There Is A Floor To The Price Of STEEMsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemelo5 years ago (edited)

Things are getting very interesting with the price of STEEM. Like much of the crypto market, it is falling. STEEM, however, has the ability to drop like a rock.

For this reason, we see a lot of fear. Will STEEM go to zero? Will it become worthless?

image.png

Source

To show how there is a floor in place, I will start with the numerical absurdity and work from there.

I can guarantee you there is a floor above zero because I, myself, would provide it. If I could get 100M STEEM for $1,000 I would do that. There is a floor above zero.

Of course, it is effectively zero because that results in a decimal point and a 1 with a lot of zeroes in between.

Let us at it another way and I will use 4 others in addition to myself who I know either are buying STEEM or are intent on doing so if the price drops.

If I am willing to buy 100M STEEM for $1,000, do you think @edicted would pony up $2,000 for that same amount? How about @stackin, would he toss $5K? Let us not forget @exyle, who is a regular buyer; would he pay $10K for 100M STEEM? And finally, @theycallmedan has a ton of STEEM, but could he pass on 100M STEEM for $100K?

I would venture to say if any of these people were liquid for that amount, they would jump at the chance in a heartbeat. Of course, even the last rate, is $.001 per STEEM.

To be honest, that floor is not much more exciting than the one I present with my $1,000. It is still a crappy price.

Now, let us be a bit more realistic. There is no need to consider 100M STEEM since the entire liquid market is about 120M STEEM. How about an amount that is 1/10th that. Having 10% of the liquid STEEM mopped up and put into stronger hands (non-sellers) would make a difference.

So now, what if STEEM was a penny?

This would provide 100 STEEM for every dollar. Think about this for a moment, one could be an instant Dolphin for $50.00. If one wanted to be a Whale, $5,000 gets him or her there.

Once again, do you think that @edicted would take $2,000 to get 200K worth of STEEM? Would @stackin pull out $5K to become an instant Whale? We know @exyle is still adding because he likes having more STEEM and all he can do with it, would 1M for 10K interest him? And finally, @theycallmedan could reel in 10M STEEM for his $100K.

I can promise you, to become instant Whale, I would be liquid for $5,000 myself.

After following these people for a while, I feel confident in saying that if they are liquid for those amounts, they would not hesitate jumping at it. If we add all that up, that is 12M STEEM that was sucked up by 5 people.

That makes the 500K or whatever Steemit Inc is selling look like nothing. It certainly buys a lot of time when 10% of the liquid STEEM is removed from the market and powered up.

So we can safely say, that 1 cent is a floor since massive buying from just 5 people would take place.

Here is a comment that Dan left on a post earlier this week. There is a price where he is a massive buyer.

dan.png

Of course, Steem is a lot more than just 5 people who are committed and dedicated to its success. There are also a lot more than just these individuals who would buy STEEM.

There is also the fact we will not go from 18 cents to a penny instantly without a flash crash. Prices do not work that way. They keep moving in stages, up and down, in some kind of trend. Of late, this is obviously in a downward direction.

We have somewhere around 15K-20K different individuals on Steem each day. Are there 500 of them who will buy STEEM at a certain price? My conclusion is yes there are.

At what price is the great unknown. However, as the price drops lower, the floor gets closer. At some point, those 400-500 people are going to jump in and start taking huge blocks of STEEM off the board.

If we look at 10 cent STEEM, we realize that $500 can turn one into a Dolphin. For the aforementioned $50, one can become a Minnow. Obviously, this is not as mouth-watering as the amount of STEEM receive when priced at a penny, but it is still a nice boost to any account.

Are there 500 people are STEEM who would add thousands of SP to their accounts if the price hits 10 cents?

Perhaps it will take the last low from March of 2017, when STEEM hit 7 cents? Or maybe it is 5 cents?

Whatever the level is, there is a point where the dedicated members of STEEM will step in and buy massive amounts of STEEM simply because the opportunity is too good to pass up.

Remember, the development of applications on STEEM and what is being rolled out is already taking place. Lower STEEM pricing might be slowing the process but it is not stopping it. Just think of the Witnesses, most of who are developers and are working on projects themselves, and the buying they would do if the price is single digits.

