Working to have a great Art meeting at Steemfest

in #steemfest7 years ago

Rewards from this post will be used for any expenses we will have at Steemfest Art Meeting.

These days I am in touch with @everlove and @roelandp to organize a nice meeting for Steem artists at Steemfest2 in Lisbon. @opheliafu, @voronoi and other artists will be there too. I hope we will have a place to talk and show art, during the 5-days convention. Art is a great part of the original content daily posted on Steem, and I think it will be more and more important in the future on the whole web.

My English is not good enough to make a speech, but I really would like to bring up some points and ask questions to other artists - and not only to them. So I think I'll write something to explain my point of view about how a platform like Steem is important for Art, how it can change the role of the artist in sociey, how the philosophy behind decentralized organizations goes in the same direction of the future art in the world.

I'd like to listen also what @arthuradamson have to say about it.

Anyway, there will be a great meeting for artists in Lisbon, I'm pretty sure about it :) I hope we will manage it to share what will happen there with the artists that will not be able to come in Lisbon (videos? recordings? live streaming? live chatroom? voice chatroom on Discord?).

I think we will make also some artworks together - well, we'll try: I know artists are not so used to collective work. ;)

We will have probably some expenses for the meeting. So I thought to contribute to it writing posts like this one and  using the rewards to fund a little of it.

Please, tell us your ideas about this!

Thx. :)

Sort:  

I believe that the art world is in a bad place right now. Art has gradually become a commodity and art was never meant for that. Of course art and money have always played together but this was never the motivation for artists to create art. The wealthy elites have made art into a game that only the rich can play. The fancy mess of the modern art market has corrupted what was once pure.
This has to change for art os survive for I believe if it does not, art will die.
Human-beings have eradicated thousands of animal species from this planet with their greed. Do you think they can not eradicate art? Even the art dealers Sotheby´s in london have talked about this fear.
Many of todays artists as well as art collectors have forgotten what the past masters have taught us. Art transcends money and it transcends fame. The fact that "we" can not define art is the very reason why art it one of the most important things we humans do. Somewhere along the line we have lost sight of this truth. The Art has become clever instead of truthful. And when I say that I mean the art of the big galleries. But truth will always be more powerful than cleverness. A child tells a mother; "I love you mama". The same child solves a rubiks cube puzzle. Which of the two acts is more meaningful to the mother?
A world without art would be like the sky without birds.
I know I sound negative but I prefer realistic. But I have not given up hope. For indeed I do see what I call "truthful art" here on steemit. Art that comes from the heart and merely wishes to be shared in order to move people or perhaps get them to think about something. This is perhaps where art needs to go if it is to transcend its own past.
Blockchain technology can, in my humble opinion, have huge part to play in this new future for artists. It can be nothing short of revolutionary because, for the first time in history, artists will be able to support each other without rivalry, and art lovers will be able to support artists who move them without having to spend their life savings on a valuable work of art.
Steemit is showing the way and many other opportunities will also come in this brave new world we are all making together. Artist will be able to have PR codes next to their artwork on the wall in a gallery. Someone liking that art could send some steem or bitcoin direct to the artist via their mobile phone.
As the price of steem rises so will the value of upvotes. Add many of those together in collective and suddenly the artist has a basic income. It sounds crazy but it is only that we are so new to this that it is hard to see the vision. But the sunrise is right here in front of us. Today is about me me me. and has blossomend into a selfish culture. The "selfie"culture. I believe tomorrow will the about sharing and caring for each other. See how those who are caring and truthful on steemit seem to get the highest upvotes. Why? Because we all know what it is like to be human. We also recognise a liar when we see one too. Therefore art has to go in the same direction as history. In the past artist have shown the way. That has not happened this time. It has been the programmers, the Satoshi Nakamoto´s and Dan Larimer´s of this world who have sent things in motion. It is now up to the artists to take hold of this gift and begin doing what they are born to do. Create. Think about it - When we are students at art school we create art. When we leave art school we begin the process of becoming professional artists. It is two different things.
For the first time we can create a space for artists to create art without having the constraints of trying to sell in order to pay the bills.
Art is not about selling, it´s about having something to say that´s worth
telling.
Good luck at the meeting. 100% upvote and resteemed.

Thanx again for your rich and very useful comment, Arthur. I've not answered just because I have to think more about your words. :)

No need to answer.
I know that you have a very good understanding of art and the situation in the art world today.
You and your good lady wife are both artists of who I have a high respect for.
I know and trust that you will be an excellent representative of the artists on here on Steemit at the meeting.
I am sure it will go well and bring out many interesting and positive ideas for the future.

100%upvote for your meeting expences .

I fall in love with this platform to bring artists together and show them the infinite possibilities we have to create something of great value to others with very little resources. I look forward to seeing what comes of the fest and the beautiful art that it will inspire.

Great initiative. Upvoted. See you there.

@paolobeneforti wowo..amazingg Post

Super idea to raise some funds to help support the arts at SF2!!! It's going to be another epic event, no doubt. I'm excited to see what artists show up there and how we can unite in the flesh. Thanks for putting it out there @apolobeneforti...we're doing it!! <3

It's going to be a great meeting. And I would carry on what Arthur (Adamson), you, Kalemandra and others discussed in my previous post about collaborations between artists!

Curious concept...Artists not being collective, while partnering, marrying within a decentralized organization. Whole new layer or layers of thought with this one. Thank you for stepping out, Paolo, and breaking into this realm of communication and thought. What is more, it could really be amazing if what is produced is true, good, and beautiful!

As someone who post his art in steemit I really would love go to that meeting, a shame it's so far from me :(

I will be at Steemfest! Look forward to meeting fellow artists!

we are working to have a Art meeting there. Stay tuned! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78