Steemit Iron Chef 2018 - Act 2 Round 2 - Spinach & Prawn Roulade with Spinach Foam

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

Spinach is the theme for @progressive-chef's Steemit Iron Chef Act 2 Round 2 - not a secret that this is one of the vegetables that people either have a love or hate relationship with; even Popeye the Sailor Man still has difficulty convincing little ones that spinach is good for them!

For my entry I bring to you Spinach in a slightly disguised form; a Spinach & Prawn Roulade, served with Spinach Foam and extra plump Prawns - I for one love Spinach and never can have too many Prawns on my plate!

IMG_20180613_154330.jpg
I used Swiss Chard, which belongs to the Spinach family, for both the roulade and the foam, as it has a milder and less bitter taste than regular Spinach.
The Roulade was light and fluffy, sprinkled with Parmesan Cheese, which enhanced the flavour beautifully.
This was filled with a rich Prawn Pate using creamed smooth Cottage Cheese, flavoured with Horseradish and diced plump Prawns, adding divine flavours from the ocean.
IMG_20180613_154345.jpg

The foam was made using a Spinach puree with a touch of sauteed Garlic & Shallots folded into stiffly beaten heavy cream, absolutely delicious!
IMG_20180613_205323.jpg

Ingredients required for Roulade:

  • Spinach - 300g finely diced & cooked
  • Cake Wheat Flour - 40g
  • Grated Nutmeg
  • Salt & Freshly Ground Black Pepper
  • Eggs - 4 separated, whites stiffly beaten
  • Grated Parmesan Cheese to dust over Roulade

Ingredients for Prawn Pate:

  • Creamed smooth Cottage Cheese - 250g
  • Horseradish - 10ml
  • Butter - 100g melted
  • Shelled cooked Prawns - 200g

Ingredients for Spinach Foam:

  • Spinach - 200g blanched
  • Garlic - 1 clove sauteed in butter
  • Shallots - 2 sauteed in butter
  • Chicken Stock - 80ml
  • Thick Dairy Cream - 125ml whipped

For the Roulade - place spinach, flour, egg yolks & seasonings in bowl, mix & microwave for 2 min on medium high.
Fold in egg whites & spread onto 25 x 35cm lined baking sheet.
Bake at 180C for 15 min.
Dust with Parmesan cheese.
Place baking paper on top, invert on a tray & roll up tightly in baking paper

IMG_20180612_192040.jpg

To make Prawn Pate - mix cheese & horseradish, stir butter in slowly, lastly add prawns.
Spread generously on top of roulade

IMG_20180612_193349.jpg

Roulade with filling rolled up tightly - can refrigerate at this stage for later use
IMG_20180613_152332_1.jpg

Spinach Foam was made with blanched Spinach, Chicken Stock, Sauteed Garlic & Shallots, placed into food processor, then pushed through a sieve and folded into whipped Dairy Cream, ready for piping.
IMG_20180613_204444.jpg

My second plating with my proof photo.
20180613_201716.jpg

This starter was a real hit with my friends, one of them never eats spinach but loved this roulade & foam!
IMG_20180613_161232_1.jpg

A quick look for all the busy-bodies:
IMG_20180612_153349_2-ANIMATION.gif

A huge thank you to @progressive-chef for hosting this contest!

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by; comments, upvotes and resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Well Lizelle you didn't stir me up tonight and that isn't because you didn't do a great job with post, you most certainly did a great job. I'm just not a spinach guy, even though as a kid I enjoyed the Pop Eye the Sailor man cartoons. He loved his spinach, but I always wondered what he smoked in that pipe.
I had a big BBQ dinner, late this evening so I am still full and no picture will change that tonight and make me head for the fridge. I hope you do well in the Iron Chef Challenge, your posts are very well constructed and the recipes are very detailed, plus your photo documentation is outstanding.
I don't know what else you would need to have to do well, I think you have all the bases covered, Good Luck!!!

Thank you for your kind words mr Papper, very encouraging! I really did not think spinach roulade would be your cup of tea! Especially not after having a meaty BBQ dinner ;) Spinach can taste good, the Zulu people make a dish called Mfino, diced spinach is cooked with potato, tomato & a little onion, then mashed up, I add loads of butter & black pepper, really delicious ;)

Spinach is my second favorite vegetable. (Corn is #1. Always has been.) So I'm going to have to give this a try soon. @catweasel took one look at this and said, "Her husband must be as big as a house."

I said, "I know you would be."

He said, "Damn straight."

So if someday a weasel-shaped house arrives on your doorstep begging a meal, you have only yourself to blame.

HAHA @enchantedspirit, you're so funny! Please tell @catweasel that my hubby has been a type 1 diabetic for 60 years already and despite all the temptations I put in front of him, he is not the size of a house...I'd put him on a strict diet if I saw any sign of that, can't be seen next to a house now can I ;)
I try and keep the sweet temptations away from him but he loves indulging when he has a sugar drop!
Thank you for the chuckle, enjoyed that 😂

Never made this type of foam before. Will definitely try it! Thanks for sharing @lizelle :)

Thank you @oen, that foam was so delicious, one should whip it all up in an ISI Whip, but I don't have one so improvised. Definitely want to buy that gadget as the foam would be more dense!

That looks beautiful and I can almost tatste the wonderful, yet interesting flavour combinations :)
Great work!

Ah thank you @therneau, it was most unlike the spinach dishes I normally make, but really delicious, perfect party fare :)

Gosh @lizelle! How many tricks are up those sleeves of yours! I think I must book a trip to Durbs and come hang around your kitchen. Never considered a savoury roulade! Oh the possibilities! (Also anything with a prawn on it gets my vote.) Best of luck with your entry!

Anytime @whattheduck, on condition you give me a lesson in plating, presentation, photography and...and... :)
I still want to make a mushroom roulade as well, one can go quite wild with savoury options!
Thank you for your great comments!

What a beautiful dish @lizelle. The roulade looks light and fluffy and the flecks of swiss card, absolutely gorgeous. I can almost taste the earthiness of the swiss chard and the plump sweet shrimp. Good luck.

Thank you for your valued comments @loveself, you really have a way with words, describing food dishes excellently! That's exactly how this tasted :)

Hello my friend @lizelle how are you?

This in addition to beautiful looks delicious I think it would be a good option for children to eat spinach as you always surprise us I admire you a lot

regards

Hey @andrina, I'm very well, hope you also? Thanks for your great comments :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #168 (6/17/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thank you so very much @thesteemengine

Omg! This is just wonderful, it's creative , and flavours seem to go well together! Seriously it's a great idea that I will never thought of!! And also love the way you uncooperate spinach into ur dish!!

Thank you @alansthoughs, really appreciate your valued comments :)

It's the least I could do to show that I really appreciate your post!

Wow! Im not a big seafood eater bit this dish looks delicious!! I love the spinach foam, a new one for me! And great presentation@lizelle!

Thank you @cooknbake, really appreciate your feedback, this was delicious! One could add anything to the cream cheese, was the first time I made this foam, actually needed an ISI Whip but it still worked, was really delicious!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15