Posted For Your Pleasure

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

So much doom and gloom and unrealistic expectations about crypto, namely Steem, floating around that I thought I would get in on the act. You know that scene in Moonstruck when Nicolas Cage tells Cher he loves her. She looks at him a bit panicked, then slaps the shit out of him, tells him to snap out of it, and then slaps the shit out of him again? Yeah, that is what I would do to people screaming the end of crypto is near AND the ones saying Steem/crypto will not only rebound but go to the moon. Snap out of it! Crypto is finding a logical floor, and Steem is still way overvalued, in my opinion.

Here is an opinion piece I both agree AND disagree with. He does make good points, specifically that currencies are meant to be used, not hoarded. Diversify - get inflationary and deflationary coins, and use the suckers. Otherwise, you may get ulcers because I do not think we are at bottom and more pumping and dumping is coming our way.

https://www.msn.com/en-us/money/savingandinvesting/analysis-bitcoin-is-still-a-total-disaster/ar-BBLKIpo?ocid=AMZN

Sort:  

@boboxer, you are interesting to read!

So much noise out there. People must have high stakes on cryptocurrencies. I am in the for long term. I will see how things are in 5, 10 years time. I am too simple minded to understand the mechanics involved. So, I will sit back and let the market takes its course.

I think you are right - people put a bunch of cash into crypto and now they are panicking.

That is downright silly. Never gamble with money you can't afford to lose. They shouldn't invest, using fiat money, is that the word for cash? if they do not have faith in cryptocurrencies. Anyway, for acceptance and use of cryptocurrencies, we are talking about 5, 10 years down the road, isn't it?- or am I missing something here - so there is plenty of time for the cryptocurrencies to go up and down dozens of dozens of times. But what do I know right. Anyway...

People get carried away with the idea of getting rich quick with crypto, and they think all will be like bitcoin. Bitcoin took years to go anywhere and is unstable, but they see only the positive. I agree, five more years and that is if it becomes easier to obtain, trade, and use. So far I am not seeing any of those three on the horizon. Not to mention the fact that wallets scare the heck out of newbies because they seem so technical and frightening. I still get nervous when using a new one.

I am glad I am not the only noob around.
You are right about 'obtain, trade, and use'. I had this conversation with someone recently, and we agreed that the only way for cryptocurrency to become popular is for more big organization to start the ball rolling by accepting currency.
Anyway, we shall see. Cheers!

The sad truth is that no one knows where the bottom is, are we gonna start rising or keep dropping. In my opinion only time will tell but cryptos are far way from dead.Interesting times lie ahead :)

Crypto will be here long after I am gone. People just need to get realistic about them, and start using them so that businesses want to take them. A little stability will come with use.

I love Cher and I can't wait to hear her new album 🙄.

Seriously though, I am a bit late to the game and I haven't invested anything but time so I'm in it for the long haul. I agree it needs to stabilize to be used as an alternative currency. I'm just going to sit here and mine my free crypto. No sweat off my back

I agree. I have the rule to never invest fiat in crypto in amounts more than $20. I am sticking to it until i see crypto actually being used.

Is something wrong, @moonbot?

I see what happened it should be all fix and you should be caught up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43