Do you Choose Quality or Quantity?

in #steemit6 years ago

A recent post I read rallying for a "Minnows Uprising" finally got me out of this writing rut. I enjoy reading the author’s blog and the post is one of positivity and growth. In short summary, the author is asking us all to be active on the blockchain.

“Post 3-4 times a day, everyday throughout the month of July.”

I only have one question.

What should we post about?


One may assume that I am trying to be a smartass, but I’m really not. In all sincerity, what do we post about?

I have not been posting often because it is challenging to find time to write. I do try to post once a week, but even finding time for one post is challenging. Most days, I just don't have any topic of significance to blog on.


Quality or Quantity?


Followers of a blog are accustomed to the writing content of an author. Some authors spend hours in writing a post. I would think these authors won’t be able to meet the goal of posting 3-4 times a day.

Other authors can easily post 3-4 times a day with photography or meme posts. There is no significant time invested in producing these type of posts.

Is the path to success here now with posting quantity over quality?

Let's Go for Quantity!

Would any one of these posts qualify me as being “active” here on the platform?

Flower pictures for contests?


Hydrangeas from my garden on a bright and sunny day. Might as well take this opportunity to enter a photo contest!
DSC4143.jpg

Should I write one of my song posts?


I haven’t discovered any new songs. I am still listening to "Carry You" by Ruelle on a daily basis, the song which was inspiration for my Selenia Sky story. Some of my followers don't share the same taste in music 😝.

Should I share my lunch/dinner?


Dinner at Texas Roadhouse over the weekend. Love the honey rolls there! I took several bites of the ribs before remembering to take a food photo.
texas.jpg

Should I write a post mentioning all the great Steemians out there?


There are plenty!

divider3.jpeg

I would be happy to hear how you choose to Steemit!

beeyou copy-paula.final.jpg

Images original except below:
Ruelle, Divider

Sort:  

Post 3-4 times a day, everyday throughout the month of July.

Ugh! I didn't see the original post you are referencing, but I very much think we should choose quality over quantity! Encouraging people to write 3-4 posts per day just for the sake of posting will just add more junk for everyone else to filter through.

I would encourage everyone to only post when they have a something really important or valuable to say, and take their time to write it clearly and properly.

As for the rest of the time, I think it would be better to really read and understand other people's posts and write thoughtful comments in response. If instead of "post 3 - 4 times / day" it was "comment 3 - 4 times per day" I think it would be much better.

Quality comments help increase the overall quality of the original post, and that is something Steem currently lacks right now in my opinion. Also new users without a big follow can probably earn more from upvotes to good comments than they would for good posts.

I think we should all go for quality above all. Just my two cents though!

Hi Matt. Appreciate you stopping by to share your thoughts. :)

I share the same sentiments. Share your interests but do so because you want to share what is important to you, not simply for the sake of posting. Especially if there is community support from others.

I do wonder how people have so many topics to write about!

Quality comments help increase the overall quality of the original post, and that is something Steem currently lacks right now in my opinion. Also new users without a big follow can probably earn more from upvotes to good comments than they would for good posts.

Absolutely agree! In fact, @gentlebot gave me an upvote on a recent comment made on a @steemmonsters's post that will earn me more than my last post 😁.



I understand the message behind "Minnows Rising", but time constraints hinder me from participating in this movement. The post was informative!

https://steemit.com/steem/@taskmaster4450/kc9rg-steem-the-time-for-a-minnow-uprising-is-getting-closer-overwhelm-the-system

Exactly my thoughts, @yabapmatt. There is more than enough junk on here already. We really don’t need even more.

Love the Hydrangeas, I was horrible and murdered the ones in my garden in a botched landscaping job. Now I live in regret.

I’m at 18 actual posts that are mine and 788 comments. It’s an appalling result as far as productivity on Steemit for me, and a constant dilemma, do I bother or do I simply just go back to working on my private projects?

My first 4 posts were shitposts because I was finding my way, since then I chose quality over quantity be because it would pull at my conscience that I’m junking up the blockchain. But really, every time I think of just writing a random musing, I’m just not inspired to do so. I think it really comes from an instilled habit of not wanting to leave a big footprint on the Net too. I’d prefer to put my best forward, so I’m not cringing too much when I look back later. It’s all permanent on the blockchain!

