Microsoft Patch - July 2018 Security Updates

in #steemhunt6 years ago

Microsoft Patch

July 2018 Security Updates


Screenshots

MS.JPG

MS2.JPG
View Image

Hunter's comment

Microsoft's patch update is a set of changes to a program or its supporting data designed to update, fix, or improve it which also includes fixing security vulnerabilities and bugs to improve the usability or performance.

MS July 2018 Patch Tuesday is now available!

MS released a fix on 53 security flaws to 15 different products;

  • Internet Explorer
  • Microsoft Edge
  • Microsoft Windows
  • Microsoft Office and Microsoft Office Services and Web Apps
    ChakraCore
  • Adobe Flash Player
    .- NET Framework
  • ASP.NET
  • Microsoft Research JavaScript Cryptography Library
  • Skype for Business and Microsoft Lync
  • Visual Studio
  • Microsoft Wireless Display Adapter V2 Software-
  • PowerShell Editor Services
  • PowerShell Extension for Visual Studio Code
  • Web Customizations for Active Directory Federation Services

If you're experiencing issues with these programs, I suggest you try installing this update and see if you will encounter the same issues. If you're working for a big company, I would suggest trying this update on a few computers before rolling it out to all of your computers. Also, please do not forget to save a restore point before implementing the update, there were several cases that updates are causing issues to other programs most valuable to the user daily tasks instead of improving its performance but not all cases though, that's just my personal side note when implementing updates.

Please see some notes of this security updates information by clicking on "CHECK IT OUT" button on this post.

Release Date: July 10, 2018


Link

https://portal.msrc.microsoft.com/en-us/security-guidance/releasenotedetail/1c26eff2-573f-e811-a96f-000d3a33c573


Contributors

Hunter: @myprimetime



Steemhunt.com

This is posted on Steemhunt - A place where you can dig products and earn STEEM.
View on Steemhunt.com

Sort:  

Pros:

  • actually, the patch solves many broken programs and I remember that I used to keep on searching for patches for various programs, so now my time and energy of search will be saved
  • Microsoft's patch update, is the one that is required for updating the patch and making the programs work.
  • Life has become so easier because of this update that as soon as a program stops working, I can install this update and make the programs run

Cons:

  • I always make sure that I have a restore point for my system in case anything goes wrong

I mean for rare cases only of what I've said that it may cause issues to other programs, but I totally agree with the pros you've mentioned. I should have added it on my post. Thank you @puregrace for sharing this information!

You said it better than I did, lol. :)

Yes, I have been using it, but you have also mentioned the needful. So, no worries. Keep up the good work!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, I'm not really good at writing stuff but I'm learning. 😉

Have a good one today! 😊

You are good, why do you think like that. You are doing well.

Posted using Partiko Android

I started steemit last year but just started really posting a few months back this year. So this is something new for me, but I'm glad doing this now. Never thought it would be this interesting. ;)

Hi @myprimetime,

Thanks for your hunt. We do not accept security patches as hunts though, since they aren’t the apps themselves and merely minor parts of an update.

Thank you @fknmayhen for taking time to review my post.

According to the guidelines #2 - Types of Products to Post, it includes API, IT solutions, bots, open sources or other types of software.

So I was in the impression that Microsoft security updates fit the IT solutions category. This is an important update that fixes bugs/security flaws. For this specific update, it solves or fixes 15 different apps/programs, so they can better perform.

Just my two cents on security updates importance and why I posted this as a hunt.

It aren’t the apps itself, it are patches. As such they would even classify as sub-product (PG10).

This is not the type of “updates” we feature

Gotcha! Thank you again @fknmayhem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13