Arrived In Poland...And The First Thing I Did Was....

in #steemfest5 years ago


After 3 different planes and about 14 hours in the air, I arrived safe and sound in Krakow, Poland!

I was met at the airport by the tour guides that Steemfest hired to show us around this weekend and after a quick 20 minute drive, I was checked into the Qubus Hotel...Which is supposed to be ground zero for a lot of the Steemfest festivities....

I was pretty tired but I had to be a tourist!

And what better way than to sample some Polish cuisine!

The hotel had a pretty nice looking restaurant and because it was 3 in the afternoon, I basically had the place to myself. So I grabbed a seat and then asked the waiter (in the most North American of ways)...What does he recommend?

beet cream soup

First up was the Beet Cream Soup (Krem Z Pieczonych Burakow)...And if you love beets like I do, this was heaven in a bowl.

Nice appetizer to start the meal and I was extremely pleased with it. Highly recommended :)

zander

I was worried about the cuisine in Poland because I knew a lot of their foods have pork included. I haven't eaten pork in almost a decade so I was concerned that I'd have to go....Veggie...This trip!

Thankfully, zander is a big thing here in Poland (Sandacz W Polskim Stylu) :)

This white fish in the perch family is unique to this part of Europe and this dish was brilliant. Fantastic taste and seared perfectly. Three cheers for the fish!!

apple crumble

And what better way to finish off my first 'Polish meal' than with an apple pie crumble (Kruszaniec Z Jablek)...

This took a few minutes to come to the table because I'm pretty sure this was made fresh as soon as I ordered it. What an amazing desert...

All in all, this first meal was fantastic and even though I didn't get to share it with any other Steemians, I have a feeling this week there will be plenty of opportunity.

Because as soon as I had finished up, I walked out to the lobby and bumped into @nathanmars . So awesome to meet him even though I was about to pass out while standing up from the long flight and amazing meal...

After that, I headed back into my room for a much needed power nap.

Not a bad way to start my trip to Krakow...Tomorrow should be epic!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://plus1daily.com/arrived-in-poland-and-the-first-thing-i-did-was/

Sort:  

I knew it was food! Plus meeting THE @nathanmars is a nice bonus 🙌🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yessir. Great dude. And he completely understood my need for sleep lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

All of those look delicious! I had no idea what Polish cuisine was like aside from Pirogies! Haha. I also have a thing for beets... <3

it was so good. i was very surprised. pirogies are next on the menu lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Have fun man! Wish I could of been there. Will be at the next one, hope it’s in Vegas next time 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

yes!!! any excuse to get to vegas and i’m there lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

If you’re ever here, the drinks are on me! 😎

Posted using Partiko iOS

You should enjoy the food for sure. The view from your room is great. Have fun

Posted using Partiko iOS

yessir. great hotel. good place to hold this event for sure.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Have fun!! You are pescatarian in Poland. :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

lol yessir. fish for days!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

While seeing all the pictures from the Germans who are there, it would be great to participate. But I couldn't leave my projects at the moment. The timeline is filled with meetings.

all good man. completely understandable

Posted using Partiko iOS

There is a good Indian restaurant north of the square as well as a Kebab! Plus southwest of the square is a kewl underground restaurant. You can find a lot of good food there for sure... have a pierogies for me! :)

yessir. that will be on my list for sure today lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Kewl... Well lI hope your day has been awesome! Enjoy... :)

Tomorrow will be epic 🤟🤜

yessir! looking forward to it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for your great story. The food looks delicious. This will be a nice experience for you to meet the Steem people. Have a rest and a lot of fun. :D

Thank you kindly! Should be a lot of fun.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yum! Have fun over there!

thank you sir. will do.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Enjoy the days in Poland and have fun with the other Steemians. I wished I made the trip.

never too late man ;)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70