Attention Plankton and Minnows: YOU ARE VERY IMPORTANT

in #steemit6 years ago

something-larger-than-self_11_14_15_GregRakozy_1480px.jpg

You're here for a reason.

I know it feels like you're swimming in a huge sea and you're totally insignificant. But in fact, the sea is still very small, there aren't a lot of fish in here, and you're not as small as you think you are.

According to @preparedwombat's numbers, the amount of STEEM at each level is as follows....

Top 1%: 502 SP

Top 5%: 40 SP

Top 10%: 12 SP

If you have 12 SP, you're in the top 10% of Steemit. I'll bet you didn't know that. But most importantly what I want to talk about is that if you're here, you're on the very leading edge of humanity. You're an early adapter. You can see @taskmaster4450's post about what Steemit will mean for your future. Do you know what you're part of? Steemit is turning everything we know about the world upside down on its head. We're here figuring out what "work" is and whether that's even a relevant or necessary idea going into the future. You're part of that.

We're seeing if we can have a basic income for all Steemians. While your friends are running round chasing their tails and bitching about the state of the world, you're already part of building the infrastructure to completely change the fabric of every human being on planet earth's lives. That's exactly what the blockchain is doing. And nobody is at the forefront of blockchain technology seeing what it's capable of and innovating and creating solutions like Steemit is. Opportunity abounds for you here. If you're here, you're an innovator. And if you're not awake to that fact, I'm here to give you your wake up call.

This is big. And you're a part of it. Do you know that the number of people on the blockchain is less than the state of California? Do you know that Steemit is only 1 million people? Everyone on here is on the leading edge. And you get to connect with them and brainstorm and create our future.

You're somebody. You're a big somebody. And I want to help you harness your power.

What do you have to bring to the blockchain? Now is the time for you to bring who you are to the forefront in a big way. Being a musician on Youtube isn't as meaningful as being here. Being here is meaningful. Your music here is important. Bring us your best.

Find out what time of day is your most creative, and create at that time every day and post it here on the Steemit blockchain. Share your gifts with us. Get out there and fish around and find people you're interested in and build connections with them. Brainstorm and collaborate with them.

If you post every day and you dedicate yourself to something bigger than you and you give it your best and you put your passion into it, you will make something of yourself on Steemit, and you will be rewarded for it.

Opportunity abounds for you here, and Attention: we need you to be at your very best. You're needed for who you are.

Will you claim extraordinary now and join us in this grand experiment?

You're here for a reason - a reason that's bigger than you and bigger than all of us.

Please share this to help us wake up all the discouraged, sleeping minnows.

Image Source

This post is possible because of @tribesteemup. Here's how you can support my work and the work of other content creators like me by supporting that project. Thanks to my supporters @whatamidoing, @indigoocean, @movingman, @becomingwhtur, and @vincentnijman. ❤️


What is Steemit?
Steemit is a social media site on the blockchain. The blockchain is a revolutionary technology which decentralizes power and money. Steemit is the hottest new blogging site where we reward each other with cryptocurrency for contributing valuable content by upvoting it. Each upvote gives the content producer Steem, which is a currency on the blockchain that can be held as an investment or traded for US dollars! Accounts are free, and when you sign up you're given free Steem to begin upvoting content you like. You can also start earning Steem yourself!

How do you become part of this vibrant, leading edge community?
Go to https://steemit.com and click "sign up."

Sort:  

I alwas kind of wondered where the majority falls in terms of sp on this site. I am getting pretty close to that top 5% which is cool but I still feel small here. I suspect that those of us who keep at it will grow and have a fair level of influence as the site grows. The trick is staying motivated in face of low payouts.

You're doing fantastic for having only joined in January, are you kidding me? Your message is really important. Keep sharing.

Thank you. I try to do what I can within my means. I am just happy that anyone reads what I write so the payouts are more of a bonus but I wouldn't cry if I made enough to quit working lol.

I think a lot of people expect the world when they come here and that leads to disappointment. Anything worth while takes work and time.

Thank you very much for this positive, encouraging message. It is easy to lose perspective without knowing the numbers.

Thank you for this. I am just below the 5% at 38SP with a reputation of 46.
This was done in the last month. But I am hoping that I can set myself up to produce more videos, more podcasts and more content on a regular basis.

I am a bit concern with the value of my account slipping regardless of how much steem I earn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75