Act 02 Round 10 : Purple potato, pistachio and rosewater ice lollies

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

HKM_1114.JPG

Given that it's around 40C almost everyday here in China, I can't get enough of the ice cream/lollies section in supermarkets, or pretty much anywhere! I'm quite cautious of how many calories are in them however each time I eat one, and since shop-bought ones are generally loaded with sugar and fat, I thought it best to create my own!

HKM_1102.JPG

It's truly a pain without an ice cream maker to make ice cream, so lollies are perfect as they require minimal effort. However, I am admittedly a big fan of ice cream if I had to choose between the two so I thought, why not combine the two?!

HKM_1107.JPG

So potato is rather a strange ingredient to use but actually, the purple variety is rather quite creamy tasting and this also applies to the texture. Sweetened with some sugar and bulked up with coconut cream, I don't see how this could go wrong! So here it is, potato ice cream/lolly!

HKM_1099.JPG

Sort:  

Since I used purple sweet potatoes for my vegan sushi for the first time, I am thinking about options to use this gorgeous vegetable for other things. These icecicles seem to be a wonderful idea! 👍🏻

Thank you @pusteblume :-) You should totally go for it, and please let me know how it goes!

So is that the purple yam that you used as a potato? That is a great flavor for ice cream and one that is a very big hit here in the Philippines.
Though I never thought of the combination of pistachio and rosewater.

Wow I had no idea it was already being made into ice cream! I have no idea to be honest whether it was taro or purple potato- I was under the impression it was potato, but could be taro, translations are always lost along the line here! I think I'm just a little too obsessed with rose water right now, but it worked well! Have had a busy couple of weeks so not had so much time to dedicate to actual typing! :-(

You always think outside the box hey @foodflaneur, very well done! Your popsicles look stunning!

Aww thank you @lizelle, you're too kind :-)

What a great idea, the color is beautiful and it would indeed be quite creamy! How fun, I'll have to give it a try. Beautiful lollys :)

This looks very pretty and sweet

Thank you so much. I've had a hectic couple of weeks hence the lazy typing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88