Dear SteemFest attendees

in #steemfest5 years ago

Dear SteemFest attendees,

In 2016, I attended the first SteemFest. It was one of the most fascinating weeks of my life. The final night (or, technically, morning) I wrote a slightly intoxicated summary of the experience. Going back and reading that gives me goosebumps.

fest 2.jpeg

Life can be funny. In June 2016, I had no idea what the word "blockchain" meant. Five months later, I was flying across the Atlantic Ocean to attend (and speak at) a conference that was focused on blockchain technology. I've heard it's a good thing to be the least smart person in a room. That was certainly the case for me.

But despite the fact that I had only recently lost my cryptocurrency virginity, the attendees of SteemFest didn't treat me any differently. People were fascinated that Steemit had been the gateway for me to discover this exciting new world. As we downed pints in Volkshotel, we chatted about what the future could hold. I also made some key friendships during those days.

fest 4.jpeg

A true highlight for me was not only the chance to attend SteemFest, but also be a speaker and explain my marketing strategy through interviews of influential people. I was (and am still) passionate about growing this platform, and I'm very grateful that @roelandp gave me the stage to share that message.

So why the hell am I not in Kraków?

It kills me that I not only missed SteemFest 2, but that I am also missing the third SteemFest. At the beginning of the year, I explained to my girlfriend that attending SteemFest was my top priority for 2018. As is often the case with life, I had some changes within my career, and my new role includes a mandatory work trip this week. Don't get me wrong, I love my job, and I'm thrilled to be able to travel for work; however, it's unfortunate that the timing overlaps with SteemFest 3.

I hope my absence the last couple of years doesn't take away from my true passion for this platform. I'm as dedicated as I've ever been to tracking down interesting interviews with influential people and bringing more attention to Steemit.

To those who are attending their first SteemFest: Soak it in. Go in with an open mind and a positive attitude, and I truly believe that the next few days could be some of the best that you've ever had.

Although I'm not there this year, I'll be following along closely online.

I miss and love you, Steem family. Have the best 'Fest ever!

Sincerely,

Wade

Sort:  

Bummer you can't go... but the job can pay the bills so you can buy the ticket to Steem Fest 4 next year :)

That's the plan! :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85