STEEMIT IRON CHEF 2018 Act 02 Round 10 ~ 🌞 Summer Sky Popsicles ⭐️

SummerNightSky ⭐️ & SummerDaySky 🌞

It's incredibly hot over here for weeks now. So making some cooling popsicles seemed to be the perfect idea by the creator of this amazing contest #steemit-ironchef, by our beloved @progressivechef. It would have been a perfect idea ... but not when it looked like all popsicle molds were sold out everywhere in town! 😲 I sweat a lot running from shop to shop in the glittering heat of the streets until I finally found some leftover molds. 😅 Whew!

I had the idea of making two sorts of popsicles: one representing the summer sky at daytime - bright and light and with a shining sun in it and one representing the summer sky dur the night - dark and deep and with twinkling stars in it.

Here are the ingredients I used:

  • blackberries 
  • blueberries
  • a banana
  • coconut water
  • a cantaloupe melon
  • lemongrass
  • a lemon
  • some dessert decoration in the shape of stars and butterflies 
  • elderberry sirup

Preparation

I washed the blackberries and blueberries and set them in the freezer. I mashed the stem of the lemongrass a little bit and put it into the coconut water to infuse it with lemongrass aroma. I also set it in the freezer. I needed all ingredients to get as cold as possible. That's why there ar not so many photos of the making off as usual because I tried to work ver fast.

To give my popsicles their glamorous and special touch I cut out little stars off thin slices of banana and circles out of the melon. I stick them on the wall of the popsicle molds which was easy because they stuck by themselves. I also wanted the little sugar stars and butterflies sticking on the mold. I tried to glue them with little drops of water. Then I set the molds in the freezer for 20Minutes.

Inbetween I mixed the almost frozen blackberries, blueberries and two tablespoons of the sirup in my blender. I filled the molds with the stars with the frozen berry mixture, put some bamboo sticks into and set it back into the freezer.

My actual idea for the day sky was to color the liquid in a beautiful baby blue. I've seen photos of beautiful blue smoothie bowls but I don't know what turned them blue. I didn't want to use artificial foodcolors so I had the idea to experiment with the aronia juice. If you cook red cabbage it turns more purple the more acid (lemon juice) you put in it and you could change the color into a more blue purple by creating a more basic milieu. Maybe this was a solution? I put some aronia juice into some coconut water: purple! I added some baking soda - still purple. 😏😝

So this experiment failed but I needed a solution and because the air has no color I decided to leave my summer day sky uncolered. I mixed some fresh lemon juice and two tablespoons of the elderberry sirup into the lemongrass infused coconut water and filled the molds with the "suns" and the butterflies. Because the mixture was still liquid the butterflies disappeared a little bit from the surface (like in reality if you try to photograph these flattery insects - they are everywhere but on your photography 😆)

Here is the final result. I springled some tiny golden and silver sugar pearls on the dark version for more stars and some sugar butterflies on the light popsicles to replace the the disappeared.

I tried out both sorts tonight while sitting in front of a movie and with a fan in our backs ... ❄️❄️❄️ Both very very delicious and wonderfully refreshing.

Have a beautiful summer weekend everyone. Hope to see you all again soon around here! ☀️

Sort:  

You are truly an artist! Those are such fun...and beautiful, too!

Thank you, Melinda! These were so much fun to create!

These are darling! How creative..I'm so sorry you had to work so hard in this heat to create these day and night pops! I'm sure they were well worth it ! IWell done :)

Hehehe! Thank you! They definitely were worth it and cooled me down again ... ☺️❄️

Wow these are gorgeous, very well done:)

Thank you, Lizelle and Hello to South Africa! 👋🏻

I loved all your poppsicles.jpg and the incredible flavors awesome.jpg

great concept and creative designs :)

Thank you a lot!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-09T23:23:18
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 782.18/800.00
Total Photos: 86
Total comments: 56
Total contest wins: 6
And have also received a 2.22 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This post has received a 7.32 % upvote from @boomerang.

This is an advertised post

The author of this post or one of his supporters has used one or more paid services to promote this post. This post's valuation and number of upvotes does not represent human curation. This means this post's valuation does not represent community appreciation and should be viewed as advertised content.

If you are new to these services please be warned that bid voting is a huge gamble with little return on investment if not utilized right and might also lead to a net loss.

If you like this service please update this comment for visibility and to support paying for the server costs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11