Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 2 #06 - Vegan Sushi

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

Sushi conjures up happy times at favourite restaurants celebrating life with friends or family.

I never ever thought of making Sushi myself, until @progressivechef put out a challenge with SIC Act 2 #06, and that is to make our own version of Sushi.

I went out and bought the ingredients and must admit, I nearly gave this week a miss, as I honestly thought this was beyond me, but I was pleasantly surprised by the results!
I further did not have the right equipment, but it worked, so a huge thank you to @progressivechef for getting me out of my comfort zone and making me realise that the impossible actually is very possible and just how healthy Sushi can be for us!
I used simple fresh ingredients which proves one can make sushi with a few basic and easily accessible components.

This is my first attempt at Sushi, it is Vegan, traditional in shape but surprisingly full of flavour with crisp and refreshing veggies in the centre.

The unmistakable seaweed flavour of Nori sheets with a filling of Sushi Rice flavoured with sweet & sour Rice Vinegar, Sesame Seeds, slivers of Cucumber, Carrots, Yellow Bell Peppers and sliced Avocado, with a Sriracha Vegan Mayo Dressing which kind of bound the veggies together. I laid slices of Avocado on the outside of the Nori and sprinkled it with extra Sesame Seeds. Accompaniments were Wasabi, Soy Sauce & delicious pickled Ginger.

IMG_20180712_195455.jpg

During my search for sushi making I learnt that Nori is an amazing superfood, something we should be consuming more often than just when we go out to eat sushi! Packed with vitamins and minerals, this weed from the sea also is an amazing antioxidant, detoxifier and contains an abundance of iodine.

So without further ado, here is the how-to.

INGREDIENTS

  • Nori Sheets
  • Sushi Rice
  • Rice Vinegar
  • Avocado
  • Carrots
  • Yellow Bell Peppers
  • Cucumber
  • Sriracha Vegan Mayonaisse
  • Sesame Seeds
  • Soy Sauce
  • Wasabi
  • Pickled Ginger

IMG_20180712_190528.jpg

Cooked Sushi Rice was given a little tang with added Rice Vinegar mixed with sugar & salt.
Not having a sushi mat, I laid the Nori on cling wrap with a damp tea towel underneath.
Spread a layer of Rice on that with Sesame seeds sprinkled on top.

IMG_20180712_193856.jpg

Slivers of Vegetables laid down centre topped with Sriracha Mayo.

IMG_20180712_191545.jpg

IMG_20180712_191733.jpg

Rolled the Nori up tightly and topped with slices of Avocado plus extra Sesame Seeds.

IMG_20180712_194550.jpg

Super refreshing Vegan Sushi - my proof photo.

IMG_20180712_195530.jpg

A quick look at the making of my Vegan Sushi for all my busy steemian friends:

IMG_20180712_190528-ANIMATION.gif

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

It looks amazing! As a vegan, I have never tried sushi, but you made it seem simple and accessible. Really cool how easy it seems to make and how presentable it still is.

Thank you so much @poetrybyjeremy, I was surprised just how simple sushi can be, plus that one can make it without exotic ingredients! Sure my next batch will look somewhat prettier :)

I LOVE sushi and I ADORE nori! I tried making sushi once, using a sushi mat, and it was a complete flop! Yours looks very delicate and attractive, so I'm tempted to have another go.
I also love the soy sauce, ginger and wasabi - maybe I should have been Japanese!

You really should give it another go, this was so easy, I did not have the proper equipment, the cling wrap worked like a bomb!

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 195 (7/14/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Nice! You tried out a vegan version again! I like that! 😍 It turned out so nice and appealing! And you are right - it's not that complicated to make sushi. After that sushi burrito I made the other day this was my second sushi experience - and I was really satisfied with the results.

Thanks @pusteblume, yours was amazing! It seemed like such a daunting task but was quite easy although a very simple sushi. I'd like to get the correct equipment and try this again with more complex ingredients. Thanks for your kind comments :)

A warehouse store here used to sell party-trays of marvelous sushi, but they stopped stocking them because they could sell enough fast enough before it went stale. The Weasel brought home one once as a surprise and we ate on it for two days. It became a regular treat when he'd go all the way into town. I miss it a lot, but I've been afraid to try to make it. Maybe I should rethink that. (Or did you just make it look deceptively easy?)

It really was not as daunting as I thought. My son and his girlfriend are big sushi fans and they were impressed at the ease of it plus how many it made. I will make this again but with fish and it will be more refined, not too bad for a first attempt though, I did not want to spend a fortune in case it flopped!
It would be much easier using a bamboo mat for rolling but the cling wrap also worked, you should give it a go, was fun:)
Thanks for your great support!

Friend I know that you will be well I see you in several food contest and you are very good I hope someday to do things like this you learn a lot from the kitchen

We never stop learning hey! Thanks for your support @yesslife :)

O-em-gee, sushis...My favorite!

Thank you :)

Looks nice, but I think I would need fish to be in my sushi!

Was nice but I totally agree, fish in sushi is great! Thanks for stopping by @slobberchops :)

Oo looks tasty! Ive always avoided sushi as im not a fish fan at all! Had somw veggie sushsi a few years back though and now i cant get enough! I may have to try making some,we've got a little one in our house, i think hes just old enough to start enjoying making this sort of thing

i haven't tasted sushi , but with the looks of your sushi , so inviting and mouth-watering , and... nutritious! love to taste it ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85