I’m Trying To Go To SteemFest, But It's A Tough Call

in #steemfest5 years ago (edited)


My Reality:

I've been so close to buying my tickets to SteemFest many times, but I'm struggling to decide if it's the best thing for me financially. I really want to go, and could use the trip after the most difficult year of my life, but it'd realistically cost me threefold since I work for myself.

On top of $2,300 minimum in trip expenses, I'd freeze most of my home business income, while being unable to support operations and inventory sourcing. Shutting down my business makes me feel irresponsible and guilty, even if it's just to live a little. This is the hardest part.

Some Background:

I planned on going this year as a way to heal from my Dad's long battle with brain cancer coming to an end in February, but everything changed when a flash tornado sent a massive tree through my Mom's car windshield into her face and chest while she was driving. While she miraculously survived and will mostly recover, she spent 5 months in hospitals, where I was her main advocate. To make matters worse, my only pet of 13 years suddenly had to be put down.

The only joy I felt during this time was from my Mom insisting that I play all of my weekend baseball games. I never missed an inning and led my team in hits, RBI (50% more than the next), runs, home runs, and third in batting average. On the mound, I allowed 4 earned runs in my last 20 innings pitched, into the playoffs, and then all-star game. After my Mom's accident, I only allowed 1 earned run in the regular season against dozens of ex-college and some former semi-pro players. It was laser focus amid exhaustion with my heart on my sleeve. While I couldn't work or live my life much, the ballfields were where I released my stress and recharged for the next week of family support.

Steemit

It was too much all at once, but Steemit helped me with a few bright spots every day. I made a point to log in and interact so I could get my mind off of things. I wrote inspirational and fitness challenge posts next to my Dad's bed, and plenty of jokes to cheer myself up from hospital chairs.

The platform and community helped me cope with a lot. You can see some of the proof here, tissues recommended. Steemians who caught some of my struggles then were extremely supportive to give me something positive to think about when I needed it most. They also spent a lot of their own money to promote that post, which was very touching. When my Mom got hurt for round two, I knew where to go... (and not just to the drawing board for more Chuck Norris Steemit Jokes)

It Can't Hurt To Try

In the middle of the night now, mulling over buying my flight once again, I thought that it was worth the off chance that the Steemit community might see this get behind it a bit to give me a proverbial kick in the ass.

It's a big leap of faith and a bigger sacrifice across the board for me to go, especially when I can’t blog like most to make up some ground on the costs. I had to give up a lot of my income this year, but it's better to have helped my Mom care for my Dad, and have my Mom alive and well, while crediting me for a large part of it. I'm also not well known by most stakeholders and popular Steemians, so I'm hesitant to go and be an outsider.

Regardless, I see all of the upside of going to Krakow and that's why I'm writing this. I also wanted to make it known that I wanted to crash the @steembirds concert with a rented drum set to power them up a bit.

No expectations here. I’m practically aware that rewards for this post probably would cover a pierogi or two.

I'm simply and humbly putting this out there to see what happens on the encouragement front. Heck, even a few new connections or a couple of thumbs up would help to keep my eyes on the bigger picture.



Sincerely,
Matt

Sort:  

Yeah, I hear ya man... I'm not going, but seriously considered it but work has gotten in the way. What I'm realizing is that there are always reasons to not go, and not taking an adventure is always, always, always easier... but given the just ridiculously rough year you've had, you deserve some adventure. Especially with the reminder that life is way too short to not live it as much as possible. Your business will suffer... but I'm sure your customers buy from you because of you, and they'll be back when you're ready... people really do respect a well earned holiday/vacation. There's always money to be made... but adventures are surprisingly rare.

Gooooooooooooooo!

I was saving my reply for when I was in Kraków. Many people gave me plenty of good motivation and even some amazing donations to go, but your wise and reassuring reply on my pain points really stuck/stood out in my mind and pushed me over the edge to take the trip.

Thank you.

Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeesssssssssssssssssss!

Finally my unique and well trained ability to push people over the edge has finally helped somebody! I'm rapt to hear that Matt... I'm so sure you'll potentially get years of benefit out of the connections you make in Kraków will far outweigh the days/weeks of catchup-work efforts. Have an absolute blast dude, it already sounds like you've got a bunch of stories. It's all about the story man.

Thanks for this reply, it totally means a lot.

It's not much, but just made it 1$ less expensive for you :) if you don't go, just spend the buck to the @t-r-f so that at least it will help some Steemian to go to SF! Greets from Austria

Nice to meet you. Taking the time to reply and give me a nudge is what it’s all about. Thank you for your kindness, and yes, that’s a deal on the t-r-f. I wasn’t aware of that until now, so that’s a nice tip as well.

yeah, if you go you would definitely get some bucks from there as well with your miles covered :)

I hope you find a way to go. People need to hear your positive point of view in person.

Really appreciate your comment and generous contribution. If I muster the strength, would you please pick me up in the Millennium Falcon on your way there? I'll bring the 80's mix.

Re steeming this because I know you are still on the fence about going and who knows... maybe a whale will see it and drop you some love. Crazier things have happened!!! ♥️

Please don’t be surprised if you see a lifesize bronze statue of yourself waiting for you upon your return. You’ll just need to assemble the karaoke mic since it’ll be too fragile for shipping. Hope that’s not too much trouble.

Thank you to ∞

Hahah oh man you are so awesome. I got the karaoke mic covered. 😉

My meagre upvote is yours since I've been blowing up my VP today - touching story Matt! I would love to personally fly you over, since it certainly sounds like you could use the positivity in your life, and I know it will be a highlight after some rougher times for me as well.

Health and family are the most important things in life <3 All the sacrifices you make towards that are in the end the best things you can do with your time and resources. Wishing you and your family all the best!

Thank you for your kind words and support. The act of an upvote is a sign of support, not the amount its worth. It's momentum! I'm glad that you read my post, related, and could offer these wise words in return. I'll start following your blog to get an idea about what you've gone through. I'm sure I can chip in with some words of encouragement in your direction, if welcomed.

As for flying me over there... I'll flap the right wing and you flap the left.

Hehehe - I'm flapping my wing! Won't stop until you land in Krakow ;-)

Thanks for the follow, that's always appreciated in this sea of friendly people but who to follow, lol. I'm mentioning some of the 'stuff' from time to time for sure so you'll find out soon enough. It's okay though, all of it, it's part of life and part of the story that you leave behind for the world to learn from.

Following back by the way, even if it was just to see if you do or don't make it all the way over to Poland <3

Sorry I can't offer you more in terms of an upvote, but your story touched me, man. Sounds like you could use a break for a few days at least and hoping you make it out there, even at this late hour. Fingers crossed from my side.

There's 13 cents, yeah yeah I know I'm a tight fucker lol.
Hope a few whales can give you a bit more of a boost

Thank you as always. Sigh, if only @frogcake liked Americans.

Yeah I feel ya m8, I might get to steemfest 30 if I'm lucky :)

Man I keep getting frogcake FOMO on every comment you make. Great for curation!

It's killer not just engaging!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39