Geek Friday!... Curation rewards!

in #steemit6 years ago

PSX_20180608_173320-01.jpeg

My latest geek project has been to maximize my curation rewards.

Steemit has had three distinct phases since I joined the beginning of the year.

Phase 1 was a 3 month commitment to try to figure out how to Steemit. It was winter, time was abundant.

Phase 2 saw a dedication to remain and continue to grow my account. It was Spring and time was scarce but topics to write about were abundant.

After Phase 1, I stopped reinvesting in myself. Most of my SBD was put into my Steem Power until this point.

I needed to have Steemit add value to my day. A good post doesn't just happen, the joy I receive from writing is abundant, but would fall into free time if that was all being measured. I needed to earn money.

During phase 2, I found a way to fit Steemit into my busy homestead days, but recognized the only way to do it was to maximize the value of the time it takes.

Begin Phase 3...maximizing my time and growing value on Steemit and on the Homestead.

Here's where my curation rewards geek project comes in. We all want votes! Votes are valuable to both the receiver and the granter.

This post is about the value to the GRANTER, Me!

Arriving as a new Steemian from the land of FB I had to learn the value of a vote. I voted away and had nothing much to show for it at the end of my three months trial in terms of monetary value. My curation total at that point was tiny, I have the number jotted somewhere inconvenient!

I was told about a time saving tool, Steemvoter and gave it a try.

Steemvoter grants a user a certain number of voting rules based upon their personal SP, delegated SP does not figure in.

I was granted 5 voting rules and entered in the folks whose posts I was feeling bad about missing. It certainly solved that initial issue.

It also opened my eyes as to how a vote can have value. I noticed my Curation rewards make a small jump.

I began tweaking my rules once a week. Learning how to give value and receive it an abundant flowing cycle.

I was learning to reinvest in myself through voting.

My only complaint about Steemvoter is that I can't seem to remove my account now that I am using another tool.

If anyone has a tip to share it would be welcomed.

These days I am using SteemAuto. I can vote for as many folks want it's just more of a matter of managing my voting power.

I initially tried their curation trail feature. After 10 days I ran some statistics and saw that this curation trail was not for me and my style. It left me missing votes or going below my daily power allotment. With no voting power left to go to discover new authors.

I shifted to the fan base feature only. I had previously transferred my favorite five over from SteemVoter. And I began to focus on finding the great folks that would help me reach my goals.

I am blessed to belong to several communities here on Steemit.
These communities are all formed with quality content as a feature they look for in their chosen members.

I have a pool of amazing authors to explore now, preselected by folks who share similar values and have quality standards.

I am adding auto votes to my fan base as I discover work I can support.

I am enjoying the tweaks and adjustments required as I learn to maximize my curation rewards.

This is how I spent my Friday morning... Happy in the Data... Making decisions.

I am curious to see what I can achieve.


~all text and images are my own unless otherwise credited




Just a girl...
Living, Loving and Dancing her way to Wholeness with the help of a Mountaintop and a Purpose.

Follow the Adventure

@borrowedearth


DQmUhMRZf8MSMtkBru146FvBgHki8DDjCwp2QFGKGWDxzfG_1680x8400.png

tribe-steemup-banner3.png

DQmNouEDFYRmvhF1BSvgeeeZBx4eqbi99sfAgRWsn15c36g.png

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

We have not made much of an effort to maximize our curation rewards. We just do our best to spread our vote around to those deserving of it in the areas we are interested in. I've never actually tried to figure out how much we earn from curation.

I know I started looking more seriously at my data after I was welcomed into The Stewards of Terra Mater by @wwf. Membership there comes with a delegation. It's purpose is to give us the SP to help us build up our own SP to 500, at which point the delegation is returned and likely given to another for the same purpose.

The SP delegation gave my vote value... So with that I feel I need to be getting the most out of my vote, while maintaining my value system. I need to let my geek out occasionally, and this is how I allow it. Too much geek and nothing gets done around the homestead!

I really understand. If I spend the time that I want on steemit I get nothing done and well on a homestead that is not good. So glad you are here and let your geek out now and then. :)

There is so much on here I am not aware off. I am trying to spend less time reading post and curating. I will have to look into some of these when I have more time 💯🐒

I find the hardest thing to manage is keeping activities solidly within what I value... Of which community is priority. Reach out if you need info or help!

Thanks and I shall do! Just hard to know which ones would benefit me and my subjects. Have a cracking day 💯🐒

I have had the same experience.
I used to curate manually and I must admit I wasn’t very good at it. Results were pathetic. When I went to the hospital last month to have surgery, I knew I would be ‘out’ for a while, so I started using Steemdunk.xyz to set up auto-voting. I was shocked when I saw the results: I’m earning 10 x or even more curation rewards every day, without any effort.
I’m not a fan of just setting up auto votes for profit alone. I choose people I would vote for anyway, because the content interests me.

I think it would be stupid to go back to manual curation, because I obviously suck at it.
I do make sure I have enough VP left to manually curate if I want to. Mainly because I want to support newcomers and give them a little encouragement vote.

For Steemvoter: simply remove all your rules and you should be fine.

Be sure to follow up on steemauto. I switched to steemdunk because steemauto missed loads of votes. So far, performance on steemdunk is better (plus, you can set the number of posts you want to vote on for an author every day. Simply set it to vote on max 1 or 2 posts per day for each author. This will save you VP, in case you want to have some left to vote manually.)

Steemdunk misses votes too, but not as many as Steemauto. Last time I checked, it was awefully unreliable.
Take my advice and check if votes are being placed as requested.

I truly hope they have fixed the glitch by now, but the amount of missed votes was so big I couldn’t stay there.

Maybe do an experiment and use both services for different authors, then compare the results. Unless Steemauto has made some adjustments, you are losing curation rewards because of glitches in their system.

I’m still experimenting with the settings and the choice of authors to upvote - Although I went from 0.04/day to somwhere between 0.20 and 0.50.
I know there is room for improvement, but for that I should be able to detect which autovotes are giving me good profits, and which are not. I haven’t figured out a way to find out about this.

If anyone could tell me if there was a way to see earnings per autovote set, I would be happy to hear about it :0)

This is really useful @simplymike and @borrowedearth ... thankyou. Im not a good data geek at all but i do follow two curation trails which seem to return good profit whilst at the same time supporting good content. Steemdunk i will look into 💙

You’re welcome :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86