To lay it out at 5 cents, 12M STEEM at that price is $600K. Are there 500 people on STEEM who would put up an average of $1,200, netting them 24K SP each, in this ecosystem? Would you like to have your account grow by 24K SP?

I think there are hundreds of people who would jump at the chance. The question is at what price we drop to before that happens?

5 cents? 10 cents? 15 cents? Somewhere along the way, we will see massive buying from those who are committed long term to Steem.

It simply will be too tempting to pass up.


If you found this article informative, please give an upvote and resteem.

image.png

image.png

Sort:  

You can count me in as a buyer.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I'm not convinced it would be a price floor. If Steem would be as low as 1 cent, I would be one of the massive buyers myself. But what happens after that moment? There I am, and you, and the other 5 or 10 odd buyers, with all that Steem no one is interested in.... Where would the value come from then? If all available liquid Steem is in the hands of the last few interested buyers, what keeps then the price of Steem falling to zero? If there are no interested buyers left, there is no market value.
Understand me correctly: I do believe in the potential of Steem. But I do not believe 10 or 20 interested people guarantee a price floor. It needs a little more than that, in my opinion.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think there would be hundreds of dedicated people who buy massive amounts of Steem then.

Posted using Partiko Android

The point remains the same: if the last (10's or 100's) have bought all remaining liquid Steem, then what? No market interest and thus no value.

Probably I'm to pessimistic.

Posted using Partiko Android

Then we will sell it to businesses.

Posted using Partiko Android

The point remains the same: if the last (10's or 100's) have bought all remaining liquid Steem, then what?

Ah! don't worry @partitura. If only the last (10's or 100's) purchase the remaining liquid Steem available. They can always start a new trivia game in a big circle around the table. ;p

Those people buying a truck load of steem are prob the ones powering it up. Then supply and demand takes over. If development continues, and the majority of steem is in "strong hands", then I think it would just be a matter of time

I hope you are right. Especially when one of those "strong jamds" would happen to be one of mine. Not nearly there though. For that to happen the price would indeed need to fall to one cent. Be careful what I wish for....

Posted using Partiko Android

I think the altcoins won't rise till BTC hits an all time high again like in the last bull run. The BTC dominance decreased once it was reached and money moved into the altcoins. Therefore, I think we are a few months away from this and could see more sideways action or downwards for steem and other alts.

The price of downward collapsing Steem is and will be quite a bit lower if priced in appreciating satoshis.

I have a genuine question: at what price does the entire chain stop operating or is that a crazy question? When does the network cease to have enough processing power to keep verifying actions and it all grinds to a halt?

Pre-Mira it was 4 cents I think for witnesses to break even. Since most haven't upgraded to Mira, I'm guessing it's still the same. That's not a point where the chain stops functioning though, plenty of die-hard witnesses here who are willing to pay out of their own pockets for a while to keep this thing going. I mean look at EOS as an example, their break even point is around $4, but the price is lower and it's still going strong regardless.

Steem's break-even point is a factor of 100 times better than EOS? Hilarious. Silly RAM issues.

EOS block time also plays into that along with RAM. Half a second is stupidly fast for a blockchain.


You just planted 0.06 tree(s)!


Thanks to @fuadsm

We have planted already
6616.27 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 24847.60
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Seems after my buy and powerup of 1k yesterday, I missed another opportunity during the dip at night. Moral: if you want to accumulate, have a few buy orders in all the time 😎

Posted using Partiko iOS

Definitely gonna try to power up while the price is low. That being said, since I came back i've organicly gotten a lot more than I was when I used bots before. The recent changes all seem very positive, and the dedication of people like you have not faulted. I very much think Steem has a strong future, and plan to help it grow the best I can.

Posted using Partiko Android

I bought a large chunk last time it was down around $0.10 and I've already got my finger on the button this time too. Just waiting patiently for the right time to press it.

I’m there...been buying all the way down from $.8. If it hits $.1 or even $.05, you can bet I’ll be selling out what I have on CB and buying, baby!!!
!BEER

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04