps in planting paw paw fruits.
Thanks @steemchurch @farms and most thanks to my mentor @Sirknight.
Indeed e are going to feed the world.
th-3.jpg

Thank you brother @femiandrew, I wanted to share the experiences of my crops with the community of steemchurch, and at the same time contribute with this beautiful project of STEEMCHURCH FARMS, best regards.

I was thinking any seed can germinate when you Just scatter the pawpaw seed on the ground, then it can easily grow, I'm really glad you got to teach me how it's done

Exceptionally informative its distribution, cleared up numerous questions, with reason I didn't heap of papaya the plants that sembre a period prior, the mystery is in the seed, thank you for distributing and improving my insight.

Thank you @moize, you are my contribution to this beautiful project STEEMCHURCH FARMS, greetings.

Very explanatory its publication, clarified many doubts, with reason I did not load of papaya or lechoza the plants that sembre a time ago, the secret is in the seed, thank you for publishing and enriching my knowledge.

Thank you @, you are my contribution to this beautiful project STEEMCHURCH FARMS, greetings.

Uncommonly enlightening its dispersion, cleared up various inquiries, with reason I didn't pile of papaya the plants that sembre a period earlier, the puzzle is in the seed, thank you for appropriating and enhancing my knowledge.

Thanks @, for your comments, greetings.

Great post @oscarcede. I am a papaya farmer, you can see my DP. Looking forward to sharing more papaya post.
I made one lately, its a series where i will post about raising papaya for the next couple of months. Kudos to @steemchurch for giving us @farms.

Hello @osita4coin, I will be aware of your publication, I grow few papaya plants, no more than 60 plants, the strongest of my crops are onions, tomatoes and paprika, greetings Friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29