Blending in

in #steemfest5 years ago

When I'm traveling, I like to keep a low profile and not grab too much attention, other than to my hair. Well, I take some photos with my phone, too, but I try being quick with that.

I think I've blended pretty well here since there's been couple incidents that people have started speaking Polish with me. First was in the Old Town when someone was handing me some leaflet with stripper in it. "Do you want to have some fun?" I think he cleared after realizing I didn't understand. (No, I didn't go to "have some fun".)

Having now walked around the city for a bit, I like the Jewish district, Kazimierz. Old Town is cool and all with its massive churches, but that also means it's much more crowded, with a lot of tourists, of course; it's the main attraction here right in the center of the city. But it's not even that big, like in Riga or Tallinn, so there's not that much to explore outside the main square.

DSC_05591896x2528.JPG

There are some tourists here in Kazamier too, of course, but it has a more organic feel. There's a lot of restaurants ranging from Polish to Jewish ones, many of them quite cheap with dishes starting from 3.5€ in price. Lots of cafes too (hint: @honeydue ;)).

DSC_05891516x2021.JPG
Jewish Synagogue. They ask you for money to get in - I ain't paying though, cause making money with religion, not my cup of tea.

DSC_05932022x1517.JPG

DSC_05941517x2022.JPG

Part of the blending in, I ordered myself a coffe in Polish. "Hej, jedna cappuccino." The cashier started talking back in Polish, of course, now I had to confess I had no clue what she said. "I'll bring the coffee to your table." "Ah, ok... how do you say 'thank you' in Polish?" "'Dziękuję' , or just 'dzięki'". I'll use the short version, standing for "thanks".

DSC_06131516x2021.JPG
"Kawa", stands for "coffee".

DSC_06142021x1516.JPG

DSC_06151516x2021.JPG

Unfortunately, @anomadsoul isn't blending as well with the Europians, since he made an update about being caught to an interrogation in Helsinki Airport in Finland. There's no real other rational for this other than his looks.

It's been 4 hours already since the update, and I'm anxiously waiting to hear from him, because I booked him a bed from the hostel where I'm staying, and his supposed flight should be here soon.

It would be a real bummer if some official asshole from my country is preventing him from coming here.

Fingers crossed that's not the case.


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

Sort:  

The photos are beautiful but the one with chariots has taken my breath away. It looks like something out of a Disney movie to as chariots are not a thing in my side of the globe. Beautiful shot!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeh, I'm not sure if I've seen chariots myself either! They're kind of a tourist attraction, but still kinda cool though.

Oh. My bad... Thought they are a thing those sides.

Posted using Partiko Android

I really hope Eric is okay and on his way to Poland by now :/ Assholes at the border...
Thank God for the cheap food :)) I'm already hungry :)) As for cafes, I always find one, always, but it's good there are a lot of them. Means I'll definitely do some walking - between restaurants and cafes mostly, but still walking.
Don't know what to make about your stripper incident though...it's very odd indeed :))) I usually get mistaken for either german or Russian when abroad, but no one's offered me a stripper before...I wonder why :)))

I really hope Eric is okay and on his way to Poland by now :/

Yeah, I hope he's alright. I'm optimistic though, since there are no additional bad news at least.

Don't know what to make about your stripper incident though...it's very odd indeed :)))

Yeah, especially when I didn't look like I was in the need of a one, or did I?

but no one's offered me a stripper before...I wonder why :)))

The great mysteries of life: why don't all the people get offered a stripper? 🤔

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.767 which ranks you at #4733 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 47 places in the last three days (old rank 4780).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 288 contributions, your post is ranked at #130.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28