224 Days On Steemit

in #steemit4 years ago (edited)

I've been using Steemit in some capacity, whether posting or experimenting with one of the many dapps, for about six straight months since I created this account 224 days ago. For the most part my experience has been a pleasant one. Despite little colloquialisms that appear to be designed for no person, even a seasoned programmer, to ever understand, and tiny pockets of basement dwelling freakshows, banding together like herds of moronic monkeys huffing nitrous oxide in a closet - pushing their agenda on unwitting subjects - the Steemian community as a whole is very receptive to newcomers and encouraging for someone like myself to provide new and original content. Even if just a tweaking or reboot, just one's own depiction of an invention or idea that has already come to fruition by other means, the Steemit community rewards for content that is truly your own and truly original, and that I think is its greatest characteristic.

I think the adventure collectively known as steemit, including the countless dapps tethered to the steem blockchain, is not for everyone. I've noticed most people who call this place their social media "home", like I am beginning to do myself, for lack of a better term are outcasts in their professional and/or personal lives in one way or another. Whether our reasoning be higher intellect levels, radically differing opinions on topics compared to what is considered "normal", or some other reason that identifies us as a social dissident or the proverbial Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer among our so-called peers, it is my opinion that mass adoption of Steemit is not only very unlikely, but also not wanted.

Personally speaking, I'm glad about that. I don't want Steemit to turn into Facebook or Twitter or whatever social media outlet is the trending flavour of the month. I sound like an elitist saying this, but sometimes I feel like I'm part of an exclusive club that only certain individuals are allowed to be a part of. After all, my so-called peers and colleagues out in the "normal" world wouldn't grasp the smallest bit of Steemit. They wouldn't care to be educated on it anyway. Just explaining the login keys alone scares most people away. I say good. Keep them away. Look what has happened to typical social media platforms, they've become nothing more than shills for trillion-dollar corporations, pumping more advertising and pushing more wares down our throats. Many people who were once integral members of the unseen entities that would rebel against that machine of greed and despair now fall prey to it, tantalized by thoughts of fame, and of riches, and of power. I guess I can't really blame them, had the opportunity shown itself to me, I may have made a similar decision.

Anyway, that's my personal view on the Steemian community as of today, 224 days in. I'd like to thank the actual humans who read this post. It seems as though Steemit is becoming very automated, riddled with more and more bot accounts lately. Bots are useful and helpful to a certain degree, but I believe the humans who are creating these automated armies and letting them loose should be a little bit more responsible with the knowledge they possess and govern their creations more cautiously. By no means should they be the foundation of Steem. Let's keep it as human as humanly possible for now. At least until our robot overlords tell us differently...

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Steem platform will mostly like remain a niche for as long as it exists.

It's fine though, even if it can gain 1% of the users FB or other mainstream media does, it's a huge win for everyone here.

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 1.61% upvote from us for your 152 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Hi, @bitcoingodmode!

You just got a 0.51% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72