The Steem Engine's Writer's Corner - Theme Writing Challenge- Week 1- Changing the world

in #steemenginethemewriting6 years ago (edited)

I read a truly inspiring piece many moons ago in the waiting room of a child psychologist. The patient was my young charge, an angry young boy that my husband and I fostered for a couple of years; I shared that story a while back, links below.

The words are an inscription on the tomb of an Anglican Bishop in Westminster Abbey and really struck a cord!

Basically it starts with how this young person dreamed of changing the world, then as he grew older he realised this was an impossible dream, so his attention shifted to changing his country; but to no avail.
Then out of desperation, he tried changing his family, but they would have none of that either.
As he laid on his deathbed, the truth finally dawned on him - he only had to change himself and by example could have changed his family, and through them bettered his country and possibly even the world! Changing the world link

hands-world map.jpg
Image

Many of us start our early adult or even teen years like this, I know I did.

I looked at the world through rose coloured spectacles, and saw a world full of wonder and possibilities.

I truly believed that I could somehow change the world; then tragedy struck and my spectacles became very muddy and the world around me became murky and filled with monsters!

How did I get out of this darkness and what am I doing to change the world today?

When a deep clinical depression struck after a tragic loss, I honestly thought my world had stopped!

  • Knowledge - firstly, I learned as much as I could about my illness from books, there was no google to turn to in those days.

  • Physical well-being - it was vital that I looked after my physical well being; how could I possibly fight something if my body’s not strong?

  • Diet - a healthy balanced diet is vital - loads of fresh veggies and fruit; healthy snacks for mid morning and afternoon breaks to prevent a drop in sugar levels, avoiding sugary and fried food.

  • Exercise - the very best pick me up is a brisk walk or any other form of physical exercise - yoga is super for body and mind.

  • Meditation - this is such a powerful tool that one can use at any time, the value is truly underestimated and it costs nothing except 10 - 15 minutes in the morning and or evening.

  • Medical intervention - it is vitally important to get the correct treatment - be it medication and or counselling.

  • Supplements - there are a multitude of excellent herbal, vitamin & mineral supplements.

  • Music therapy is excellent for lifting the mood.

I used all of these techniques and my rose coloured spectacles thankfully were fixed. I was able to get back to seeing the wonder and possibilities of the world again and back to my mission of changing the world.

This time I realised I could only change my immediate world by changing myself and hopefully touch the lives of the people around me.

hands-1427881_960_720.jpg
Image

I do try and reach out to those in need, whatever that need may be, it really warms my heart to see someone blossom and find their feet.

I truly believe in the power of the mind - envision your dream, expect only the best, have faith and it will become a reality.

Know that you are capable of much more than you could ever imagine, pass this onto others.

Most of all, be kind to people you meet, a smile costs nothing and could just lift someone who really needs it.

Be a good listener - a willing ear is more helpful than a willing tongue!

Be thankful for the little things in life, there are little miracles happening every day.

See the humour in a difficult situation - I know it’s impossible in some situations, but it’s good to be able to see the funny side of life.

Never put people in ‘boxes’ and never ever judge a book by its cover. We can never know what others are going through unless we’ve walked the same road as they have.

We should not accept bad service, rather try and do something about changing the situation by addressing the issue with the correct person - do not allow the rot to set in!

I do believe we only need to effect little changes; it only takes a small flame to start a fire - so set the world on fire with your little flame!

Always remember that it is possible to achieve the impossible, you would be amazed at what you can achieve if only you pursue and believe in your dream!

This post was written in response to a writing challenge initiated by @awakentolife for TheSteemEngine - the theme is to write your own motivational post. I hope you enjoyed reading this, even though I'm a whole day late!

LINKS:
Two little children - part one
Two little children - part two

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by; comments, upvotes and resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 184 (7/03/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thank you so very much @thesteemengine!

"Change your thinking, change your world." - Jaichai

Thanks for the excellent post.

Namaste, JaiChai

Thank you @jaichai, appreciate you stopping by :)

Beautifully written and really good advice given @lizelle. It's very true, you cant change anything unless you change yourself. This post made me think about the saying, be the change you want to see in the world😀

I just love that saying as well@jusipassetti! Thanks for your lovely comments :)

Thank you for sharing this Lizelle. I lost my grandfather when I was 18 and looking back I realize how hard it was, even if no one noticed, I didn't cry, I felt terribly sad but couldn't cry.
I became detached from almost everything. I tried a couple of years later meditation and it finally cracked that wall and now I feel like a normal person again.

I will look for info about music therapy, I read about it before but never tried it.

Again, thanks!

I'm so glad that you found meditation, it really is a great tool, has helped me through some difficult times! I find even just listening to music helps.
We're taught, & I think guys more so, to have a stiff upper lip and be brave for others, but all we need to do is just grieve when we lose someone close. Grannies & Grandpa's are very special to many of us!
Take care and thanks for your thoughtful comments!

Very good post....@lizelle
God bless you.

Thank you so much @jassicax :)

It's so true, when we are born we are all innocent and as we age we face situations in life which hardens us and make us loose our innocence. Only through wisdom and self growth will we be able to make choices and learn to gain back our "rose colored spectacles." Thanks for sharing @lizelle.

Thank you @loveself, you've walked that path as well I see! Appreciate your thoughtful comments :)

This is the most beautiful piece i have read today. A very valuable insight. Indeed, being kind to yourself first and to others, be the change you want, and it starts within your pure heart.
Lovely piece! Thank you a lot. X

Thank you for your kind comments @sherylneil, really appreciate it!

Excellent post thanks @lizelle many great tips wrapped in each point risen.

Thank you Joan :)

Very sound advice @lizelle, one thing we all are capable of changing is ourselves. If we can't do it alone there is help available for sure .

That is so important to remember, thank you mr Papper :)

@lizelle Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87