SteemDev Journey - The Future Belongs To Those Who Can Code

in #steemdev6 years ago (edited)

09-05-2017-why-coding-infographic-blog.png

Alright! Another day on our journey to learn how to code and eventually be able to develop on the steem blockchain. After making myself a coffee, going through a few exercises on FreeCodeCamp and browsing the Steemit Github, I'm sitting down to write my article of the day.

Did You Know?

There will be 1.4 million computer-science related jobs to be available by 2020, with only 400,000 computer science graduates to fill those roles?

That right, there is a shortage in the field. Wherever you are in the world, if you are good in any fields of computer science, you've got a leg up in the world of tomorrow.

The United States, Canada and many rich western countries will do whatever they can to attract your brain to work in the tech industry. So if you live somewhere where you believe your prospects are weak, dedicating yourself to coding can be a great opportunity!

Did You know?

The Curriculum of FreeCodeCamp Can Set You Up For A Job?

  • Responsive Web Design Certification (300 hours)
  • Javascript Algorithms And Data Structures Certification (300 hours)
  • Front End Libraries Certification (300 hours)
  • Data Visualization Certification (300 hours)
  • Apis And Microservices Certification (300 hours)
  • Information Security And Quality Assurance Certification (300 hours)
  • Coding Interview Prep (Thousands of hours of challenges)

These are all the free courses you can take online to build your portfolio. Every time you complete a certification, you get a "diploma" that proves that you've finished whatever class you went through.

The reality is that very few people ever finish those certifications, so if you are one of them, you are making yourself head and shoulder above the crowd, not necessarily in terms of skills but in terms of passion and perseverence.

SteemDev - Why?

I not personally looking for a job to be honest, but I'm looking to start a business using the Steem Blockchain. Is the goal to get rich? No, I'm just passionate about the steem blockchain and would like to contribute more to it than my article.

Just like @exyle said in his previous article:

there isn't one article of mine that people could not have lived without.

But being able to contribute code, pull request, bug reports, etc. to Steem's github is definitely vital to the future of this blockchain.

Conclusion

Inspired? Join me by getting started with FreeCodeCamp and let's become SteemDevs together!

Sort:  

I have some programming experience with c++ and java, but since joining steem back in December I've been trying to get into python and JavaScript to get started coding for Steem but my current life situation just kills all my motivation to go ahead with it...

Maybe going into it as a team with a group of people will make the journey more interesting and give me the required motivation to finally go for it? What languages will you be focusing on? I'll join if the goal is to become a dev that can help around steem :-D

What do you think? Should I start a telegram?

I think both telegram and discord would work and discord seems to have slightly more popularity around here but both can work and I can see why you would want a telegram group of your discord is already full if steem groups.

Discord seems like a better option to me. It's more popular and more importantly it's responsive and has everything you need.

And it makes it easy to manage content and guides by creating channels dedicated to announcements and guides and stuff, you are right.

Maybe what we can do is to contact the steemdev discord channel and see if we can have a #newbie-corner to chat. Thoughts?

We could try asking and being around more experienced devs will surely be a pro. I've been on that server for a while now and they seem to be really helpful so they might actually agree.

The website is pretty cool and i like how easy it is to do the tests right there and the curriculum, damn thats a lot to go through! I just had to find a small chrome extension to save my eyes from the pain of the bright white! otherwise i'm up and running!

image.png

Thanks for the Tip. I have been looking for the right development resources to get back on the learning track.

I have bounced around between different free resources but have not yet built enough intermediate skills. At this time I am hesitate to pay for a course but have been tempted several times to try Udemy. I will try freeCodeCamp first and see how it goes.

You should have basic coding skills ( java, nodejs, python.. ) which depends on the technology stack you are using.

Along with this you should have a knack for learning. To understand the implementation of Blockchain you should know basic Datastructures along with some basics of cryptography.

I would suggest start with a steem based distributed application built on MEAN stack, you can find many such applications on github.

I believe the best way to learn is to actually start with some project, and you learn as you progress.

pass some of that certified we must have an average coefficient to understand and record all that algorism.
In very good learning computer technology to be updated and be able to contribute with the blockchain.

Did You Know?
There will be 1.4 million computer-science related jobs to be available by 2020, with only 400,000 computer science graduates to fill those roles?

Honestly this is a startling stat, I was into the computing sector for one time, but I didn't pursue my opportunity to code, in my country opportunity for it aren't that much, and it may be difficult to afford a visa to the united states,

I guess this is such a knowledgeable fact, the prospect for dev and coding is so numerous, so what do you plan to do? What opportunity do you want to explore with steem?

Yes you are absolutely right whoever does coding at the at top level future belongs to him but coding is not an easy jo to do..
To become master of coding we should join the freecodecamp which guides to the right way of coding..

Everything will continue to move towards digital interactions, thus causing every product to need coding. There's only one field I'd be in if I were in college today....

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Wow this is nice

I not personally looking for a job to be honest, but I'm looking to start a business using the Steem Blockchain. Is the goal to get rich? No, I'm just passionate about the steem blockchain and would like to contribute more to it than my article.

Reading this was inspirational, I know little about coding but I will try and get updated meanwhile do you have an idea of a post that consist of every thing I need to know about utopian.io have been searching for days

thank you for this information @cryptotopus

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86