Don't drink and blockchain, and other rules to learn

in #steemfest5 years ago (edited)

We have an unwritten rule in this house, Don't drink and blockchain, and my first true post from Steemfest is going to break it. I am starting this at 4:49am local time after being up for more than 26 hours, travelling 12 and having a "couple quiet ones" with my house mates @anomadsoul, @abh12345, @celestal, @guyfawkes4-20, @zlatan-spielberg and @raj808 and some 30 or so of my closest Steem friends that I had mostly never heard of or met before. It really is amazing how there can be so many people doing so much work but we have never crossed paths.

Tomorrow (today) is the first official day of Steemfest3 with sign-in for the even and the opening dinner and I am looking forward to trying to remember the names and faces of the people I met in the darkness of a few of the local bars. I like to pay attention to the way people interact with each other and present themselves and there are definitely a wide range of personalities here withe varying approaches to Steem.

Some people like to jump right into their Steem content, account or try to get a feel of who is who, while others are much more subtle in their approach or more interested in getting to know each other outside of Steem. I think that I am somewhere between these two points.

Something interesting @anomadsoul mentioned is that this Steemfest seems to have quite a lot of content creators in attendance, not just witnesses and investors. This is an interesting observation and I hope it means that the presentations will cater to the audience, rather than just the devs. It would be great if the speakers are able to give a lot more whys as to the usage of the chain, the apps and hopefully for me, some what ifsalso.

We all have 4 basic positions that we tend to favor to lesser or greater degrees when it comes to learning or acceptance of a position. Why, what, how, what if. While I am a What if kind of personality that likes to look at how I can use or implement something or, use it in unexpected way, the Why is the most important factor as it is the reason to do something at all.

What i have found when talking to a few people is that even though they are keen on Steem overall, they don't necessarily know why they should be or, why Steem is such an important platform if given the opportunity and supported. Often this is a perspective based process as for the most part, we tend to favor the areas that we enjoy more than not. This means that we lose a lot of the understanding that we might need to really invest ourselves.

If we have a strong why factor in our understanding we are much more likely to learn the details of the what, the process of the how and of course, the potential of the what if. If we hold a clear picture of those four points, it is relatively easy to decide on our next move as it not only become apparent what we might want from the platform but, what we should do in order to get there.

I am hoping that by the end of the week of SteemFest that all attendees not only have a good understand of why, what, how and the what if of Steem's future could be, but they are able to use the understanding to make adjustments to their approach and of course, translate the knowledge, vision and learning to their audience. If the people here come in with an open mind to learn, they might just learn something that becomes the spark that ignites the fire within.

I was talking to a few people who asked about my content and I have little else to say that I am a blogger, a writer. Most of us are of course in some way but what I think people need to workout for themselves is their voice, their own style. I find that too many are trying to target earnings before working out what they are really interested in, what they are passionate about.

My view is that those who are open and authentic as well as consistent are much more likely to get noticed and rewarded for their content as once one really cares about what they do, they will continually push and find new ways to make their dreams a reality. There is so much untapped potential of Steem that people just aren't paying attention to and leaving on the table. Once a user really clicks with the platform, they will know why it is so important to really understand what this platform is, how it works today and what it could become in the future.

Now, it will be a long day tomorrow and I am falling asleep as I finish these words. For all the people I met today, thank you for being welcoming, thank you @roelandp for organizing and the steemFest app that makes swapping contacts easy and of course Krakow itself that so far, has been very welcoming.

Til tomorrow.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

I will do my best to pack our presentation with “what if’s.” 😃

Looking forward to it :)

Great post despite your concerns! I am really looking forward to the discussions that will be had and shared from steemfest! I think the diversity of thoughts is what will make this great in the long term.

THere is a Youtube stream you can tune into that I found a good way to be a part of it last year.

How the hell did you manage to write such a proper post at 5 AM man, haha!

I think it was the tequila shots that helped

This passage is inspiring:

those who are open and authentic as well as consistent are much more likely to get noticed and rewarded for their content...

I do hope so. glad to find some confirmations from others about it.

why it is so important to really understand what this platform is, how it works today and what it could become in the future...

very true! it is a common sense: to figure out first what it is one is getting oneself into. before trying to make any decisions and course of actions.

especially about personal plans. Platform will go on with or without each particular person. the question is: where and how one will be, in relation to it.

The platform is expanding in new ways daily and once ready, users should have a nice place to spend their time.

Wise words. I think you should add a 5th position: when. Sooner or later the competition will become stronger, and it's important to be ready.

When is going to be an interesting variable as when it happens, it is going to move very quickly and I don't think most are ready for that kind of speed.

Have fun man and don’t get too whitegirl wasted ;)

That is for me to do 💁🏻‍♀️

😂👍🏽

Steem is the pioneer platform that inspires people
to tap into their creative powers. That's the biggest
secret behind steem's success. In time we will prevail.
One thing is for certain, we ain't going anywhere but up!

There is a lot going on that adds new dynamics into the mix that I think will help the platform find a better mix of processes that allow for more sets of users to satisfy their needs. When they come together, it should lead to a more robust system in time.

I have no doubt that you will pick up the information and once you have processed it pass it to us in a manner that we can all put to use.

You have to be tired. Long day.
It sure is nice to put a face and voice to steemit friends. Well done,I am glad you went.

You have to be tired. Long day.
It sure is nice to put a face and voice to steemit friends. Well done,I am glad you went.

Long day and I feel a long week ahead but I am glad that I came here. Meeting people has been really enjoyable so far.

So many people to meet. Creators, that was nice to hear that there were more.
It all starts today should be a big meet and greet.
You should do well you have an ear and eye for this as if you were groomed for it.
I wish I could have made it there. Maybe next one.

You really are a machine, I’m sure of it. I will bring someting to poke you with to try and find out where the off switch for writing is 😂 You put everyone else to shame with your work ethic!

It’s been an interesting 24 hours to observe people posting and texting en route and from Krakow. I have a bit of FOMO for being still in Helsinki, but then again I’m glad because having to be social for a week straight is really hard!

He really is - no way I was posting at 5:30am after a 'couple of quiet ones'!

lol. I thik the stick is going to be needed to poke a lot of people with here :D

Since you weren't here, you did miss out. Last night those that were around set the rules for Steem for the next 3 years and already have witness approval :P

Okay, I found that a bit harder to follow that usual. Perhaps I also need a drink or two to get into the right frame of mind. ;)
Wow, 26 hours of traveling and you're still on the same continent, just about! Glad you ended up going in the end. Sounds like it will be a rare experience.

I dread to read it and don't recommend doing it but perhaps... it classes as an experimental approach to posting for me :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81