Why You Should Write Even if You're Not a Writer. Day 7 of the 31 Day Writing Challenge

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Creativity is not something you're born with. It comes easier to some people but it's like a muscle- it must be exercised for it to work.

Keeping your creative juices flowing is an easy and effective way to become more creative no matter what you do without doing extra work. Writing is one of the best avenues for that, plus it's helpful in many more ways.

One of the best ways to learn is to teach, and if you can’t teach- write.

Writing it down helps you remember things such as test materials and other important items, and it's the best technique to organize your thoughts and ideas.

The act of writing forces you to think deeply about a subject from more than one angle as you have to express your understanding in a well-constructed way rather than swim through a jumble of thoughts in your head. This leads you to discovering more about the subject from sheer curiosity and the need to present it with value.

Writing also boosts your self-confidence.

Writing gives you a moment in time to reflect and digest, and to think deeply in the present moment. It allows you to focus, and with regular practice you have more and better ideas and your thoughts are clearer and more concise.

To quote one of the most successful businessmen of all time, Richard Branson:

He states blogging is good for you in more ways than one:

Writing every day boosts your creativity, health, happiness, and even lowers anxiety and stress levels.

Do you need any more reasons to write? Just write :)

Today's Challenge

Write. Even if you are not a writer, write. Freewrite (@mariannewest offers awesome daily freewrite prompts,) Stream-of-consciousness writing or Morning Pages, blogging, or work on that novel gathering dust.

Steemit.com is the perfect place to write.

You receive feedback, build a community of awesome people, and even get rewarded! And once you get in the habit of posting something every day, you will find yourself doing it automatically.

Write on my friends!




Images via Pixabay


Be a Better Writer in Just One Month! Join the 31 Day Writing Challenge to transform your writing and your life!

Day 1 The Truth About Making Time For Writing
Day 2 How to Incorporate Ideas From Life in Your Writing
Day 3 Master the Art of Captivating Your Readers
Day 4 Banishing Distractions
Day 5 Get Your Writing Noticed!
Day 6




I appreciate your support :)





If you find this article after day 7, please consider upvoting a recent article.


Sort:  

I have never been a writer on paper, but a writer inside my head. Steemit has been awesome for me as I have just begun to start writing down what is going on in my head. I have some work to do to become a good writer, but I love this article that encourages one to just write it down.

Steemit is the best place to practice- practicing is the only thing that will make a good writer :)

I agree that it blogging everyday has helped me cope with some of my problems and from someone who was suffering a major depression episode 6 months ago to a somewhat okay person who is able to more things now.

When I started all I did was talk about my pain and depression but have changed a lot and Steemit saw my journey.

Writing is so healing! You have an amazing story <3

Writing through the trauma I endured early this year certainly helped. I believe if I hadn't my PTSD would be great greater than it is now...

As always, you have so much good advice! and thank you for mentioning the freewrite! Are you coming to the 200 days party? Registration is open now! 😄

Thank you hun :)

Consider me RSVP'd ;)

Now, as long as my poor holey brain allows the memory, I'll be there every day! Lol

I know!! I can't believe how much I forget!!! 🤪

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Good tips you have there.
For me it’s the stress of having to come up with a topic that plays a big role. Once I’ve started writing, it’s hard to stop.
I’ve only seldom felt the feeling of self-confidence, though. Since I am a ediocre writer on a platform of excellent writers, and by far not as intelligent as a lot of them are, so often I experience the opposite

What part of finding topics do you find is the most difficult?

I completely agree with you that writing is an amazing way to work through it all. I wrote in diary everyday while I was growing up and it helped me cope with everything that was going on. With Steemit I've started writing again and it made me realise that it was stupid of me to have stopped in the first place. Amazing how much more sense something makes once you've written through it.

I used to work in a diary every day, too. It's truly finding how much it helps!

I'm not sure why I stopped... It was stupid, lol.

It is almost like I am your unknown poster child for what you have been advising lately. I knew I wasn't a writer when I came here, in fact I didn't like writing at all, but I forced myself to at least write one paragraph each day and post it as my daily dose.
Now I totally enjoy it and go through my day paying a lot more attention to the little things and the details because at the end of the day I select something to write about from that day.
Someday's I do have something planned but those days are few and far between. I have learned to train myself to absorb everything just in case I need it at the end of the day when I pull the lap top out.

That is your style, embrace it! And it makes you a unique asset to the community :)

Congratulations @arbitrarykitten! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

as in the laws of attraction.positive thoughts brings you positive results and negative thoughts gives you negative results.practice makes you a master of your skills and learning widens your perception.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76