Steemit: Plate Spinning the platform with everyday life.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Everyday I see experts outline the problems facing Steemit. I read a post today that had taken me from Portugal to Ireland on a flight to read including the comments. That was 2 and a half hours. I'd say it took the guy around a week to write. It was brilliant but there was a strong reaction to it. Whales powering down , the end of crypto, problems with bid-bots taking 70% of the curation etc etc. Arguments among the whales holding thousands of Steempower about the problems facing the platform. In my opinion the biggest threat to Steemit happens to be the same as the biggest threat to Golf. And that is TIME. Age old time. In order to grow , you have to put the work in. Proof of Brain. But proof of brain takes time, something that is getting very precious in our lives these days.

il_340x270.471105921_h6s4.jpg

Advertisers are making everything shorter because attention spans are not as long anymore. Milennials want everything NOW. Those ten second posts between facebook videos are the new method of advertising. They have ten seconds to sell me a product. Ten seconds is a long time in the world of youtube and facebook.
The millennial's grew up with information at their fingertips and they want results quicker. I fear that Steemit will not be for them. It is one thing to post on Steemit but in order to grow you have to put in work in other ways. The best way to grow is to find a group of like minded people. . Strength is in numbers so you have to build your network. To do this you have to read read read, comment, upvote, and follow. You also have to keep up with posts on discord and the new projects that are starting everyday.

Once you build a network where you are comfortable with, they will upvote your posts and comment which means you obviously return the favour. So before you post up one of your pieces , you spend 30 minutes commenting and upvoting making sure you haven't missed anyone. Lots of plate spinning.
You go on discord to join a hangout and maybe DM a few of your homies. You get a comment notification and you answer this. A laugh and a joke which leads to another comment. You then get a more cryptic one with a Steemian disagreeing with your opinion. This takes more time as you have to have a think about how to word your reply. Lots of plate spinning indeed

I do enjoy Steemit and all it's wonders. All the problems on the platform will be ironed out by the genius's that made it the way it is . I have every confidence in them. But time is the problem. I am writing this while my toddler has a nap and she is waking up now so I have to leave it at this.
Blanchy

SB_new.png

Sort:  

Your observation is quite apt. Let us observe what the changes bring in the coming future

Hi @blanchy. Yes, time is required in order to get to a comfortable point on here. Honestly believe smt's and the likes will change this place and maybe growth will be sped up. Steem will be the key though as it holds the power over anything else on the platform.

Time definitely is of essence, we have to give it time to grow and while we let it grow, we should network as well, that's how we grow!

sir blanchy! sounds like it's too rough on you, don't think you'll last much longer but it was nice knowing you while it lasted.
I heard the geniuses that got us here aren't going to address the problems of steemit but just concentrate on the projects of the blockchain.

Il be around for a while yet my friend! They should stick to this project. It’s the best one !

sir blanchy! "for a while" ..oh...so you AREN'T totally committed huh? very interesting. you're probably out searching for other online activities as we speak! lol.
Hey what about this sbi thing, are we supposed to send each other those things and what is the advantage of finding someone to send each other to?

Well sir Janton the advantage is that if you send someone one then both of you get one . So if you send me 1. It get one and you get one . You have to send them to someone and you can’t send them to yourself. It may as well be someone you know that is going to return the favour. Therefore you both spend your steem instead of just you. But both of you will always benefit and you will build your sbi getting more money in your upvotes. 100 sbi is the target. There can only be 100 in one pool. But there are 9 pools so you could have 900 so far. In the good times these paid $5 apparently so it’s worth getting them now

I have my fingers in a lot of pies but this one , I am in it for the long haul. I’d miss slagging you too much of I left!

I hear you on this problem... I start to wonder if there are better things to do with my time other than doing the rounds of Discord and drumming up publicity for an hour or so each day. I could just work in real life and convert fiat to crypto...

Sigh, and I quit Facebook ages ago because of this problem of it eating up my time...

Yeah was thinking of quoting Facebook myself. Do you miss it?

Not at all, I don't miss any social networking site. Steem is in danger of chewing up more time than I'm willing to give... I wouldn't be going back to anything else, just going back to enjoying life without a posting schedule!

Steemit has been around for only two years and will need so time to grow. For the meantime I just enjoy posting, doing what I love doing and meeting awesome people. While we wait as you said strength in numbers will always go a long way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98