SteemDecathlon Contest: Prize: 10 Steem to the first person that figures the puzzle out. My year in review from an Art Standpoint...Take a look Part 1

in #steemdecatlon5 years ago

To enter the contest read the article and answer the question, if you upvote the post I will put an upvote on your comment.

Over the last year not week went by that I did not do at least 5 pieces of art for use on the Steem Blockchain,
From Drawing contests,. From Submissions for adverting, Blog Bannersfor myself andothers, taglines, modied cartoons of others (derived art that was correctly credited), articles, meme's with more than words, signage, separators, borders, animations....
All told at 5 a week that meant I made over 250 pieces of Art!
Considering I was Blogging, programming, investing and doing other things...
That's Pretty goddamn impressive, if I do say so myself and I do....
richsingingvideojudge.jpg
Yea that's me and I marked up myself...
You know what they say, if you can't make fun of yourself you become a Trump fan)

so, I'm going to bring back some art to show from the last year, tell me how you like it,,,

Since there's alot of art I'll do more than 1 of these posts...

Hope you like them...
First of course are the Banners I've done for myself and fellow members of Steeminati
A little about mine it's actually an OIL painting I did over 35 years ago and sits in my kitchen,

(yea I been doing art a longggggg time... In fact it's how I got originally into programming .... 40 years ago!!!!
But that's the story for another blog...

So question 1 for you is does it look better on my blog heading

or in my kitchen?
kitchen3.jpg
Both SteemIt and my kitchen needed the Splash of color the way I looked at it....

But my Banner wasn't the only one I did here are some I did for fellow members of the Steeminati
(you need to right click on then to see them in all there glory:
cyrusbanner1.jpg

zappabanner.jpg

steeminatibanner200.jpg

payoutbot_steemtop.jpg

I didn't just mark and blend premade photos, of course I drew some stuff from scratch and turned it into digital art....
daisy1.jpg

daisy2.jpg

daisydone.jpg

and I'm sure you've seen this one a time or 2
thumbsup_drawn.jpg

thumbsupcolor.jpg

which I recently turned into this:
contributionthumbsup_aplusasset.jpg

I've put together some fun signage and changed the premise of some drawings...All to make points...
Like these:
grouper.jpg

btcvsthemarket.jpg

gopswamp.jpg

tech jobs left.jpg

presentingmyentry.jpg

PayingForAds.jpg

Payouts.jpg

thefinish.jpg

previousarticles.jpg

I think I'll finish off this show and tell with a few separators I've done for people...
justinsepbig.gif

jbap85_separator.gif

mustang_separato750a.gif

po_separatorline_wide.jpg

po_icon_separatorline_wide.gif

po_icon_separatorline_wide_info.gif

separatorline_wide.jpg

separatorline_wide_info.gif
Alright enough for now time for the contest....
Image1.jpg
These rules are simple:
And anyone in my family or was there when I did the answer to the question is disqualified from the prize. (obviously)
There is only 1 question
You get 1 guess at the correct answer.
Place your answer to the following question in a comment.
The Apple painting shown earlier was painted using what implements?
The first person answering correctly wins the contest.
I will announce the winner on saturday and there will be a new art contest giveaway then.
the first person to answer the question correctly by the time stamp wins the 10 Steem.
Simple.... Make sure your answer is precise...A few words are good enough.....
separatorlinejpg.jpg
If you like contests like this Please upvote it and get some curation credits
Steemitdecathlonrotate800.gif
separatorlinejpg.jpg
steemitbanner_signed.jpg

Sort:  

Rich I've known you for 3 years now, I've seen you pick up lots of different tools and use things not intended for their purpose to solve a problem....

You seem to be adept at adapting, you once said to me besides your brain the most important tool you had was your hands....

I figured it out.... YOU DIDN'T USE ANY IMPLEMENT THAT WAS EXTERNAL TO YOUR BODY....

My guess is you finger painted it with your hands....

Which brings up a few questions:

  1. did you wear gloves? In which case my answer is still not gloves, I'm still going with your hands.
  2. if not how did you keep your hands from getting stained?
  3. how did you get the shiny areas?

