Pledge to Take an Interest in my New Followers.

in #steemit5 years ago

I have been racking my brains lately about how to help out some of the newcomers to the platform and also reel in a few followers in the process before the crypto currency wheels start turning again. Should I start giving some of the newbies an S.B.I share each if they follow me? But then if I got 2000 followers in the morning I'd be on the pot noodles for the month cursing my own stupidity.
q241q0gyxg.png

I used to search for new followers in the introduce yourself hashtag but I feel like one of the Christian missionaries in Africa singing Kumbaya Lord. Likewise the newbie Steemians reminds me of the Irish getting off the boat in Ellis Island after being on a coffin ship for 6 weeks. All wide eyed surviving their 6 weeks of hell on sea thinking of a bright future earning loads of steem. They receive their first shiny penny for a good post. They then spend a couple of months journeying through the great barron plains of the USA before they join a group dying to get some food and to come in out of the cold. Welcoming the new Steemians to Ellis Island takes ages and they have not grasped the concept yet so it's wasted energy on my part.

riv578mm82.png

But I have to do something.
So from now on anyone who takes the time to follow little old me I will go to their account and read a few of their posts and give at least 80% upvote the posts I like best.

Now I'm not saying I am loaded with a huge upvote. It is around 10 cent. but this is the least I can do. When i started out and I received a ten cent upvote i was delighted. I still am. It benefits me too because some of these people may end up being my good friends and eventually drinking buddy at Steemfest someday!

But I was surprised how little this happens. I shouldn't be even writing a post. But I have been upvoting, commenting and following quite a few people on Steemit on a daily basis and never once did some of them consider making a comment on a post of mine that they may like on my page. Now my posts in their opinion may be really shit but a comment on the least shittiest one wouldn't go astray. Just a little gesture to acknowledge that you have been reading their posts and giving them money everyday. A simple token is all. 1% and a little comment even if it is a negative one:
This shit post just burned my retina's. I am now blind and you have ruined my life. Goodbye you Irish Leprechaun imbecile Anything. It doesn't matter. I'd be happy they went on and made an effort.

Now I get that the big whaleys don't have the time to be answering all the comments from the thousands of brownnosers but there are only 30 something of them so I will give them a free pass. Half of them are as mad as a sack of monkeys anyway. If one of them upvotes you, another one may flag you and you are awake for the night with the all the Ginabot chimes (Yes it has happened. Bloop Bloop Bloop).
My Wife: Who the fuck is that?
Me: Nobodyyyyy (highpitch y)
My Wife: Are you having an affair?
Me: Course Not
My Wife: So tell me who it is?
Me: ahhhhhhh @berniesanders and @fulltimegeek are having an auld barney called a flag war. They will be grand by the morning.
My wife: What the f... I'd prefer if you were actually having the affair you sad [insert expletive]!
bloop bloop bloop

It's the middle class that aren't doing it. Too big for their boots to converse with the little minnows and planktons. Only upvoting the larger accounts to get the curation or a comment or two on their own posts giving the minnows a few morsels to keep them from hunger. One comment on someone with lots of steem today made me laugh alot.

Example:
You are such a good person. I would like to be you someday. I would like to congratulatey you on your great life.

All it was missing was an oh wise one or your eminence. Considering their new hero is just a guy that got lucky betting on a currency a couple of years ago. Come on now. You can get an upvote on your comment without lowering yourself to this kind of stuff but I am seeing more and more of it. Maybe these people cannot get an upvote without absolutely vanishing up an authors bum to feed that authors ego.

e7h0zzdh42.png

So I started already. I will really start making more of an effort from the morning. I eagerly await people to follow me so I can read their great posts!

End rant.

Sort:  

haha! sir blanchy! where's the comedy tag? This is hilarious. so many great lines in here like this one "a comment on the least shittiest one wouldn't go astray." lol.

I know. There are many accounts that I've been following for months, commenting and upvoting daily and they've never been to my blog as far as I know. I haven't had much luck with smaller accounts either, most of them disappear after awhile.

But I salute your effort sir blanchy, good luck!

That's a nice idea. I try to do the same, although I haven't been entirely consistent with it. My vote is nothing, but a comment is a morale boost. I don't ever make much on my posts, I just value them off the comments. Now that you have brought this up, I will make a point of being more friendly too.

All those curies should be adding up at this stage @ginnyannette! Yeah the comments are the thing. When all the bots have fallen away it’s the people who comment that stay connected .

Ha, those curies are the bulk of my account value. I'm hoping to get one more before March 10th, which is my one year posting anniversary, to bump me to a 60. I'm so close :)

I am already following you. ✔︎

Sure you're me aul flower @rebeccabe. We go back a long way! How could I forget you!

yay! I am overjoyed in your post explaining you care about new folks.

I was new last July and was about to leave when someone upvoted one of my posts. It was a major deal and made me stick with it . I hope I can do the same.

Listen blanch, I unfollowed you then followed you again so I hope that qualifies me for the big vote. I'm gonna make the effort to post more often so I can take full advantage. Thanks for this. You're such a good person.

Your on my autovote weirdy ! Away on a hack so ya are with your catapulting cars ! You had me at bleedn wot.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Yer the best

Hi friend,
Or you could look at our @heyhaveyamet where we show Some off the outstanding newcomers to the platform, bet you didnt know that i do more than shop at the PRI

I will check it out @brittandjosie. Thanks a million.

No thanks , i am just the messenger and i like welcoming newbies too

Noodles welcome!

Posted using Partiko Android

Can I just take the SBI share instead. There was too much sarcasm for an Irish man to take in that one post. I wouldn't be used to it over this side of the country.

Posted using Partiko Android

@niallon1 me aul sichoska course you can have an SBI share. You and me slowly paying off Irelands national debt. 1 sbi at a time.

I think we should take over the country. Couldn't do a worse job of running it anyway, that's for sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @blanchy!

You just got a 33.89% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

We also have a new discord called Steemterminal an initiative by @xcountytravellers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36