A piece of heaven on earth!!!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steem people!!!

I hope you all have a beautiful smile on your face 😀!
The destination I've chosen for today is a place of great historical importance of the region but also of extraordinary beauty. Mystras a fairy tale like village in the South of Peloponnese.

The route I drove to Mystras was through the mountain of Taygetos, which is quite difficult - hence people do not choose it - can be dangerous as well plus it takes much longer to reach your destination! But if you decide to follow this way, it will definatelly reward you with the some incredible views!!!
20821463_10155633575271252_585059724_o.jpg
At some point, because the drive was long as I said, I stopped to get some rest and get refreshed from a spring with running water that was as cold as ice!!!
As I walked a little bit further from the spring, I met an old man that was selling local herbs and mountain tea. So while chatting with him I found out some secrets about the herbs he had. So I bought a few as well as "his tea" as he was calling it ☺.
Rumour has it, that the quality of this tea is the best in the world!! Plus is very rare and you cannot find it every year, since the climate conditions have to be specific in order to grow. Also is very difficult to be collected.
It grows in cliffs with thousands of meters altitude and no protection whatsoever! So I considered myself lucky for finding it and got several bunches 😉!!
26906363_10204286560842299_948114077_o.jpg

So after a few hours of tiring drive lol and looking forward for my hotel the view of the village of Mystras upon my arrival was breathtaking!!!!
20861205_10203715275120513_1300082000_o.jpg
The place looked like heaven with no exaggeration!!! Decorated with the biggest and most colorful roses I have ever seen in my life and I've seen a few ☺!!
I will make another post dedicated to this village and the marvellous hotel Pyrgos of Mystras because. ...they just worth it 🙂!!!
20821358_10203715305721278_1980071894_o.jpg

Mystras in the 14th and 15th century a.d. was the capital of the despotate of Morea.
This is where Constantine Palaiologos, the last Emperor of the Byzantine empire lived in the years 1428 to 1449.
The castle at the top of the hill and the palace of the Dynasty of Palaiologos are located at the East of the slopes of the mount Taygetos and on the North West of the city of Sparta.
Mystras castle that rises on the top of the hill was created by William II of Villehardouin ruler of the Frankish Principality of Achaea.
20839923_10203715298241091_94031002_o.jpg
That was the view of the top of the castle when I was still in the middle of my way up!!!

And this one is when I was at the top!!!!!
20794796_10155633575396252_1532797285_o.jpg

The houses of the palace that lays at the slopes of the hill was made in the later Byzantine Empire years and as I said is where the family of the last Emperor of Constantinople, Constantine lived. In this area of the palace you can find, some of the best well kept and beautiful churches of the Byzantine era!!!!

20841419_10203715287600825_1539328016_o.jpg
The place had been under siege many times by several enemies because of its power, strategical place and notorious fame!
I've been told that Ralph Fiennes (two times academy award winner) was spending all the days of his stay in Mystras up on the castle, sensing the energy and the vibes of the castle, palace and area in general!
Plenty more to say about it in next post 😉!!!

20862417_10203716869640375_1125525745_o2.jpg
I know I am very excited about the specific post but is a place I've never been before and I loved so much!
I hope you will enjoy the ride through it, until next time, stay tuned, be positive and always with a big smile on your face, kisses !!!

Sort:  

Magnificent photos sis!!!!! Great job ;)

Thanks bro 😚!!!

This place is so beautiful. I pray God answers my prayers so I can travel the world with the one i love.

Yes it is sooo beautiful! I hope your prayers will be answered and visit the place one day 😀!!!

That would be an amazing location to relax and holiday/live in! Beautiful sights, no doubt an amazing feeling while you're there, and just a positive vibe in the air.

Oh it was so beautiful!!! I mean it's one of the few places in the world that I've been that the photos no matter how amazing they look cannot show the true beauty of the place 😀!!!

This would be a much great experience to relax between the trip,then the feeling to reach the top and ofcourse the nature!! Great pic I love them !!

Thank you. Yes the whole experience was one of a kind 😀! !!

I loved your post. It is a way to know places through third parties and thus encourage us to meet them in person. You shared landscapes, history and your emotion. Congratulations. I follow you.
One question, what is the tea for?

Oh Estefa thank you so much for your kind words!! I love sharing my experiences, trips and my emotions with people who appreciate them 😀!!!
Tea is a herb with healing properties in general. For example it soothes the stomach and the digestive system ☺

Now all I need to do is listen to some of Roza Eskanizi's songs. Greta Post!

Thank you 😀!!! You have to tell me though your favourite song from Roza. Love her voice, my grandfather used to listen to her music, so her music is very familiar to me!!! Amazing voice!!!!!

The very first of the 3 songs is my favourite, love it!! Χόρεψε μου τσιφτετέλι!! My grandfather used to sing it to me both in Greek and Turkish. Wow you brought me memories ☺! You know Roza is buried very close to my home town.

I love that song to. Glad you appreciated it.

Great post very informative thank you i learned a few things from it and the pictures are wonderful. Thanks so much

Thank you rbreauxfl! You are very kind! Hopefully each time you will learn sth new from my posts 😀😚!!!

🤗😚

Attractive location and great look out in a classic mediterranean vegetation! I like your post Unfortunately I 've never been yet to Greece .

Thanks a lot. Hopefully you'll visit Greece in your next trip then 😉!!

kalispera.

An akolouthiseis ton syndesmo https://steemit.com/@alinak15/transfers
tha se paei sto wallet sou. Ekei tha deis mia epilogi pou tha leei:
Claim rewards, pata to gia na pareis ta rewards pou sou analogoun apo ta post pou exoun kleisei 7 meres apo tin wra pou ta dimosiopiises.

kali synexeia.

Σε ευχαριστώ πολύ, θα το κάνω. Καλή συνέχεια και καλή εβδομάδα να έχεις :D!!!

what a wonderful shot and you look gorgeous

Thank you yassinof 😀!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17