Have I read to deep into it?

kingcal_tag.jpg

interesting supposition your going to have to wait to find out if your right.....

But to answer your questions:

  1. if I were to paint with my hands, I certainly wouldn't have worn gloves back then, today i'd wear latex...
  2. well you clean oil paint (while its wet) with denaturered alcohol, but I'm sure small crevices around the fingers cuticles and calouses...I've gotten it on my hands while painting and it takes months to grow out. Makes your hands look dirty all the time, even though they are clean. Essentially a temporary tatoo.
  3. to shine up any area add linseed oil and demare varnish, linseed gives slippery shine the demare varnish makes it hold in place and not run like a wash...

A wash, is the same as water coloring except your using oil and turpentine vs. watercolor dry pigment and water.

Now the art lesson for the day is over....

I remember your telling me you played alot of sports when you were younger including being on your college jv football team, racquetball team and ultimate Frisbee.

And I have seen you spin a frisbee and were proud to tell me you set a record in high school for spinning a frisbee on your fingers for 28 hours.

So I'm guessing a frisbee....

Send me the prize......

based on that logic, I could have used a football, racquetball racquet, a running shoe, or a weight from my weight bench or a volleyball net....

Hey those are good ideas, I could go to town on this stuff....lol, a decathlon of paintings....

Well I know personally you like to play cards alot... and Poker...
So I'm guessing a deck of playing cards????

Am I right....

I been playing cards all my life with my family and friends....

I think plastic coated playing cards could easily be used like a pallet Knife....

Your going to have to check back at the end of the week to see if you are right!

4aces.jpg

Full disclosure I know Rich in the real world and have been in his kitchen. But I have never asked about the painting, only to comment it was nice and him to tell me he did it....

Now I find out it's older than me by 2 years is amazing.

Now having seen the tool closet of his (he's got an extensive and exhaustive collection) And seen how he is so exacting with his tools.

Rich, I'm guessing you sued a Plaster Trowel, maybe one of the small ones.

Did I get it right?

jbap85_separator.gif

JBAP_TAGLINE.jpg
po_icon_separatorline_wide_info.gif

I play poker with Rich and a few other Steeminati.
I've been to his home for games, the only time I was in his Kitchen was for his spead abd beers in the fride...

To tell the truth I never even knew any of the Stuff on the walls was his work....

I'm impressed!

As to what he used to make it...I wish I had gone to the game this past saturday.

Shot in the dark....Did you use Paper Towels?

po_icon_separatorline_wide.gif
@payoutbot is not a program I'm just a founding member of the Steeminati who pays out the worthy, by following the bretherns good deeds on the blockchain, by paying out like a robot!


po_icon_separatorline_wide_info.gif

single or double ply? LOL

If I used Tissue Paper I'd be Morris Katz....

I also personally know @richatvns in the real world.

He revamped my business 5 years ago with his software, and then spearheaded our facility move 3 years ago.

I been Licensing his Software System "FFicacy" for 5 Years now.

And I too, have been to his home for a couple of business meetings.
But I never was in his kitchen.

Since this guy has McGuyvered the world and built stuff from scratch for me.

Plus he literally recycles junk most people throw away and reuses them for other purposes.
I'm going to guess he grabbed some leaves that fell to the ground when the trees changed and used them, considering they come in all shapes and sizes maybe they were used?


slidbar.gif
Want a console, game or accessory?
How about an unlocked iPhone or Galaxy?
Check me out on eBay, Amazon and NewEgg.
zappatag.jpg

unique...if I do say so....

thanks Jesse, for making me sound like a pack rat!!!!
Jeeezzz louiseeezz

Leases: were they Maple, Palm, Pineapple, evergreem, or ferns?

Well, the for question was, "does it look better on your wall or as a banner" and the answer to that question is "the wall"
As for the second,
Oil paints, canvas, and... Paintbrushes?
Is it absurd to suggest that? Otherwise, the apple itself.

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad to see the punmaster coming to play with the funmaster!
That could be a Disaster if you don't like my Raster Graphices!

And again a 2 answer shot apple or paintbrushes.
And you realize there are all sorts of paint brushes out there.
Mohair is the most expensive and lasts the longest...
I have brushes which are over 35 years old, and in better shape than the day I bought them.

