Day # 1: Blessed are the poor in spirit

in #steemchurch6 years ago (edited)

Matthew 5: 3.

Regards appreciated steemchurch community. Blessings .

Welcome to my contribution about the first beatitude that our Lord Jesus Christ teaches his disciples.

Jesus demonstrates in the mountain sermon nine beatitudes of the character of a Christian who submits himself to the norms of the kingdom.

When I read these Beatitudes for the first time, I asked myself - I would be among those blessings.

I always asked God if there was an order of importance in these Beatitudes, because I wanted to belong to that group of characteristics that my Lord taught us.


Source

A certain day studying the characteristics of this sermon in my local church- a young woman asked:

Which of these bienaventurazas will be the most important? - Some thought that all, others said that the first was an effect of the others.

Obviously I gave my opinion, then, I have always thought that the first beatitude "poor in spirit" is what determines the following eight.


Source

Before continuing with this beautiful blessing, I want to specify the following concepts:

1.-Blessed: He is a happy person, fortunate, who enjoys the blessings of God. In the Greek it means blissful or happy.

2.-Poverty: shortage of a certain thing, quality of the poor, spiritually is a matter of the human heart.

3.-Spirit: immaterial part of man by which he thinks, feels, dreams ...

These three terms are those used by our eternal father Jesus Christ to reveal to us a great truth of the character of the Christian and the relationship of the kingdom, Jesus wants to reveal to his people the true traits of the Christian, the necessary tools to be able to access his Kingdom. And it outlines the primary attributes of the people who receive the Kingdom.


Source

Obviously the Lord begins by blessing through these characteristics those who possess it, and says first: "Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven."

When I interpret this promise, my mind begins to draw the word "Humility", and immediately comes another word called "pride" - and I wonder - if pride is the greatest of sins (and it is), humility it must be the greatest virtue of the kingdom.

Humility is what allows me to recognize that God claims my life, that I am a mortal and fallible creature and that He owns the universe.

Humility is what makes me say: "I am a sinner, I need to be saved".
Beloved brothers and friends - in humility this is the origin of all wisdom (Proverbs 22.4)


Source

The truths of the kingdom are only perceived by the humble and the born again.
No arrogant will ever receive anything from God, because "God resists the proud, and gives grace to the humble" (James 4.6)

The humble receive the grace of God and the secrets of the kingdom, because they come to Him as beggars. It is there where that great bliss that Jesus said at the beginning is fulfilled
"Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven" (Matthew 5: 3)

Testimony:

Today's world is sick with pride

  • I tell you that one day somebody told me:
    -sister, I want to tell you something that broke my heart- I wanted to help a person who noticed that I needed shoes, and at that moment, because I did not have money available to buy one, I took some pairs of my clothes and I gave the person to her- she took them and even thanked me, but I never saw her use them, then someone very close to her told me that she did not use them, because she considered them too little for her.

This led me to a reflection and interpretation of "poverty". - I understood that humility is not in need, nor in material poverty, but rather it is a condition of the soul, of feeling.
a fitness where pride is not present, nor the self-centeredness of the person, let alone the pride of believing that one is better or deserves more than another.

I understood that spiritual poverty goes beyond humility, which transcends the thoughts and every intention of the heart to nest in the soul that poverty of spirit.


Source

I understood that spiritual poverty goes beyond humility, which transcends the thoughts and every intention of the heart to nest in the soul that poverty of spirit.

That is why a person "poor in spirit" is that person who does not boast of his achievements, recognizes his failures and weaknesses and acts without pride, is that person who is covered with humility, and meets the characteristics of the other Beatitudes: to cry, to be hungry, to thirst for justice, to be meek, to be merciful, to have a clean heart, to be peaceful and to endure adversity without recriminating anyone.

Spiritual poverty has nothing to do with material poverty, there are very poor people economically, and they are full of pride, they are totally without humility, they are vainglorious, proud ... and in the same way there are people who have a lot of material wealth, but they are humble , giving, give in exchange for nothing, are detached and do not boast of what they possess.

There are different kinds of poverty:

A poverty-good, which guides you to true freedom, to happiness ... without self-centeredness.

Poor poverty, which is negative, leads you to misery, to internal emptiness.

Being poor is in the truth of God, remember that the Lord did not refer to material poverty, he referred to spiritual poverty, that which gives life, that produces peace, happiness, joy and freedom.

Blessings, I hope my contribution will be of benefit to all.

Sort:  

Great interpretation @ricci01, the poverty of spirit has nothing to do with the shortage of goods, it is something that is related to our heart, we share with you the fact that it is the first beatitude that leads us to fulfill the second, it is impossible that a person who is not poor in spirit, cry and receive consolation from God.

Amen, apostle darlenys, thank you for commenting.
Blessings.

As usual! excellent teaching of the word of God, thank you sister for participating in this new initiative of @sc-v, Blessings

Excellent message To be poor in spirit is to recognize our absolute dependence on God. We must know that we can not do anything without his Holy Spirit. Blessings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79