Steemit Iron Chef 2018 - Act 2 Round 5 - Smoky Lentil & Eggplant Moussaka

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

Ask a carnivore to cook a vegan meal and they're sure going to be stumped!
What this carnivore discovered with @progressivechef's Steemit Iron Chef 2018 - Act 2 Round 5 is that Vegan cookery is complex, has amazing depth and bursts with flavours from nature - and all that with zero animal products!

Eggplant/ Aubergine/ Brinjal is one of my absolute favourite veggies - great in spicy curries; but today I've used it as the star of the show in a deliciously smoky Lentil & Eggplant Moussaka.

IMG_20180705_184453.jpg

I made individual Eggplant cups filled with layers of smoky brown Lentils & Walnuts in a garlicky Tomato, Onion & Mushroom sauce; topped with creamy Potato mash and served on a bed of Vegan Cheddar Cheese Sauce.

IMG_20180705_184424.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup uncooked brown Lentils
  • 1 Onion
  • 4 Tomatoes
  • 2 cloves Garlic
  • 100 gram Mushrooms
  • Smoked Paprika
  • 1/2 cup Walnuts
  • 2 Eggplants
  • 2 Potatoes
  • 2 cups Coconut Rice Milk
  • 2 tablespoons Flour
  • Coconut Oil
  • Vegan Cheddar Cheese Slices - a great local product I discovered thanks to SIC

IMG_20180705_115710_1.jpg

Finely dice Onions & Mushrooms
Place Tomatoes and Garlic in food processor

IMG_20180705_123238.jpg

Sautee Onions & Mushrooms, add Tomato mixture plus Italian herbs & season to taste

IMG_20180705_124848.jpg

Cook Lentils, add Walnuts & Tomato mixture plus Smoked Paprika.

IMG_20180705_172515.jpg

Cut Brinjals into rounds and strips & sautee in a little Olive Oil.

IMG_20180705_165242.jpg

Spray deep Silicone Pans and line with sauteed Brinjals.

IMG_20180705_172839.jpg

Layer with Lentils and Brinjal rounds.

IMG_20180705_173056.jpg

Top with Potato Mash - Coconut Rice Milk was added to make creamy Mash.

IMG_20180705_174021.jpg

Bake at 180 C approx 20 min till topping is light brown.

IMG_20180705_184433.jpg

Serve on a Vegan Cheese sauce made with Coconut Oil, Flour, Coconut & Rice Milk and Vegan Cheese slices.

IMG_20180705_170840.jpg

IMG_20180705_171114.jpg

Delicious Lentil & Eggplant Moussaka bursting with flavour.

IMG_20180705_184629.jpg

A quick look at the whole process:

IMG_20180705_115710_1-ANIMATION.gif

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

greetings, lizelle

Funny you put this because, I'm doing otherwise hehehe. I want to lose more or less 8kg. For that, I'm on a diet. I buy low carb products or products with more protein. Today I bought cheese, chicken roll and 2 low carb dumplings that are delicious. Did you know that???

I'm weighing 83kg and I want to reduce my weight to pounds. When I reach my first goal, which is to stay below 80kg, I'll eat a little something that fattens. So I thought I'd eat something like this candy you put on. It's a delicious food right!!!! Then I'll keep the pike to stay below 75kg.

Thank you for posting and Good morning!!!

Thank you Julio!

Looks delicious even from a non-vegan view @lizelle lovely preparation and presentation, congrats.

Thank you @joanstewart, this was really tasty! I was worried my basket would fall apart but luckily it worked :)

That is a very detailed cooking article, I wonder if I can get @bingbabe to make me some? As a carnivore, I always feel better if I eat veggie dishes. I know they are better for me, but I cant shed my natural meat cravings.

Even though I'm a carnivore, I really enjoy my veggies and this moussaka was delicious, but no meat will have me craving as well :)
Hope you get to taste this, @bingbabe can make it in a large oven dish & just layer the ingredients, no need for a fancy basket :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 189 (7/08/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thank you @thesteemengine, much appreciated :)

I think I've had eggplant before. I don't think it made me want to hurl. Something I can't say for okra. Or beets. Or anything from a can.

This looks and sounds delicious -- and I love curry. Maybe if I get really brave I'll try it.

P.S. How the hell do you make "vegan cheese?"

PPS: I'm waiting for my VP to recover so I didn't upvote you. I sent you one from xglider and one from esportsworld instead. That's more than I could have given you anyway. Don't spend it all in one place.

That vegan cheese was really nice, not sure how they managed that, these vegans are resourceful! Another lady called @foodflaneur made meringues using Chickpea brine, amazing, looked like the real thing!

OH my! That looks A.MA.ZING. I'm not vegan, but I haven't eaten meat for 25 years. I do eat fish, so I suppose I'm a pescetarian.
I do enjoy vegan food because as you say, it tends to be more creative, complex and interesting - and that dish you've created is literally making my mouth water!
I decided to skip dinner this evening, as I'd had a late lunch so I wasn't hungry, however after reading this I'm going to have to have a snack! Unfortunately I've no aubergines in the house.

Thank you for your great comments @natubat, I could live on fish any day, and of course lentils and aubergines is great in any dish, this one was real tasty!

I really envy you! I tried making moussaka a few days ago - we have a meat recipe here - however, the eggplants were so bad it was hardly edible...had to throw away most of it, which is a pity, as I did work a lot on it and I do love eggplants... I'm the only one in the family that does!
Great looking dish you got there and I guess it was delicious!

Thank you @ladyrebecca, so sorry to hear about the bad eggplants! It's grown locally so we always get them super fresh. This was really delicious with all those flavours.

"Mousakka" - Brought to Japan by Arabian Moors?

Looks delicious.

Namaste, JaiChai

Now you've given me ideas, I need to add a little bio on the history of moussaka, thank you:)

Here is something favorite and I love lentils I love lentils are very versatile you can prepare them in many ways

You do not stop to surprise us with those unique recipes that only you know how to do I hope someday to try some of your food

I also love lentils @yesslife, this really was so tasty, thank you for your great comments :)

Here there are new combinations for me like eggplant with lentils something new for me but without a doubt something that I want to taste I love the eggplant and I can eat it there are many ways in which they present it to me

Success in my friend's contest

Thank you so much @andrina, this is a delicious combo :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30