HF20 features, what's hot and what's not

in #steemcommunity6 years ago


Source

Do You Like The New Features of HF20 Steemit? That is the question for Exclusive Blogging Course Giveaway Contest Week # 26 being hosted by @legendchew.

So do I like the new features? Yes and no depending on which feature we are referring to. Let me pick a few of the HF20 features and explain further.

Rewards pool

I saw a few posts stating that the rewards pool is now bigger after HF20 implementation. As I read through the different articles about it, I gathered that the rewards pool got bigger because of the RC implementation which significantly reduced the number of spammers in the system. Reduced spammers mean reduced number of participants to take part of the rewards thus those who are left will have more. That makes sense.

Just think of a crowded pool wherein you do not have good space to move around. Take the crowd away and you will have more spaces to enjoy for yourself.

Source

Maybe I just can’t get enough that I did not yet feel bigger rewards but if this is true then yes, I like it very much. Who does not want bigger reward in the first place?

Curation window

The curation window was dropped from 30 minutes to 15 minutes. This alone is a good update to the system so yes, I like it. With the previous 30-minute curation window, I myself sometimes forget that I need to wait so I can benefit from my curation. There were also times when I eventually forgot to go back and curate the article because of the long waiting time. With the shortened window to 15 minutes only, it shortened the waiting time for curators to curate articles to their liking and lessens the possibility of forgetting to go back to the article.

Source

Curation reward

I had instances when people came to comment on my post only to upvote their own comment right away. That tells me their comments are fake and spam to my post. They just want to post something which they can claim reward from. I hated the thought of taking advantage of others’ post and for being so hustler. After HF20 implementation, curation reward for self-upvote within 15 minutes from the time the article or comment is posted is burnt and goes to the reward pool instead and nothing goes to the curator. I like this very much! If the hustler spammers would have to wait for curation window, there is a bigger possibility that they will forget to come back afterwards. That will reduce spams.

Source

Resource Credits

Ah, the show stopper of all time! I did my very best to be positive about this but even after powering up, I still do not like the idea behind RCs.

Prior to HF20 implementation, I can engage as much as I want and anytime I want to without worries of running out of “payment” just to socialize. I was not even conscious of my SP. That halted when HF20 came in. It totally stopped me from doing anything for days even after the announcement that system operation has stabilized. I waited for my personal target and then powered up. This is the only time I am able to engage again. However, there are those some of my correspondents who are not able to power up and are still struggling up to now. I feel for them because I felt really bad when I was in their shoes.

Source

I am lucky to have joined Steemit for about a couple of months before HF20 implementation. That gave me a little time to earn something to use as capital and for powering up. I keep on thinking about new accounts that will come in and with the RC limitation; I wonder how long it will take them to see an improvement that is worth appreciating on their accounts.

While I appreciate the idea of RC combating spammers, I think its negative effect on active members are more hurting their activities than relieving from spammers.

No one may admit it but RC implementation is a way to force people to put their money into the system. That is the unspoken strategy of capitalists. I just hope they will reconsider for the sake of new planktons who may not have the means to immediately buy SPs.

Source


Unless different source is cited, all photos and graphics I post are mine. Either I took the photo or I created the graphics through photo editing tools.


Join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside) AND the latest update <<< please click to read.

Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Sort:  

Hi! @macoolette Very good post, You are right, I agree!!! I upvoted, resteemit and follow you!!! Have a nice and creative Wednesday!!!

Thank you! :)

I went through your write up thoroughly, and I understood it to an extent. But then you mention that: " Prior to HF20 implementation, I can engage as much as I want and anytime I want to without worries of running out of “payment” just to socialize. I was not even conscious of my SP." but just yesterday I was not able to operate my account even with the new development. Why was it so??

That is the one I was saying on my long comment that you should watch out and manage your RC (resource credits) because you have been exhausting it too much prior to receiving your delegation. @freedomshift also pointed that out.

Resource Credits are your "payments" to transact anything on Steemit. If you do not have enough of that, you can not do anything. Prior to receiving your SP delegation, your RC dropped to just about 4%. That was why you were not able to operate because you no longer have enough RC.

RCs recharged at the rate of about 20% in 24 hours. The more you exhaust your RCs, the longer you have to wait for it to recharge. Ideally if you want to post every day, keep your RC at least 80% so it recharges faster.

Go to https://steemd.com/@lollybella to check your status. In the Resource Credits box you will see estimates of how much transactions you can do. Today, I saw this on your account:

image.png

Congratulations @macoolette! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @macoolette, thank you for your participation in the "Exclusive Blogging Course Giveaway Contest".

You're welcome. Thank you too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09