Yes better shape because they needed to be shaped.....

So Ship Me 1 answer....

I'll say the only thing I know now. Mohair paintbrushes.

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL do you think I would tell someone the answer.?1?

We will find out at the end of the week....

woozy.jpg

It looks like you sketched it with a pencil first and used a brush to stroke in the colors.perhaps your hands and thumbs to create the texture.I am not an expert but trying to ask myself what I would do and maybe a gentle quote of transparent paint to put the gloss. From what I see my mobile I feel some parts are pretty glossy not sure if it's the painting or reflection off my screen

Posted using Partiko Android

thats a few items different implements.. LOL
Your suppose to pick one....

And it does have a nice gloss sheen to it...where the speculator lighting source hit it....

In the physical realm I could say a brush maybe a sable hair brush but my point is I have had some brushes myself but I could never paint something like this. So the real implement is your drive to paint as long as you have that alive and burning some one like you could use bare hands, fingers and thumbs all immersed in colors and paint caressing the canvas an leaving indelible marks in the process of creating a work of art

ty, I'm humbled ...

Hi @richarvns I see you are quite an accomplished artist.
Continue the good work. Your art is very beautiful and useful to a lot of people in the community you support.

Hi @richatvns I see you multiple hats. You are a very talented person.
I see you have created a lot of interesting art.
Coming to the question: When I look at your banner I see a melange of colors it is interesting to observe them and trying to figure out the shapes and brush strokes.

Though the text in front tends to obstruct the vision.I am temped to right click and check out the back ground image

when I do that ....

A beautiful images of a painting splashes on to my screen.
My first reaction is that of a surprise. A positive one as I the experience comes across as a nice treat where I can admire the art that you have created perhaps many years ago. That too without going to an exhibition or visiting your home.
The second picture is something I would expect in a creative persons home. It gives perspective to the wall.
Normally I would pick the painting on the kitchen wall as the better experience. Had I been there I would get the opportunity to observe the brush strokes and other details. Even from a distance it looks aesthetic.
However perhaps the banner/background right clicking and unlocking & freeing the painting from being obscured by the letters and revealing its self on my laptop screen does adds color to my otherwise hectic but not very colorful Sunday.
The revelation of the painting is like winning a little prize. That is the emotion the experience generated for me.
So both the paintings create a different emotion : This is how I would like to record my observation.

Thank you for your kind words...
I really appreciate it...
so you get some upvotes from the steeminati be ready on this response

steaminatilogo300x236.jpg
another piece of art I put together from disparate images,!
......
You can't just write a nice like that and leave me hanging with no guess! That's cruel! so what's your guess?
IntroducingRichAtVNSwithsign.jpg
And another lol....

You should see my software interfaces.... LOL...considering I'm a systems designer with a Masters in Compiler Design and Computer Graphics and worked making CASE (Computer Aided Software Engineering) tools for a time .... And a large Propreitary System called Efficacy(tm).

I just luvvvvv making icons and backgrounds and signage that helps people really quickly understand what they are doing and try to make it enjoyable.jerrylewis.jpg
I didn't do the emoji....

btw I have not had a gallery exhibition in over 25 years.
For my oil paintings, watercolors and sculptures.
That I did not do for my company Arkahdia Arts Studio, I gave it away to people under the rule that it could not be sold and must be gifted. And if they ever tired of it they had to return it to me and I would give it to someone else.

Funny never received a piece back. Except where they wanted another work I was doing and wanted to Swap.

funny.jpg (again I did do this emoji either)

25 years is a long time. Don't you think it is time to have one now? Did you preserve pictures of the art work that you created / gave away?
I looked up your company and found https://www.facebook.com/pg/Arkahdia-Arts-Casting-Studio-182384575146583/about/
is this the right page. Sadly the company website is no longer active http://www.arkahdiaarts.com/
How come such a creative person like you gave it all up?
Ah. Not sure if I am entitled to ask you this?

Yea I shut down 4 years ago...after 16 years had to let 60 people go...for everything mess, both emotional, financially and my health... but I look at the good work we did and am still proud...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39