Almost missed this one beeyou, you’re not a quantity person! ;)

Those poor hydrangeas! All because they were in the wrong place at the wrong time Hehe, I'm just playing with you.

It’s an appalling result as far as productivity on Steemit for me, and a constant dilemma, do I bother or do I simply just go back to working on my private projects?

Do you mean you are contemplating leaving Steemit? I know you don't post often, but your posts are well received, imo (for being fairly new). You are a great writer and artist. You also have the community support of a witness which is very helpful in growing on here.

Our stories are similar because I know you are also a working professional with a family. At times, it is hard to justify the time we spend on here because the time invested to "put our best forward" is detrimental to another facet of life. It is the friends I've made on here that still keep me here, tbh.

I hope you find the perfect balance so you can still time for both steemit and the real world/private projects.

Can’t upvote your comment, past payout, I’m trying to conserve my valuable 0.01 cent votes now. ;) But just wanted you to know this is one of my favorite replies to date, and it’s to do with the sense that someone else similar to me understands.

Will I quit Steemit? I take the attitude that I couldn’t. Not as long as I have people here I care to drop a comment to let them know that I take an interest in them. I’ve actually promised my husband that I’d take a break from Steemit once I get a few outstanding posts I’ve been meaning to do done, but as he observes: “You keep giving yourself more Steemit commitments!”

He’s right.

I sincerely thank you for what you expressed here:

At Times, it is hard to justify the time we spend on here because the time invested to “put our best forward” is detrimental to another facet of life.

I feel it can easily slide to detrimental. I came to steemit primarily to seek inspiration for my stagnant project, that being my novel. I find more and more reasons to be drawn away from it, trying new things! Steemit is becoming one massive distraction/addiction, but it’s not like I’m even posting or earning to ‘rewards’. It’s counter productive. So at some point, as is my nature, I will shut myself down for a bit, if I don’t see more productivity. I have a self-eject mechanism when I see I do myself (or others) more harm than good.

Thank you for your encouraging words. The way I’ve always seen it, as long as I’m earning more than a dollar then I am winning!! Yay!! Does virtual cartwheel

If only I wasn’t a lazy perfectionist...

Hey Linny, I just saw your reply. I will loop back around tonight. I have to run, weekends are so crazy busy and I am late as always.

Btw, you’re not a lazy perfectionist. You take pride in your work and nothing is wrong with that. 🙂

All’s good, beeyou. We both get it how busy life gets, so don’t feel you need to reply. I was just wanting you to know your commentary was greatly appreciated. ❤️ I strangely feel so tired over here myself, and I’m always behind. You stay well!

Thanks @beeyou, this is a conversation I have with myself all the time.

I actually aspire to write more lower quality posts more often, haha! My monthly resolution for June was to post more often, hence the new account. I've joined Steepshot, so maybe that will help? But I'm usually a bit of a perfectionist plus I'm a pretty slow writer - that's a baaaaad combination on Steemit! Of course it's demotivating - there's nothing like putting hours of though and effort into a post and getting .04 cents - but I'm in no hurry, I know it takes time to build followers and all of that. Just need a bit of patience.

I'd like to think that quality wins out over quantity in the end though!

At the same time I think it would help if I just got over myself and posted more often!

Thanks! And I think you should do the food and the music blogs, who doesn't like food and music!?!? :)

All the best from Thailand :)

Hey alter-ego. :) I also agree quality over quantity. I have my personal account for photo contest entries, but even there, I still can't get myself to simply add a picture with no writing. I have to force myself to write something even though I know no one will ever read it there. That's just me, and I see you feel the same way as well about writing a decent post.

It does take time to build followers, but the reality is, networking in the right circle is the determinant of success on here. You and your wife could continue writing awesome daily posts on traveling and crypto analysis, but it would still be difficult to get ahead unless you join a community. Most people with kids (and a life) simply don't have the time to network and write, but networking it seems, is more important than writing quality content.

I will still write my music posts now and then when I find a song I like, hehe, even though some of my more dedicated followers have no interest at all in my taste of songs. To them, 😜.

Life is just too busy and as you can see, I end up taking bites of my food before a photo shoot. I just don't think I am a social media blogger, tbh.

Enjoy your family time! I cannot believe how fast kids grow. Is the time invested on here worth losing a second of that time? I wonder myself.

Hey! I just noticed your response, thanks for taking the time!

