Steemit Wallet...Did I Miss An Announcement?!?

in #steemit5 years ago

13486262-2148-4DDD-9FBE-B44289BE9C3B.jpeg

So I just popped onto Steemit.com and noticed a change in how the wallet area is presented. It currently just shows Steem Power and then a link to Go To Wallet which then proceeds to bring you to Steemit Wallet Beta. I haven’t logged in yet to poke around as I don’t have my login info with me on the fly but I’m just wondering...did I miss something?!?

I didn’t hear anything about this change. I am an idiot though and possibly missed a formal announcement but a few folks I’ve spoken to are in the dark with me. Any answers? Is this a permanent feature? If I missed it, my apologies...but Wouldn’t it be good to let folks know of these types of changes before they happen or even when they happen?!?

Thoughts

Sort:  

Yeah I was tripping out about that too. I don't recall hearing about it but when I wrote a post similar to this one they directed me to an article about it.

It seems like more work and more risk but I'm no expert. You have to log in to use it and it seems like the more you use a password the more likely it is that something will go wrong.

It’s actually intended to do the opposite. Now Steemit.com won’t allow you to login with the more powerful keys that control funds. Too many people use these keys regularly. Now Steemit the website can actually be developed faster. Previously any website updates had to be very rigorously studied for security vulnerabilities since user funds are at risk. Now, with the wallet running as a completely separate application, those risks are greatly reduced.

Yeah I think I need to be more vigilant about checking these types of things. I guess a bunch of us do! lol

Follow @steemitblog from now on :-)

Posted using Partiko iOS

At this exact moment mine still looks normal. But I got a whole weird thing with my password the other day. Seemed like an extra security layer.

Mine was too, until I refreshed it and got the new wallet site and asked to log in again.

It is :-) You can’t do any financial transactions anymore on steemit.com which makes use of keys safer - and makes developing a nicer steemit.com easier as well since less security dangers are involved :-)

Posted using Partiko iOS

It was weird though... I have my password that came with the account or was generated when I joined steemit. And that password doesn’t match any of the ones on my steemit password page. Public keys... private keys. All different. So I got logged out of steemit. Logged back in with my password and got a message that the password I was using was too secure and I should use some other key to log on. Instead of doing that I freaked out and made a new master password but got the same message again.

This probably makes sense to you. It totally confused me. 😄

You're probably using the Master Key until now... Which most don't know but is the worst thing you can do. If you accidentally paste this somewhere or if your laptop gets hacked that's the one thing they need to control your full account :-) And the Master Key is the one thing you need if anyone ever breaks into your account to 'recover' your wallet via a recovery process.

You mostly need your Posting Key. That's a 'low level' key and if someone accidentally gets his hands on that one they can only post a comment or post with it - but not touch your wallet :-)

I just wrote a post and it includes a video that explains a lot! Hope that helps!

I love that you always know ALL the things! You are a treasure! 🤗

<3 <3 <3 I love being a nerd haha!

she's the best!

My wallet thing changed now too. So how do you power up or transfer steem/sbd now?

You can now do so on steemitwallet.com - if you use your Master Key I think it lets you now download a PDF with all your keys. If you combine that with the video I linked in my post I think you will understand better what they mean and how to use them. If not find me on Discord :D

I do but I didn’t see anything pop up. I even searched many different forms of wallet and such and nothing new came up. But I just popped over there and see something. I guess my dumbass has some reading to do. Lol

Maybe they can stick these or pin these types of changes or announcements for dumb people like myself or new people? Just a thought.

❤️

They do pin these things on the right sidebar om steemit.com. They’ve posted about this a few times before doing today’s ‘hard rollout’.

<3

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well that settles that then! Lol

I guess I have to do a better job of checking that out! Been here a year and never knew that. Pardon my stupidity!!!

Hahahaha - this is a new world @blewitt! I would never call anyone stupid for not knowing something :-) I think the pinning is a nice gimmick that was added only a few months ago, but in cases like this a 'pop-up' or very visible notification would be the only way to inform the masses in the best way possible :-) I'm prepared for many many many questions and shocked reactions about this ;-)

Why read for yourself when you can let @exyle do the reading and you can watch his videos instead? 🤷🏻‍♂️

We need a better way to get things seen here.. I was having many complaints and hadn’t noticed the update to the blog yet (as I hadn’t been in my feed) but yes, there was an announcement!

https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/social-condenser-is-live

Yeah, seeing as I am not the only one who missed it...lol

But I think all probably need to do a better job of paying attention to these things. Maybe have it pinned on top of the feed as most folks I am guessing aren't checking the sidebar? I dunno..

I know I do 99% of my Steemin’ on mobile where the sidebar pins & new market charts, etc. are non existent! I imagine there are a lot of folks who do the same.

Yup yup. I just had one of my buddies that I helped signed up text me as he thought he did something wrong.

Panic everywhere!!!! lol

It’s not you, we need a better option. They are working on a better explanation now and there may have been a suggestion for that red banner to reappear. We can’t depend on people scrolling their feed or checking the pinned post (that doesn’t show on mobile) to figure out these things.

Yeah that could be helpful as I would imagine most casual users and from what I have already seen today...lots of everyday users were as clueless as I was.

These are just growing pains that will all be figured out before we become a massive juggernaut! :)

I was about to ask the same thing... oops..

lol..lots of us in the dark I guess.

I was in the same boat as you to discover that this morning.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15