Here's how I'm coming to terms with my inconsistent writing style.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

This post is a reintroduction of my blog on Steemit. It exists to help you know what to expect from my work here. I appreciate everyone who has read up until this point, but I am not happy with the uncertainty I feel around what I post and how often I post it.
Below, you will find my processing of this; and the goal is to clear up what I'm up to here, so that I can get on with creating value for you all.


image.png
Photo by John Tyson on Unsplash

Since my Introduction post on Steemit I've been posting a little consistently - on average about once every 3-4 days. However, sometimes I took a day between posts, sometimes 9. I'm also inconsistent in the quality of my posts - some I spent 3-4 days on, and some I spent a couple of hours on.

This inconsistent quality and genre is something I had to accept in wanting to post consistently. But now, I want to bring a bit of structure and more intention to it all. I want to attract a consistent audience, and create consistent value, readers need to know what to expect; and for that to happen, I need to be clear with my intentions for each individual post.

jeez how much am I using the word consistent - the point is I'm working on my inconsistency

I've created a couple of drafts the last few days and have connected with some over-arching intentions for my writing. I also sought help from the Steem community on what I've been considering.

I got some really valuable support!

To give you some context, I've been drafting a post titled "What does Decentralisation mean to you?" and while writing, I started seeing a series of posts around the topic. Which isn't completely new to me, I've always wanted to write several pieces about a certain field or idea - it would build a library of reliable information - but now it was actually happening and I was confused in how to go about it.

One thing I'm scared of in considering structure is spending too much time making a big deal out of nothing instead of getting content out there - and this pull between quality and consistency is what gets to me. In the past, this has manifested in the form of unpublished drafts, and anxiety-driven posts.

Intentions again, are a huge help in all of this. Taking my time to consider them is an extremely valuable lesson that I'll continue to learn in several areas of my life. I've considered announcing my intentions publicy to help with refining them and I haven't really decided what to do because I'm not really sure.

I don't know what shape my life is taking right now - Aside from cryptocurrency investments, Decentralised platforms like Steemit are giving me more opportunity to live my life in a new way.

Moving, on.. The support

I was lucky enough to find @dynamicgreentk and @ntowl in the @dynamicsteemians Discord. For me, I haven't really reached out for help on my projects which is ridiculous since I vouch for collaboration a lot.

@ntowl heard me out in a private message and gave me thoughts on structuring the series of posts I mentioned above. To help me gain structure, I was recommended to do a mind-map and look at other Steem posts around the topics I was going to write about. More than anything, having someone hear me on the subject was incredibly valuable - it helped ground me in what I was intending and the advice was personal.

Getting to the point, What is this post?


Well, reaching out has inspired me to consider the structure of my blog. It's tuned me in to what more of what I really want to do here and I'm taking you through the thought process. I've just seen the average amount of days it takes for a Steemit user to leave the platform (thanks @paulag) - and if overall my goal is to inspire others to create, perhaps this kind of processing will help when one is considering putting something out there.

All of this could be because I need structure, or I want to put this part of myself out there; anyway there's any number of perspectives and reasons for why we do and don't do things, it's just what I'm doing.

My blog structure

On Steem, I intend to refine my ideas and synthesize my knowledge into informative posts. Inbetween this space, I want to blog about my experience. Occasionally, I will want to brainstorm, curate, or share something. Sometimes I might just want to write about what I see, and submit it then and there - who knows.

So that I'm okay with this, the solution might sound extremely simple, but I feel that pre-empting the readers at the top of my posts will help, similar to how I've done disclaimers in the past - Writing these sections will help refine my intentions for the post, which will assist in how much I backtrack and change the piece.

At the bottom of my posts, I'd like to have a footer which lets readers know what might be relevant to them, what I've been up to and what I'm planning.


In future, I hope to create several strings of informative posts which create series'. And in-between these series will be a mess of journal-like, genuine entries where you can connect with who I am a bit more genuinely.


As much as I want my blog to be a reliable place for information on relevant topics, I believe an honest of the creative process can be an important collection of information.

I'm incredibly grateful for anyone who witnesses or benefits from any of this experience..

Now that I've voiced this publicly, I have much less reason to worry about what I am or aren't posting.

I believe it's a bit ridiculous I've been worried about anything at all, it seems so easy to create stuff in your head but in reality it's quite difficult. If you allow yourself to think about it, there are so many decisions and this post is just one of my tactics to get over that.

Thanks for reading, I'll see you around soon - Much love


Current post ideas:

  • Getting started on Steemit, what you need to know.
  • What does Decentralisation mean to you?
  • Here's why Video Gamers resonate with Cryptocurrency more than you
  • How I would live my life without financial worries - @promo-mentors challenge
  • Continuing on with Education - What defines intelligence?
  • My experience of having a post professionally edited and published on Medium
  • How decentralised design is enabling creativity and innovation

Other posts by me:


Education posts:

My post shoutout for the day

Sort:  

It is very helpful to read that there are other people with the same concerns, inspires to keep going in spite of everything ... Thanks

Hey @carpet.duck, I'm thinking of sponsoring someone so that I can get another @steembasicincome share (got the first one in a contest!) Thought of you cause I like your blog, consistent or no. You interested?

I really appreciate this gesture @wholeself-in. I'm just coming across this concept of an SBI share, not sure of how it all works yet but I will say yes!

Thanks so much

Cool! They give us upvotes on each post, and the value of the upvote depends on how many shares you have. One share isn't much, but it's consistent! They want anyone buying in to sponsor someone so thank you, too! Just sent them the request.

great idea. Sometimes people need to take stock. Step back and see, where am I, where am I going, where do I want to be and how do I get there. Having a structure and publishing it makes it more real right. its like writing down goals. great work.

Yeah @paulag! Unfortunately I feel I might have other posts like these before I really become comfortable with what I'm up to here, but that's okay I suppose!

Thanks for your work on Steem :)

blogging on steemit is no different to blogging elsewhere. it takes time to get your self comfortable and grow a following so that is more than okay. The fun part in after the post in done and the interaction that comes with it, because steemit is more than blogging, its social networking too. Steem on.

The fun part in after the post in done and the interaction that comes with it

Thank you for reminding me of that, I appreciate that a lot.

It's hard to keep consistency yeah!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85