Don’t Forget – Hebrews 13:3steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemchurch5 years ago

image.png

Remember those in prison as if you were their fellow prisoners, and those who are mistreated as if you yourselves were suffering.

I have a confession. It was about 25 years ago a guy I worked with come to me and asked me to pray for his wife. I can’t remember what the prayer request was right now. However, I remember the request was answered. Yet, it was no thanks to me. It was a few days later after he asked me to pray that he came back to me with a positive report about his wife and thanked me for praying.

It was at that moment I realized I had completely forgot to pray for her. I could have just been happy for him and acted as if it was no big deal. The only thing is, it was no deal at all for me. I didn’t remember to pray for her. I told him immediately that I was sorry that it had completely slipped my mind. Has this happened to you before? Let’s not forget others anymore.

Let this be a focus in your time of meditation throughout the day. Until next time, shalom!


SOURCE: Steve Moutria at TorahFamily.org (Posted with permission)
http://torahfamily.org/dont-forget-hebrews/

IMAGE SOURCE

Sort:  

Howdy sir simms50! yes sir that has happened to me before. It's easy to forget people especially those in prison or jail like your photo shows, reminds me of a few people in the county jail that just sit there all day with no visitors and no one talking to them. Mrs. J does of course but she's usually not there on the halls that those few people are, when she is she goes in and talks to them but the other guards don't and those inmates never get visitors. That's what this verse reminded me of.

Well I pray that God continues to bless her work there as well as protect her and allow her to proclaim the name of Jesus/Yeshua to those people there!

Thank you sir simms50! Your prayers are so appreciated. Yes she is being used in different ways, it generally isn't by speaking the truth of the Gospel because she would be fired immediately I think, if she did that because they have a strict policy against any expression of faith.

There is a section outside the cells which isn't on camera so she's been able to talk to a couple of the women and even pray with them outside the camera's reach but that is risky because if another guard came along and saw that they'd have a fit, all the other guards are very anti-faith.

Well hopefully God will provide her more and more opportunities to show light in a dark place!

Howdy sir simms50! yes sir well actually the Chaplain is going to ask if Mrs. J can be part of the services which is kind of risky but we'll see how they take that request.

Yes, I know this has happened to me more than once. I try to make it a habit of praying immediately after the need is expressed or it will easily slip my mind.

Thank you for continuing to share these devotionals. It is incredibly sad to see the lack of humility within the body of believers. If only we would picture Him literally in our presence (because He is) I think we would be more loving and less prideful.

Thank you @hebrewhousewife for sticking around and reading these devotions.

I took agree that I have forgotten to pray right away, I am however getting better in remembering to just do it right away!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28