Great point about time. You're exactly right, if the price of Steemit success is to take away time from my family, I'm out. I think we've done pretty good about being present with the munchkin. We've made it a rule not to be on these silly screen things in front of the kid, so like you say, there's no way I'm going to be a Steemit Superstar when I only have limited time to invest. But I'm super okay with that :) If it happens, it will take a lot of time, but I'm fairly patient. We just don't want to model that type of behavior and...screens speed up time. Since our little one joined us, I'm not interested in speeding time up, not even a little bit. I want to sloooooow time down!

We also make Sundays screen-free (that's why my response to you is late) :) This helps us focus on each other and think about other things and helps us get out of the house!

Hope all is well, warm greetings from Thailand :) Oh, and what's your personal account name?

I would say quality over quantity. I like your photo - the idea of entering contests is a good one. You can earn from the post, and each post also has a chance to win something so overall you should earn more.

I don't buy the 3 or 4 post per day idea, at least for me, because I don't have enough followers. Steemit has less than a 10% user retention rate. I have just over 900 followers - so in reality that may only be something like 70 to 100 active followers. Those few followers are not going to vote for me four times per day - where will the votes come from? More importantly, where would I come up with material for four posts per day? I would end up posting junk. I might do better to post 3 times per week, and then network & upvote like crazy on the other days to try to drum up some support.

Hi @keithboone, thanks for stopping by. I didn't expect someone new stopping by my blog. :)

I might do better to post 3 times per week, and then network & upvote like crazy on the other days to try to drum up some support.

Your proposal is more reasonable. I used to post 3 times a week, but that hasn't happened in some time. What I liked about your rant post from the other day, is that you still took the time to write a good post (although frustrated with the ecosystem on here). Most people would simply put up a meme or giphy with a one-word rant, but you had pretty flowers instead with a well-written rant.

Networking it seems, is the magic formula on here. I didn't quite know what to expect of steemit when I first joined, but it sure did not include having to join high school clubs all over again. I thought I left those days in the past.

Yes, high school all over again. It feels like that at times. I'm afraid I'm not good at networking.

3-4 'quality' posts per day is a full time time job. That is all well and good for anyone who has plenty of time on their hands, which I suspect the majority don't have. Also 3-4 quality posts per day would eventually devolve into race of who can post as much as possible. There is no way that quality would be maintained in this scenario, without the time factor mentioned earlier. I can post 10 memes per day, but what good would that do anyone? Also, who is going to upvote my content at that output? It certainly won't justify the time and effort needed to post quantity, whilst still maintaining quality.!

Also 3-4 quality posts per day would eventually devolve into race of who can post as much as possible. There is no way that quality would be maintained in this scenario.

That's what I was thinking too. How does one maintain quality when shooting for quantity? I would love to be able to produce numerous quality posts in a day so my earning is enough to cover that $3 cup of iced tea at Texas Roadhouse, but we all can't get what we want!

Time factor, as you mentioned, is of big importance. Sadly, the time required to engage or write quality posts are simply not a reality for many of us. So what do we do? Dilemma, dilemma. Btw, thanks for the RS on my photography post! 😉

OK, here's the solution. But please keep this strategy to yourself. Just post any random photo 4 times per day, making sure you tag the richest steemians in every post. The content is not that important except for one particular detail. Make sure to write something super nice and endearing to them all. You don't want them to get pissed now, do you! Eventually you may get that $20+ upvote per post...or you will just get flagged. Risk Vs Reward 😂 🔫

How about I start with posting this picture of a weed and tag you @palikari123, and let you know you have the most fabulous ideas!

Too bad you're not a whale. ;)

_DSC3825.JPG

I can help you with the weeds:)

Hello @beeyou hope you're doing great.
I resonate so much with this post because that has been my reality with Steemit lately as well. After all, I would say that I would suggest everyone to choose quality over quantity.

It seems to me unproductive for this plattform to start writing just about anything only for quantity purposes, just because it would directly reflect what's wrong with the technology now a days.

We've learned to google everything, not to read that many books, to follow the rule of "being active on social media" only so that others can see what you're doing and where you're at.

On the other hand though.. everybody learns from their mistakes even more than from successes. So I encourage everyone to write their heart out. Only that way, one is able to get to know itself as a writer.

Me personally, I'm really just coming back to steemit, because I was not sure where to take my blog. So instead of filling it up with just about anything, I developed a plan.

