Do Something More Useful Than Complaining: Support Steemcleaners

in #steemcleaners6 years ago (edited)

On the last Top 20 Witness Forum on MSP Waves, @anyx again mentioned how expensive it is to run @cheetah and pay the people working on @steemcleaners. If you're not familiar what what Steem Cleaners does and how it improves your Steemit experience, please give the posts listed here a read: Steemcleaners Posts & Guides. If you don't have time to read them then take my word for what it's worth or go browse through some of their recent reports (note also, they have a very high 78 reputation):

You may notice, the little green arrows there. I've added Steemcleaners to my Steem Voter account to give every one of their posts a full upvote which I've done for quite some time. That is how they fund their operations. Please, consider supporting them also with some of your voting strength!

You can also help by submitting posts for them to review using this submission form:

In addition, you can reach them on their discord channel here: https://discord.gg/7FkETjJ

Another way you can support them is to upvote this post! I've set the beneficiary of this post to be 100% steemcleaners using this tool.

So, to summarize:

  1. Steemit greatly benefits from Steemcleaners and tools like it.
  2. You can support them with your upvotes to ensure they continue to improve our Steemit experience.
  3. Consider adding them to an automated voter to support them automatically.
  4. Keep their abuse report handy to do your part as you use the site.
  5. Thanks for upvoting this post as the 100% beneficiary has been set to @steemcleaners

Big thanks to @anyx and the team he's built to run @steemcleaners to fight plagiarism and identity theft.

You can see the beneficiary of this post via Steemd:


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, programmer, STEEM witness, DAC launcher, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Learn about cryptocurrency at UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

Man, thanks for writing about @steemcleaners. I thought I already had them on my list of supported accounts, but they weren't. They sure are now!

The service they provide serves everyone on Steem and they deserve this from everyone!

Every user can also use their own flags to upvote good content and downvote content they feel is harmful.

I don't have much sympathy left for those who complain and are not part of the solution. It is a decentralized operation. We are all responsible.

Please don't tell me how flagging is a missed opportunity. Nobody eats in a filthy restaurant. Costs are part of earning.

Good reminder and thanks to the steemcleaners also!

Done and done.

I didn't take a look at all the latest posts but did check out the last one. It's kind of straight forward and self explanatory. They have clearly marked the accepted and rejected abuse reports.

Although the reasons are not the most elaborate ones but I think it is more a case of yes or no. whether the plagiarism is found or not is pretty straightforward. In any case the details are mentioned in the abuse at the link you mentioned.

People cry a lot here but frankly I have been flagged twice (also another time in a flag war between two people) and both times I deserved it . It is a pretty good deterrent and allows you the option of voicing concerns in a practical manner that gives results.

We really need to do that interview about all these interesting things

For sure! So much fun stuff we could talk about including. EOS, eosDAC, STEEM, Steemit the site, Steemit the company, social projects on the Steem blockchain, and more. I'm flexible so let me know any time your schedule works.

I just posted a couple of steem interviews I'd already shot so prob won't be for a while, but keep me posted if anything is breaking news and we can maybe do a live stream!

Thanks for pointing that out Luke. I have been participating in many photography contests where fighting against plagiarism is a crucial thing and steemcleaners have been helping a lot! They definitely deserve our support :) Have a nice day.

There should be more steemcleaning... plagiarism is a thing here. I'm sharing my works with all the metadata embedded just in case but I've seen such cases of "forgery" imposing signatures to drawings of others and ugly things... So grateful at least there is steemcleaning...

Wow, your contribution is very strong. I am happy for your work. Thanks @lukestokes

@steemcleaners & @cheetah are doing great work to control plagiarism from this community. We should support all these efforts for the betterment of this community & we wish that time will when there will be stringent control over those who abuse reward pool.what is your opinion @lukestokes

"stringent control" implies some central authority to make decisions. The only authority here is the code and the token holders. We have to downvote or encourage large token holders to downvote. That's the tool we have.

Right, But if the influential people in this forum raise their voice collectively it will be definitely noticed by central authority. Some people make reputation of 80 by abusing reward pool. Let's hope for the best @lukestokes

What central authority?

central authority means top10 witness or @ned or any person who have control. pardon me for my low understanding about the big guns

This is why I asked. You may be asking for or expecting something that doesn't exist here. Ned runs Steemit, inc but the top 20 witnesses as determined by token holder vote secure the chain which is essentially not "owned" by anyone. That's how DPOS works. This (and many other cryptocurrency projects) are new systems which don't have centralized control by design. You can learn more here: http://understandingblockchainfreedom.com/

this is your great work sir @lukestokes, and picks great witnesses too

I have invoked steemcleaners a few times and they always responded appropriately. I remember cheetah was a bit over zealous in the early days shooting first and asking questions later, but now the balance is good.
I 'trimmed' my follows recently so see a lot less stuff that might fall foul anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10