7949 STEEM will get me to attend SteemFest 4 in Bangkok | Road to SteemFest 4

in #steemfest5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: 7949 STEEM will get me to attend SteemFest 4 in Bangkok | Road to SteemFest 4


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

I would like to be there if I had time

Shame you don't have time to go - it really was worth it going last year, for me, and I do have time to do this kind of stuff :D

It’s a shame if you don’t make it, because I know from last years event you really enjoyed it - from your posts and also all the other Steemians that were there whose photos you popped up in. It’s a long trek from Europe though, and the costs soon rack up especially with flights.

Who knows though like you say, maybe something amazing will happen yet. !COFFEEA 15

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes - I really really enjoyed it. I don't even know if I'd be so active on Steem if it wasn't because I've met some of the amazing people I'm interacting with daily. But the costs are intense and life happens in the meanwhile - I'll just keep my fingers crossed for my lucky day, who knows, maybe COFFEEA will moon :D Cheers @c0ff33a!

I wish I could help you out, but right now I have enough steem to maybe buy a pack of gum.

It would be an amazing time though, I would love to travel to Bangkok. I hope one day to make it though. I hope anyone who wants to go can one day make it.

I really enjoyed this breakdown on how much steem it would take to get there. It makes me think of how other things in my life could be bought related to steem :-)

Hey @meditations, same here, I'd love to help everyone out and buy tickets for all the amazing people we have here :-) Maybe that day will come, as I feel I've gotten a lot of support from the community always, it would be such a big pleasure to give something in return, someday.

Glad you enjoyed the breakdown. I'm never enjoying 'money talk' but it really does help to break stuff down and confront yourself with reality ;-) Someday we'll be able to buy gum and flights all over the world, I hope :-)

Cheers and have a great day!

I think the hotel isn't at the conference venue... but being at the hotel would mean plenty of helpful steemians to share Ubers with etc.

Shame it's looking like you can't make it Rosa. I'm also officially out this year. I really can't make it. It's impossible for me to afford... and when you pile debts of over £2000 into the mix I'd be insane to even think about it.

I realized that it was impossible for me about a month ago, and have been a bit down about it all since. But, such is life.

I like that you've laid out the budget in steem, lol maybe I could afford it if I powered down 100% and begged a few £100 from family... but then I wouldn't even be able to write comments on steem 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

I think the hotel isn't at the conference venue...

Oh shit, I must have assumed, didn't even think about that. Yes, traveling from and to with others will definitely be a lot more fun and also helpful, but I heard most things have to be done/are more convenient by river boat, don't see myself jumping on and off boats just yet though :D

I realized that it was impossible for me about a month ago, and have been a bit down about it all since.

I understand. I felt the same a few weeks ago but it was more stress of 'how to do it', and now I laid it all out and it seems too much I also experience some sort of relief that I won't be spending that money. Is that weird? I'll have to either trust that 'something magical' happens and I'm going to get there with less financial strain or I just start saving up for next year.

It will definitely hurt and make me feel down a bit a few more times though.

maybe I could afford it if I powered down 100%

With a 13 week powerdown we wouldn't even make that :')

That's a pretty big amount of STEEM hot damn, not too long ago you could get away with it all of that for 500 steem lol how the mighty have fallen. I'd love to attend SF4 need to make sure I can free up a week for myself and not just the money, I think it would be a lot of fun to put asses to usernames, I mean faces

:D Yes, 500 or even 1000 STEEM would be totally acceptable for me to spend on this trip, but 8000? Nah, that's all I earned in 1,5 years :-)

Sure, if you can make it please do! It's amazing to see those FACES I can promise you that. Good luck on making it happen <3

Don't be a bitcoin pizza guy.

LOL. But that's at least some kind of fame.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's the best summary of my post actually. "I don't want to be like the Bitcoin Pizza Guy".

Enough said ;-)

Definitely gives perspective of not only the cost (or better said, the investment) to go but also the unfortunate price of Steem. I prefer to buy and hold that Steem. I have been feeling similarly as a Splinterlands player as it is taking too much Steem to buy cards these days! Luckily, they have started to accept the DEC token. Maybe the launch of all these new tokens can help? Maybe in thr future we can buy Steemfest tokens to help save up for it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's an investment, indeed - It was totally worth it last year. Cards are crazy expensive now in STEEM, so I'm just waiting for the moment where I can pay 10 cards with 1 STEEM :D SteemFest tokens sounds awesome!

7949 STEEM :D well if i continue to post every day, in maybe 7 years i would be able to go to steem fest, then i just need a time machine :D

That means you're almost there! :') LOL :D

It sounds much more reasonable in dollars, but even then the price is going to put a lot of people off.

I'm half expecting it to be cancelled TBH.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ouch, that would be really sad. I don’t know, I can’t really ‘see’/guess how enthusiastic the Asian side of the world is about SF being in Bangkok. Maybe we’ve overestimated their willingness to come together? Maybe we don’t see them talking about SF because they are sharing in languages we don’t read? Curious to hear your thoughts. Even if I don’t attend I’d want it to take place as it does create a nice ripple effect of friendships and energy throughout the community.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes it would be a shame!

I just don't feel that there's that much demand for it this year... maybe not enough to make it viable...?

Then again maybe there are a bunch of people I don't know about just being quiet about going!

Posted using Partiko Android

Could be. The STEEM price is super depressing. At this point even 1$ STEEM would make a huge difference as I would be willing to cash out 1000 STEEM in exchange for SteemFest, as I get so much more in return for that investment. Don't think I can say the same about 8000 STEEM though :-) Wish FIAT life were easier, but hey, if that one was easy I wouldn't be in crypto ;-)

We'll see! Glad you booked an awesome holiday though! That will be amazing however, and I'm sure that lots of Steemians will meet-up as there seems to be quite a few in Thailand/Bangkok anyhow.

Well, actually I'm surprised that the whole trip can be done with "only" 1.600 USD.
I have to admit that I would love to join a steemfest once. But this is way too expensive for me.
Well, perhaps another time in another country :)

I hope you'll make it there ...

STEEM ON

Yes, it isn't even that bad, but it all depends on timely booking and if I could book everything today or better yet 2 months ago I'd have pretty cool discounts.

But yeah.

Fingers crossed.

I'd love you to be at one of the SteemFests as well, I've seen how you enjoyed your meet-ups so far :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84