There are people that enjoy making other people waste time, I'm just not one of them and neither are you.. Thats what I like about your blog.

Hope youre having a great day!

@DeXvid

Hey @dexvid. It really has been some time! I had looked forward to reading more of your posts, but I understand the challenges of life and wanting to establish your identity on here. My posts have been all over the place about steemit, songs, comedic writing, and lately, fiction writing 😂. I've been here longer than you and have yet to discover my identity.

You did say you developed a plan for yourself! Good for you. Your posts are well-written and thought-out. I look forward to reading more of your writing.

There are people that enjoy making other people waste time, I'm just not one of them and neither are you..

The beauty of social media is that you can easily follow/unfollow a person. There is no reason to follow someone whose writing doesn't resonate. We have enough content on/off Steemit to read. The challenging part is finding the time to read them all.

You always write thoughtful comments (I know it has been some time but I still do remember your comments). I really appreciate it. :)

I say go for it... lol

I know there is no way in hell you are going to write 3 or 4 posts a day.... It is hard for you to even comment on the comments on your couple of posts a week... Imagine all those replies to 20 to 30 posts for the week :P

Comments will be the downfall of us all, lol. The smart ones know not to reply to comments; unless it benefits them, of course.

No, I could never write 3 or 4 posts a day. I just don't have anything interesting to write about, to be honest.

@beeyou that is why you need fast reply... You can clean those comments up in no time ;)

I replied to that post asking the exact same question. Writing a post often takes me an entire day: first I write the content on my phone. Then I need to select the images I want to use and then put the entire post together using my tablet.

The author replied with a tip to use different apps to make multiple posts: a ‘normal post’, a Steepshot post, a Steemhunt post, and one using Parley, for example.

I personally don’t like Parley posts, and looking for a good Steemhunt post takes up quite some time too, so although I like the initial idea they are about to launch, I think I will stick to my normal schedule. I do prefer quality over quantity...

It seems everyone who reads my blog prefers quality over quantity. Being like-minded is probably the reason why we read each other's posts. I know you take time with your posts and it shows.

I wonder how many people would participate in this uprising. I think the only way people would be able to make that many posts a day is if they have no little children and have tons of free time on hand. Or start posting on steepshot, dmania, of that sorts. I've never used any of those other apps myself. I'm still trying to learn this one! Although I was advised to move over to busy. Maybe I will try them

I barely use them myself, mostly because I'm too lazy to switch sites on my phone. I would be using the Steepshot app more often for my alt account, but the app won't work properly.

I just checked the uprising tag, and of the 4 latest posts, there were 3 made through Parley. I hope this won't become a new trend, because if I want to read the newspapers, I will go to the news sites. If people would at least edit the standard Parley-text underneath the image, so there would be still something personal about the post...

It definitely got my attention, and I will follow up on it. Just curious to see where it goes...

You forgot option C. Just be rich and post sbout what ever you want and upvote yourself for $100. I would go with option C.

Lol the best option. Option C it Is!

Hell yes it is.

DC, you sure do get straight to the point!

But you have more fun now.

On a serious note. (Go ahead and laugh ) I have to ask is a quality post only considered that if it is xxxx letters long and a 10 minute read? I mean look at the trash on front page where jerry and yallapoppi drone on for 20 minutes and say nothing at all. Or gringalicious posting a picture of a peanut butter sandwich and smashing it with the thesourus calling it a palletable delacasie topped with a mix berry spread and hand crushed nuts then hitting it with a $150 self bid. ? I am tired of it. I will build myself into Thors mighty hammer and smite them with great vengeance and furious anger. Ok back to fart jokes now. Oh and have fun with this response Grammer nazis bot. Lol

Quality is subjective to the user. You may think one as quality and I think of it as a crap post. I think if people invest time into writing a post though, it can be deem worthy to someone in some ways because that BS might make someone laugh (at the person, not with the person). The issue more with trending is the person deeming their post is worthy of that bidbot value, not of the post material itself, right? If I wrote a PB&J food post and only bidbot it to $50, no one would have a problem with it. So it is the behavior that is frowned upon, not the quality of the post, per se. Although I still think my cookie post was way funnier than the other cookie post in trending.

I still don't know what to make of this platform. I'm starting to understand why people would invest in here and sell their votes or passively delegate. Why bother writing? Not many people will read the post unless you are in the right circle. User your Thor hammer and strike terror down on here. ;)

Always working on it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71