Nikon d610 - The smart way to start photography

in #steemhunt6 years ago

Nikon d610

The smart way to start photography


Screenshots

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg


Hunter's comment

Yeah I know it's not the newest item around, but I checked out steemhunt and there's no review of this piece of a magical eye around here. It would be a pity to leave it like that.

Why should you buy this?

First of all, because you shouldn't, as I always like to say, "go for the cheaper candy". Look, if you really are into going into photography and you know your way around Digital Single Lens Reflection camera, this one's a beauty. And for the price you get it (though at first might seem double if you are checking out the entry level of Nikon), this is a steal.
Second, it's a "full frame" body so you'll snap wider shots. It's like putting things into perspective with this sensor. In my idiocy and lack of knowledge, I have used it until 1 month ago on "cropped mode". Thanks to @vargart I discovered the uncropped version, so I found out its real power later.
Third main reason for buying this MUST BE the accessibility of the body. I got along with the controls very fast and keeping it on "Manual Mode" (like every sane person should do with its camera) is easier than ever. The 3 main controls (exposure, shutter speed and ISO) are easy to access. The wheels and the combinations of buttons make it easy and fast to work with. In my opinion, this arrangement of buttons and shortcuts have a fast learning curve.
Fourth reason may address only to the buyers in my country: 3 years warranty. 2 years native warranty and an additional 1 year if you register it on the official Nikon forum. It's a perfectly balanced piece of machinery that is quite unbreakable in the eyes of its manufacturer.

Why shouldn't you buy this?

The main reason I can think about if you decide not to buy this, is that you probably have a bigger amount of cash available in your pocket; and yes, if money's no issue for you, buying the bigger brother, d750, is the correct thing to do. Better image processing system, a better sensor and lot lighter and easier to carry around all day.
A secondary reason in order to refuse going full face on the d610 it's the fact that it's a little bit old model and it may be getting a successor in a very short amount of time. Even though the newer version will not come at the same range of prices for sure, it will most probably be an important upgrade to this model (like the d610 was the better successor of d600).

Price Range

I decided to go for a new camera. Still, I guess I'd trust 90% of the second hand d610 you can find out there. It's important to check its mileage and also to check it out for clear dropping signs or any kind of violent happenings. If everything looks solid, you should have a camera that most likely your grandchildren will photograph you with it in your coffin.

Price as new - 1170 eur (in the official store)
Price as a second hand - 700 - 1000 eur

As you see, the differences are not so high and they are diffinetelly worth it for the 3 years warranty.

Conclusions

While this camera has its downsides when you compare it with the bigger brothers that also have quite a different price, overall it is worth the money. Yes, I know...the shutter could be a little better when moving and sometimes blur appears even if you are not looking to achieve that effect. Of course, the ISO is infinite but sometimes grain is a little bit too obvious. Still, I would rebuy this camera anytime and I wouldn't make any other choice if I'd get to make the acquisition again.


Link

http://www.nikon.com.my/en_MY/product/digital-slr-cameras/d610?ref=steemhunt


Contributors

Hunter: @vonaurolacu



Steemhunt.com

This is posted on Steemhunt - A place where you can dig products and earn STEEM.
View on Steemhunt.com

Sort:  

Thank you for posting on Steemhunt!
However, your post has been delisted on Steemhunt because it does not meet the following posting guidelines.


  1. Post "New" Products

Steemhunt is about cool "new" products. Please make sure that your hunt is something recently introduced. If the product is not new, there must be a strong reason to post. For example, the product must be substantially updated or upgraded in a way that has a positive effect on users. Even though the set period of time to define whether it is newly launched is subjective, the moderators may ask if the product is widely considered to be a “new product” (or substantially updated).

The Nikon D610 is a full-frame DSLR camera announced by Nikon on October 8, 2013. It improves on its predecessor, the Nikon D600, with a new shutter unit that supports a quiet mode at 3 frames per second and a normal continuous mode at a slightly improved 6 frames per second, as well as improved white balance.


Please read our Posting Guideline here, and let me know if you've updated your post on Steemhunt (by clicking the "edit" button) - feel free to join the discord and if you are brand new check out this guide infographic that might help

Yeah, I knew you might say that. Just wanted to try this. Still... now that I’ve tried it and now that you’ve “delisted” my article (God knows what that means) I can surely say that I might not be using this platform soon. Your “rule” in my oppinion has no point. At least as long as one of your rules should be “YOU HAVE TO OWN THE PRODUCT and have a clear opinion on it. But it seems you don’t really care about that. I’ve seen steemhunts with pics from google and reinterpreted content from the manufacturer website. If that’s the kind of “hunts” you are looking for, sorry but I’ll never contribute again. Cheers.

Yep, Its one of the best entry level fullframe cameras. I remember when it was twice the price and I couldnt find the money to finally make the step into fullframe....I ended up buying the d750 after a few years :)) . Both are great cameras for the money, you just have to pay attention to the oil spots on both models and especially on d610 because they had issues in the first batches. I am glad that with the help of @vargart you have finally escaped the cropped mode :) otherwise you would have started taking portraits with that nifty fifty :P

my first shots around here with this one were cropped :) never really noticed. I didn't know about the oil spots. Do those come out from the mechanism in time?

If you havent noticed them then you might be ok. The first batches were problematic and If i remember correctly the oil spill was from the shutter mechanism. They said they fixed in later batches. Dont worry just shoot and enjoy :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03