Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 02 #10 :Yellow Kiwi Popsicle

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago

When I was a kid, it was very popular in our home to make frozen juices. In these young years, I learned that cola makes for a lousy frozen ice. For one, it always was sweet on one side and like water on other. Then, the cola taste disappeared in a couple of seconds after tasting so... Total waste of sugar :D

My mom taught me that you can make a Popsicle out of anything. A fish even, if you wanted. Not that I did... :D At home, we would scarcely buy icecreams but we would make a lot of frozen juice. It was cheaper and delicious at the same time. These days, I do not make popsicles often. I usually just buy some ice cream and go about my day. However, this Iron Chef contest made me get off my ass and make my own ice.

I did not use juice as I like more fruity tastes these days. I did not make as many Popsicles as I usually would as I already have two boxes of ice-cream in the freezer. Otherwise, this is one of my usual recipes that takes much less time than anything else.

Today, I will show you how to make a fast and easy Kiwi Popsicle that tastes divine and positively sour. It took me around five to ten minutes to make + the time the ice-cream stayed in the freezer to freeze. But that one does not count. I made two popsicles without forms as I did not have any of my own at home. So, yes, you can improvise, adapt, and overcome. Even when making Popsicles. Especially when making Popsicles.

20180807_175250(0).jpg

Ingredients

2 yellow Kiwis
100 ml rice milk
Tablespoon coconut syrup

A hand blender or a regular blender for blending.

Yes, this is a vegan recipe just because of the fact that it is a Popsicle :D

20180807_122108.jpg

Well, there is nothing much I have to tell you about in this one. It is pretty self-explanatory. Oh, there is one thing. If you can not find ice-cream forms or are on short notice like I was, you can use anything else that resembles the size and form of a popsicle at least remotely.

For example, I used the smallest food-container I had at home and cut the Popsicle in it in half when it was close to fully frozen. That way I got two Popsicles from one.

That is also the only planning you should make. If you are in a situation like I was, you should add two wooden sticks to one form, so when you cut your Popsicle, both of the creations have a handle to hold them with.

20180807_175126(0).jpg
Before getting the Popsicles out

So, now to the work needed doing. Take a small to medium bowl and add in the rice milk in it.

Pour in the coconut flower syrup in the mix and finally, take two kiwis, cut them in halves, and scrape out the deliciousness inside with a teaspoon, into the bowl.

Take the hand-blender and blend it all together till there are no chunks whatsoever.

20180807_122549.jpg

Pour the mixture into your form and put in the freezer.

Depending on the temperature in your freezer, check on the mixture and add the wooden sticks when it has frozen just a little bit. The sticks should not sink or fall down when you add them into the mix.

Then, check the Popsicles again, before they have completely frozen, and cut them in half(if you are in my situation). You can also do this when the ice has completely frozen but it might be a little harder.

Now, when you are experiencing a hot day and are looking for a nice, cool and sour snack, pull out your Popsicles and enjoy!

20180807_175303.jpg

And, that is all. Simple, heavenly and refreshing for you, your little ones, or a summer party!
Have the best day. Today, tomorrow, and forever!
Linda

Sort:  

Yummy! My mouth is watering knowing the kiwi in the fruit mixture! Delicious!

I just love yellow kiwi. I found out of its existence here, in Germany and I buy them every day now :D

I want one... Looks delicious

Thanks! It is very yummy :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lindahas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Summer sweets! Popsicles are the best, well done :)

Thanks! :)

I know, right? I am killing to a day in this heat :D

I just love kiwifruit, almost made my lollies with them, must have tasted great:)

They do! The sour is a welcome change on the always persistent sweet popsicles! ;D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15