STEEMIT IRON CHEF 2018 Act 02 Round 01 #01/ Weird food pairings Wild mushrooms in Rose Petals sauce with Mayonnaise of Chicatanas ants

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

It is a great pleasure to start again @steemit-ironchef again, which also continues as leader @progressivechef and started with something peculiar, weird as a first entry.
What you want to comment on is that maybe for you it will sound like a meal that you would never imagine eating and for me and Mexican haute cuisine is considered gourmet.
So I start my recipe

IMG_9282.JPG

Wild mushrooms in Rose Petals sauce with mayonnaise of Chicatanas ants

The roses in my garden are beautiful and it's time to use them in a delicate sauce and accompanied by the Chicatana ants if that's why they only come out of their nests in this rainy month and only people who know how to remove them because you can find snakes and other ants that can be aggressive.
chicatanas en una mano.jpg

This week my cousin came from Mexico and brought me a container of a glass of these Chicatanas ants Sauce that my mother made for me and I added it to Tofu Mayonnaise.
IMG_9291.JPG

In the most exclusive restaurants with Michelin stars in Mexico like Pujol Restaurant is considered among the 20 best in the world , they use this type of mayonnaise for their dishes.

Start with Rose Petals sauce.

Ingredients

1/2 cup concentrated Hibiscus with sugar or stevia
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/3 cup vegan butter
1 cup raw cashews, Walnuts, and Macadamia Nuts
1 garlic clove
3 roses

Steps

Detach the petals from the flowers and cut off the white spots that bind them to the petals.

Grind in a processor and keep in reserve. Blend the nuts in another container until they are pulverized. Melt the butter in a pan and sauté the garlic.

Add the powdered walnut, the Hibiscus concentrate, the rose petals that you ground and the cinnamon. Let cook for a few minutes and remove from heat.
In a pan, I put the mushrooms that were Crimini, Shitake & Oyster with a little butter that I used in the sauce of rose petals and some black garlic salt.
The Mayonnaise of Tofu with Chicatanas Ants
Ingredients
1 block of tofu extra firm
3 teaspoons of apple vinegar
1/4 cup olive oil
1 teaspoon mustard
1 1/2 lemon juice
1 clove garlic
1/2 teaspoon salt
Steps
All the ingredients are added to the processor minus the oil.
When the integrated mixture is already added, the oil is added little by little and it is still ground until it remains as a mayonnaise consistency.
I separated half and in what I usually add 3 tablespoons of Chicatanas ant sauce and leave it in the processor working a while longer.
The plated was a bed of the sauce of petals of roses another lighter layer of the Mayonnaise of Chicatanas ants and on top of the Mushrooms adorned with the rose petals and the two sauces.
I hope you like my dish so peculiar, Weird but at the same time so gourmet and different.

My proof photograph

IMG_9273.JPG
separador de steemit.png
Camara Canon PowerShot SX60 HS
@gladysstillwagon

Sort:  

This is weird to another level my friend! It has always been my desire to taste ants one day...so many great restaurants in the world are using them these days!
You are so lucky my friend!
Rose, mushrooms and ants...lovely weird pairing indeed!
Well done!

Loading...

la comida se ve demasiado provocativa, saludos para usted, soy venezolano y me encuentro aqui ya que lo vi una entrada para generar ingresos ya que esto muy dificil por aca, espero contar con su apoyo.

Like always you make so wonderful dish. Looks. Amazing!😍 One day I hape make dish so beautiful like these👏Bravo Dear Gladys💕

I see a change now in your presentations is like everything in life you have to practice, see, learn, life is a constant learning in addition to see the best of others and not the bad
Thank you my dear Denisse

Wait! Wait! What?!! 😮 You put ants in that dish. I don't know if I missed one point but do you mean literally or figuratively? 🙊
The rose sauce is very pretty! Tip!

The ants in Mexico are part of the ancestral culture of food since the time of the Aztecs and today is considered a gourmet dish.
Now they are not any specific ant that is called Chicatana and lives deep in the earth and only comes out in rainy weather, and is considered a source of important protein more than a piece of meat about 20% more.
And Yes I made the mayonnaise with the chicatana ant sauce my dear @pusteblume

You have some strange combinations, ideal for the contest @gladysstillwagon. Mexicans like ants, I know they eat one called culona, I think it's the one you used on the plate. Congratulations very nice and weird dish.

Different names if it is the same ant and these days very expensive to get it.
It is like the truffles every time it goes up more than the price because of the difficulty of collecting them. And this dish was exquisite, with a delicate flavor for the sauce of roses and strong at the same time with the sauce of the ants chicatanas was worth it
Thanks for your comment @isabelpena

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-06T18:30:54
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 844.80/200.00
Total Photos: 142
Total comments: 18
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.31 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hi @gladysstillwagon! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @pusteblume!

@pusteblume wrote lately about: The Story Of The Busy Bee And The Wild Herbs "Honey" 🐝 Feel free to follow @pusteblume if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

That is amazing and so cool, @gladysstillwagon! I would like to try your dish, for sure! It's so nice that your mother makes the ant sauce, too. It's amazing how many ways people connect with nature and the food it provides.

I will try your rose petal sauce sometime! It sounds really nice. How do you get the concentrated Hibiscus? It's funny that we both had mushrooms and roses, although your rose petal sauce is a real transformation! And your plate is so pretty! :D

Yes it is a coincidence that we use the ingredients and a good question about the concentrate of hibiscus, it is very easy for me to buy the dehydrated flowers I wash them very well in a colander and in a saucepan with boiling water I leave them for a few minutes and then the concentrate comes out that I use regularly to add a little in a glass with water and with heat with ice I do not put sugar.
Or the same but hot and so is a tea a little concentrated and the rest hot water.
For this recipe I use the concentrate and I put some stevia to balance the flavor
Thanks for your beautiful comment it is always a pleasure to see your post too
Have a good night my dear @haphazard-hstead

very adventurous cooking, ANS? upa upa! well done you!
sorry to snick into your blog and just comment like crazy.. I am just really excited with the dishes you pull out! very impressive ! love and light

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81