EDUCATION IS BEYOND THE KNOWLEDGE, THE THEORIES AND THE APPLICATION

in #steemgigs6 years ago (edited)

I TEACH, COACH, MENTOR AND EVERYTHING ELSE IN BETWEEN

I am a teacher. Beyond a teacher I am a coach and a mother to a number of dancers and singers from the university where I taught. Yes I dance but not the professional type. Yes I sing but just simply to sing. I SING AND DANCE TO INSPIRE. I am fat and tall, gigantic in a way. So definitely on the heavy side but I dance.

~~~~~~~@~~~~~~~@~~~~~~~@~~~~~~~

I handled the Modern Hiphop Dancers of the college I belong with, for 6 Intramurals years. We championed the 5 years out of that 6. It was a feat! I had completed one grandslam (3 straight wins - 2010, 2011, 2012). We were defeated 2013 but had raised back to the champion league on 2014 and 2015. All of this was with College of Computer Studies. They called our group "Tatak CCS".

32748922_10212179363064566_586971254536273920_n.jpg

When suddenly I was transferred to another department. This time its the Senior High School (SHS) Department. As expected, everyone in the school even the security guards and janitors are expecting me to handle this time the SHS dancers. I would have opted not to because I will be competing with my own previous dancers but everybody was expecting me to form the new group and all the way to making them champion.

32590498_10212179363584579_8744316654583808000_n.jpg

~~~~~~~@~~~~~~~@~~~~~~~@~~~~~~~

It was hard coming up with a concept with a new set of dancers and with different style and skills. What made it more harder is that I am conceptualizing something to defeat a group which I personally had build over the past years. It was a pressure on my end to prove that I am a true modern hiphop coach and that any team I bring will champion. To make the story short, we had championed the Modern Hiphop Intramurals Event for 2016 and 2017. Yes, that would make it 7 championship out of the 8 competitions I handled a Hiphop team. It's flattering that people believe on how good you are at hiphop without really realizing my being a coach goes beyond being the "choreographer".

No I am not their choreographer. I do help on conceptualzing the full routine and suggest what I want to see on the dance. I blend in the different styles and genre of modern hiphop with of course mixing it with what is new and hot on the music scene. I choose who choreographs and I assist the delivery of the group. I am their number critique. I give them my opinion as honest as I can, even when it means they have to rehearse a routine 20 times to perfect it.

I had as well coached a championed Aca pella team from the same college and a runner up for Original Song Writing Competition to which I had created the song and my students put in the melody.*

singgggg.png

~~~~~~~@~~~~~~~@~~~~~~~@~~~~~~~

Everyone calls me "mama" because for them I am not just a coach I am their second mother. I cook for them during practice. I made sure they have drinks and food to take during breaks. I made sure they are home safe after every practice schedule and that they attend classes even with the practice on-going.

I am their mentor because I guide them through the competition. I always tell them it is not just about dancing or singing. They are already good at that. It is about enjoying the healthy competition, being a sportsman, a gentleman in defeat and a HUMBLE champion. I give emphasis on the word because knowing that some of them were there for the 3years to win the grandslam it does not give them the right to boast it. I want them to keep their feet grounded and yes be humble. That's the true essense of a champion.

I teach them that other than the championship they are actually practicing time management, self discipline, humility, dedication, team work and hard work all together. Beyond the shouts and claps of their fans, beyond the trophies and the celebration, character building is the real essense of the event. It's for them to grow as a holistic individual ready to take the future.

So their is my story. Am I proud of it? More than the championship, what I am proud of is the fact I am able to go beyond being just a teacher to this wonderful, talented kids. I get to teach them something valuable in life that they could bring with them wherever their journey takes them in the future.*

This has been Merlou Camayra, a teacher, a coach, a mentor and an adoptive mother.

Sort:  

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @jeffbernst, @bitrocker2020, @jrswab & @teachblogger . We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

We all perform many roles in life, but your roles are inspirational. May you never get tired of preparing our children for their future through all the you do.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by mcamayra being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70