Making a horror music video

in #steemfilm6 years ago

I'm making a b-movie style horror music video for a death metal band

...as you do...

...and I've been watching old slasher movie trailers for inspiration. There's some incredible stuff out there. The trailers have pretty much informed the basis and aesthetic of the shoot.


image

I've been directing/producing/shooting/editing over the last week.

There has been lots of fake blood (and camera-tripod-cables covered in blood, naturally)
All my equipment has been annoyingly sticky over the last week.

We used a drill with a pencil 'paddle' to achieve a splatter effect in one scene.
Very (very) hi-tech.

image

I want the video to have an 80s aesthetic, so I've been using gels to create a certain tone. I rarely use gels in my other work but this seemed the right time to slap them on for a scene.

image

And it threw it down with rain on the one outdoor shoot day we had.

image

This is just a nice shot or two of my kit and props. We were just a small group of four; all chipping in with production (carrying stuff) and acting. There was a really good atmosphere during filming.

image

image

I've been keeping track behind the scenes too with a little GoPro diary of each little shoot. I might cut a nicely little behind the scenes video after the videos main release.

For now, the edit is coming along very nicely and is taking shape. Just as well because I've only got one day left to deliver it.

image

Fantastic fun so far though. Next update on it will most likely be the official release.

(I'm keeping it pretty anonymous as to the identity of the band, details and launch as we aim to keep things under wraps at the moment)

Cheers for reading :)

Sort:  

Can't wait to see and hear more! Awesome post of what I expect to be a fun and exciting music video. Just out of curiosity: Did you watch any giallo movies / trailers to get inspired?

Cheers! No, but I'm going to check out Giallo right now :)

Since I discovered this subgenre, around 2005, it's one of my favorite niches of film. Some of my top Gialli are: Suspiria (1977) - I just found out that this title has been remade this year! :>( The House with the Laughing Windows (1976) , Bay of Blood (1970), Don't Torture a Duckling (1972 ) and Zombi 2 ( 1979 ) but, to be honest, I really enjoy most gialli by Dario Argento, Mario Bava and Lucio Fulci. These are my kind of popcorn movies. Some of them are really a treat for sore eyes. And not just the eyes, most of them have amazing synth scores

Enjoy! :>)

That's a fantastic lo-down! Thanks, I'll Google those top films you mentioned :)

You're welcome. If you like this stuff and you wanna see more, I got another two dozen or so to recommend. You know where to find me ;>)

Have a great day!

Sounds super fun! Love that you do lots of work with these sorts of bands

It's a crazy band. There's a cameo from the lead vocalist which is fun. Maybe hardcore fans might spot him in there :)

Definitely post it when it's ready, would love to check it out :)

@redrica that music video post is up on my blog :)

Sweeet! Checking it out now :)

Fake blood is cool! Looking forward to the release of the video :)

Thanks man, I can't wait to share it! I'm happy with the mood and tone of the video - there's not tons of blood, but enough to give it that late-70/early 80's b-movie slasher feel :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78