Help Wanted!

in #steemit5 years ago

Montevideo-2192-Steamer.jpg
Artwork in Montevideo

Help Wanted!

Okay, help me somebody!? This is only a short piece about an important question that lingers in my mind. So far, I guess I have understood how Steemit works. That includes, but is not limited to the 'reputation system'. While my eyes are somewhat focused at the numbers on top of my blog, I have now come to understand that there is a deeper mystery that throws any theory of mine about how this works off the tracks.

In the same way I have no real good idea about what the picture painted on a wall in Montevideo is supposed to represent. I called it 'Steamer', but would also be happy to figure out what it is.

Here is my own header:

being-the-universe-header-02-09-2019.jpg

As You can see, there appears to be a quite balanced relationship of the numbers. My reputation is '49', which I consider to be excellent now, after having investigated the number that says 'Followers'. The screen captures below are but a selected few, where I found a rather unbalanced relationship between 'reputation', posts, 'Followers' and 'Following':

9391-followers.jpg

6368-followers.jpg

4897-followers.jpg

4774-followers.jpg

2682-followers.jpg

Especially the last capture shows most exquisitely what I am talking about. The reputation number is '0'. The account has 9558 posts, which are all re-steemed. There are no real posts in this and all the other accounts. Only re-steems. However, the account has 2682 'Followers' and is 'Following' 148,002 accounts. Based on personal experiences, I really doubt that there are 148,002 users on Steemit. Proof me wrong and I will be most happy. But as it stands now, I am highly suspicious about these numbers. In addition, while I appreciate having real people in the flesh following my attempts to provide content that entertains, or even creates some sort of change of view in regards to our 'reality', I am somewhat dazed and confused about all these 'Followers' accounts that were all created March 2018, have a very low reputation and no posts on their own.

My question is therefore:

What's Up With That?

Any answers will be appreciated and although I cannot reward them, I will keep in mind who cared to enlighten me in this matter.

Thank You very much and smoke 'em if You got 'em.

Sort:  

Hey, @beingtheuniverse!

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steem community project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official website or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server.

Additional comment: Hey there, it is nice you want to learn more about steem and steemit. The reputation score is not directly related to the number of followers, it is related to how other users evaluate your content or better said - your earnings. The last example you posted shows the account which probably posts a lot of spam and gets flagged by the community.
Best regards
@hidden84

Thank You so much! It really helps me to get deeper into the matter. It is always good to have something comprehended. :-)

Reputation is directly related to the rewards an account has gained through upvotes and/or lost by being flagged. Even a very high reputation can be brought to negative values if enough high staked flags are brought against them.

Such flagging is normally done to counter spammers, etc.. One technique of such spammers/gamers of the system is to follow as many accounts as possible. There is a natural human trait which tends to be if soneone follows you then many folks will follow back. However with a little investigation, as you have done, there is no way that anyone can make any sense of their feed with 14k of followers to curate. Such large amount of accounts being followed should be a red flag as to the credability of the account.

Hope that may clear up a few of your questions.

P.S. The picture looks like a still for making alcohol to me; yet perhaps that is more a statement to my wasted youth.

Thank You once more! Now I will have to re-scan the 'followers', that I followed in turn.
Yesterday and today were the first days on a bicycle again. After some years of not having pedaled a bike. I feel it. 20 is such a long time ago...

A still would be nice. Or a gravity impeller. When I made it, I had just realized that black and white are not the shades of greatest contrast. Somebody once created a blue and red something with real high contrast. It hurt to look at it. Impossible to focus. As blurry as it comes. So, I decided to take it a few notches down, but maintain the red/blue contrast. Life is high contrast nowadays. Paired with a halo of energy.

Biking is, somewhat, a passion of mine. Glad to hear you're back in the saddle. 😎

You may be interested in my modest biking series. A link is included below for your viewing plessure.

http://trollkeep.com/steem/nnsbt.html

I could tell You about being back in the saddle. Imagine the following: to where I need to go, it is about four kilometers. About three to the closest Mercado to me. So, first I ride the four kilometers to my veterinary. There is a supermarket of the same brand close to the veterinarian, but I decide to ride to the one closer to home. I started shopping and it ended when the bread that I buy was out. I rode back to the super mercado close to my veterinarian when it started to rain. "Whatever", I thought, because I needed bread and a few other groceries. All is well, even though they try to over charge me for the salami. Instead of UYU 76.00, I was supposed to pay UYU 760.00.

Since I did not have enough cash to cover the 760 plus, I said "That doesn't work." To which she responded "Yeah, I know. It's the salami. We'll take care of that."

Yesterday morning I wanted to have a nice breakfast with the bread I had bought. Unfortunately, the thing was severely molded. No breakfast with that bread. Therefore I had to do pretty much the same exercise yesterday as I did the day before. After not having been in the saddle for years. And I do like a more comfortable saddle for sure. :-)

Don't get discouraged. The pain will pass! 😆

Congratulations @beingtheuniverse! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thank You very much! Looking forward to the 2000th upvote. :-)

Mahalo nui loa! May the Universe bless Your kindness. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63994.25
ETH 3062.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94